We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great night stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Monte Carlo Inn - Barrie Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Monte Carlo Inn - Barrie Suites to your Saves list
Monte Carlo Inn - Barrie Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   81 Hart Drive, Barrie, Ontario L4N 5M3, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in Barrie
Barrie, Canada
1 review
“Great night stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Staff nice and friendly.Had a jacuzzi room as celebrating Valentines Day late. Room clean and had a romantic package so chocolate covered strawberries and wine nice touch. Restaurant food good and had a nice night. Only problem was now gone to non-smoking if your a smoker but can still smoke outside. Really close to highway so was able to get up & go with no problems with traffic.
PS pillow so nice I bought 2

Room Tip: enjoyed jacuzzi room on 3rd floor, nice & sunny room in am
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura P, Manager at Monte Carlo Inn - Barrie Suites, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Brenda Cromptona,
Thank you for your wonderful review! We are excited to hear that you and your partner enjoyed the romance package with the chocolate dipped strawberries, it sure is a popular package! I know we have had some negative feedback regarding our hotel going non-smoking but i think wonderful and loyal customers like yourself will keep coming back for the wonderful service!
Thank you again and we appreciate your comments and look forward to having you back in the future!

Warm Regards,
Meagan Grant
Sales & Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    64
    21
    14
    23
See reviews for
43
78
11
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Before i checked in the hotel ,i asked about break fast time ... front desk staff said 6am to 11am

so next day i went restaruant 10am as staff told us . one of witress was there she told me break
fast time finished 10am and bit angry face to us ... i went to front desk to expalin this situation.
the maneger called to them to prepare our meals... so we went there,but food was nothing ,and
two wairess seems like unhappy us to come back restaurant again...and being rude to us. what i thought they will give us meal not rest of garbage food ...it wasnt our mistake to be late. most sericous thing was they satarted taking a back food to kitchen while we haveing a food ... exactly we started to eat meal after two minute.. overall my opinion, i was so frustrated by all of their stupid customer sevice... front desk and restaurant staff .........if you are considering having your friends or family stay there, I would definitely reconsider. Stay away from this hotel with the thieving staff .... still feel frusrated and upset till now .. and dont want to remeber that i was there.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura P, Manager at Monte Carlo Inn - Barrie Suites, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear Chris2017_103,
Thank you for taking the time to write a TripAdvisor review for Monte Carlo Inn Barrie Suites. We apologize for the miscommunication regarding breakfast times. Our complimentary breakfast buffet is open from 6AM-10AM Monday-Saturday and open 7AM-11AM on Sundays. I am pleased to hear that we resolved the matter by calling the dining room and asking them to stay open for you. We do this often as we know sometimes staying in another city can be a hectic experience. None of the food we serve on our buffet is ever considered "garbage food". All of our pastries, fruit & yogurt along with our bread, bagels and toast are prepared and put out fresh daily, never frozen! I believe the word "thieving" is inappropriate for this situation as we did all we could to accommodate you and your family even though breakfast was over. We hope you can come back and take part in our tasty breakfast buffet or our full hot cook-to-order upgraded breakfast the next time you are in town.

Warm Regards,
Meagan Grant
Sales & Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, Canada
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We booked this hotel on family day weekend because it was one of the only hotels near Horseshoe Valley that had rooms available at a reasonable price. Service at the restaurant was good but the food was not the best. Breakfast was a chore because the restaurant is grossly undersized so you are either waiting in line or fighting your way to the juice machine. When we checked in we were told by the people at the front desk that we were getting breakfast vouchers. In my experience you usually get breakfast vouchers when you get the upgraded breakfast but this was not the case. The breakfast voucher is for the continental breakfast. The elevator was incredibly slowwww! I used the elevator once or twice and then opted to use the stairs even though I was on the 4th floor. The walls do not muffle sound at all! The people next door were partying and running from room to room slamming doors. Some girls were drunk and sitting on the floor and talking very loudly. We made two calls to the front desk and even asked the people to be quiet. It wasn't until 3 am that the noise and the slamming doors stopped but we still had to put up with the neighbour's loud TV. The next morning I complained at the front desk they told me they would speak to the manager about this... now what does that mean? Apparently it means nothing because I checked out and they never apologized for letting this go on and they did not compensate me in any way.
We won't be back!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura P, Manager at Monte Carlo Inn - Barrie Suites, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Good Afternoon Pat1138,

