We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and quiet” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Monte Carlo Inn - Barrie Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Monte Carlo Inn - Barrie Suites to your Saves list
Monte Carlo Inn - Barrie Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   81 Hart Drive, Barrie, Ontario L4N 5M3, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in Barrie
Quebec City, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Clean and quiet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

This hotel is not brand new but it is well maintained and clean. We were there for 2 nights in the Louis XIV suite with our 3 kids. Pull out sofa bed was not that comfortable but the extra cot was. Our bed was behind closed doors which was nice when there are 5 in a room! They enjoyed the room, the pool and the complimentary breakfast. My husband enjoyed a hot breakfast at an extra cost the next morning. Not all hotels have that option. Most of the time it's only the continental breakfast bar.
The clerks at the front desk were very nice and helpful. Our oldest is studying in Barrie and I believe we will be staying here again.

Room Tip: Depends on what your needs are. We needed to have enough space for 5; that called for a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monte Carlo Inn M, Manager at Monte Carlo Inn - Barrie Suites, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Thank you for your recent stay and providing feedback.

I am very pleased that you found the front desk staff very nice and helpful. We tale pride in our professional, but friendly service!

We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    64
    21
    14
    23
See reviews for
43
78
11
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

We've stayed here for 1 night as a stop on our road trip, and we were pleasantly surprised. The hotel is very clean, bright. The bed is more comfortable than most hotel beds that I slept on. The window doesn't open, but there's air conditioning.

The continental breakfast wasn't an option for us (vegan peeps) but it has pastries, toast, tea, juice, cereal & milk and some fruit.

And finally, this hotel is a few minutes away from Dunlop St which is boasting with all kinds of restaurants and shops, and from the waterfont. Great one!

Room Tip: We've stayed on the 3rd floor with a king bed, great room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monte Carlo Inn M, Manager at Monte Carlo Inn - Barrie Suites, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Thank you for your recent visit and feedback, we certainly appreciate it!

It is great to hear that you found our hotel clean and bright, and enjoyed your sleep on the comfortable "sleeping on a cloud" Simmons Mattress!

Thanks for choosing Monte Carlo Inn Barrie Suites, we look forward to welcoming you again the next time you are in the Barrie Area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Staff is very friendly, we arrived earlier than regular check in time and the front counter staff advised us that they would have our room made up next and it would only be about a half hour wait. We left and came back in half hour and the room was indeed ready!! Room was spacious and very clean. Bed was very comfortable.

Would recommend this hotel if staying in the Barrie, Ontario area.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monte Carlo Inn M, Manager at Monte Carlo Inn - Barrie Suites, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Thank you very much for your recent stay and providing feedback. We are especially glad to see that you would recommend our hotel!

I am glad you found our room clean with a comfortable bed.

We look forward to welcoming you to our hotel again when you are in the Barrie Area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Look for other options. Cocky front staff, elevator didn't work (staying on the 4th floor), stayed in the Romeo and Juliet suite - only room left in entire area) - 2 windows with no curtains so lots of light from the sun or from the floodlights at night / tv on the same wall as sofa / 1remote for 2 tv's( for 4 people this is strange) / sofa bed virtually no mattress. They don't just take a credit card authorization, they actually charge an extra $200 on your credit card. Nice sign in the bathroom that they check daily and will charge for damages.
No apologies or assistance relating to the lack of elevator.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Public Relations Manager at Monte Carlo Inn - Barrie Suites, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We would like to sincerely apologize for the elevator repairs that were taking place during the time of your stay. Unfortunately it happened during one of the busiest times on the busiest weekend and we were unable to provide guests with the help that we had hoped due to the lack of notice.
Our hotel does indeed take a pre-authorization rather than a charge upon check in. Though the amount is held on your card, we do not fully receive the amount prior to check out, when the credit card is then charged. We apologize if there was any confusion regarding this and we will ensure our from desk staff are able to better explain this procedure to guests.
Thank you once again for taking the time to let us know of your experiences at our hotel and we do hope you can afford us the opportunity to serve you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timmins
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

Don't let the fact that it's so close to the highway deter, we stayed with our young children and did not hear the cars even once. The hotel is well kept and very clean. I was quite surprised as their rates aren't all that pricy and you would think the quality would suffer. I will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monte Carlo Inn M, Manager at Monte Carlo Inn - Barrie Suites, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Thank you very much for your recent stay and providing feedback.

I am very pleased that you found our staff friendly and the hotel very clean.

It gives us great pleasure to know that you would return again and recommend our hotel, we look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

Had a wonderful honeymoon at this hotel, it was very clean and the staff very friendly, had to stay close to home as we had a young daughter and I was pregnant. We had a two floor suite that was breathtaking and very clean. We were even treated to chocolate covered strawberry's and wine on our first night. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monte Carlo Inn M, Manager at Monte Carlo Inn - Barrie Suites, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Thank you very much for your recent stay and feedback.

I am very pleased that you found our hotel to be a great place to stay, and glad you enjoyed the wine and strawberries in our Romoe and Juliet Suite.

We are very pleased to know that you would stay here again, and look forward to welcoming you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penetanguishene, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

Our Son was beeing married and we visted a few hotels in Barrie to see if we could pre book some rooms for the out of town guests so that we could also have a visit with them. Monte Carlo Inn was more than accomodating blocking off a rooms at a special price and notifiying us when the final date was coming close etc . Rooms were great kids enjoyed the pool as did some of the adults although a little small. They have a great restaurant for dining and breakfast was good. They are very welcoming and helpful. all the guests really enjoyed the stay.. Rooms were well equiped very clean and well temperature controlled to your liking
Thanks it made the wedding that much better

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monte Carlo Inn M, Manager at Monte Carlo Inn - Barrie Suites, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Thank you for your recent stay and providing your feedback.

I am pleased to learn that you found our staff accommodating, welcoming and helpful. I will be sure to pass along your comments to all of our staff.

Thank you for visiting, and we look forward to welcoming you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Monte Carlo Inn - Barrie Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monte Carlo Inn - Barrie Suites

Address: 81 Hart Drive, Barrie, Ontario L4N 5M3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Barrie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in Barrie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Monte Carlo Inn - Barrie Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Monte Carlo Inn - Barrie Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monte Carlo Inn - Barrie Hotel Barrie
Monte Carlo Inn - Barrie Suites Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monte Carlo Inn - Barrie Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.