We apologize for your experience at our hotel during the family day weekend. As a hotel, we strive to provide excellent value and service to every single one of our guests. Breakfast does tend to get quite busy in the morning, and this is true even more so during the weekend. Each guest room generally has around 4 people per room per night, this means that the hotel can have anywhere from 164-328 + people wanting to come down and enjoy the free breakfast buffet so it does tend to get busy. We always suggest that people take advantage of the breakfast area earlier in the day (open daily 6am-10am) so that they are not caught up if they are pressed for time.

We do apologize for the delay in our elevator service. The volume on weekends is quite large and tends to have the elevator tied up during peak morning and evening times.

The noisy guests located on your floor were warned by Front Desk that excessive noise would not be tolerated. We did not get any complaints after a warning was issued to this room so we had assumed that all was well.

I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,
Meagan Grant
Sales & Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

We stayed at the Monte Carlo on our way to a funeral in Sudbury. There were 4 of us and they charged us $10 for each person over 2, the reasoning, it was for the extra housekeeping and the continental breakfast????? They did not have a bereavement rate. The room was clean and the beds were OK however the bathroom was very small with very little counterspace and the towels were small and very thin. They have roomservice available but you can't just order a drink you have to order food with it. Breakfast is included in your price however you have to pay to upgrade to get anything really decent, the manager of the restaurant is extremly unprofessional and instead of coming and speaking with us about our concerns he just kept throwing me dirty looks from the kitchen door. I have stayed at this hotel before and had a wonderful experience however this one was just not nice especially the breakfast. Sorry guys won't be coming back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura P, Manager at Monte Carlo Inn - Barrie Suites, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Good Afternoon,
Thanks for taking the time to give us your feedback. We take honest comments from our guests very seriously. As per hotel policy we do charge $10 extra for any guests that exceed the maximum of 2 people per room. This is a standard charge among most hotels accorss the globe. It helps us keep our heat, hydro, staffing, internet, food & beverage costs down so we keep offering great low rates for our guests. I apologize as you are correct, we do not have berevement rates here at the hotel. We thank for you bringing this to our attention and we are planning on incorperating this into our offerings. We do offer guests a full hot cook-to-order breakfast for $3.95 should you want a little something extra in the morning. It pains us to hear that you did not enjoy your stay, but it helps us learn and improve. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Thank You,
Meagan Grant
Sales & Revenue Manager
Monte Carlo Inns ~ Barrie Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelburne, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

I recently stayed at the Monte Carlo Inn in Barrie for my anniversary. I was more the unsatisfied with my stay there. For the price paid I was expecting something a lot better. I have stayed in many different hotels before and they were not nearly as priced as this one. The pictures on the website are not there real deal. The rooms are not big at all, and the bed I order was a queen and was told it was but there was no way that bed was a queen, it was a double if not a full. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone, you are better off staying somewhere else.

Room Tip: Best Western, Travel Lodge, are much better and priced better then this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura P, Manager at Monte Carlo Inn - Barrie Suites, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Good Afternoon,
Thank you for taking the time to write a Trip Advisor review about your stay with us. As we discussed yesterday the rate you speak of was including your Romance Package Upgrade and includes tax & gratuity. It was not just for the room rental itself. All of the photos online are our true guestrooms and the photos were taken right at the Barrie location. The Queen Suite you stayed in is not featured on our website, so there is some room for letdown as you would have been looking at some pictures of our King Suites. We do not have any double or full beds in the hotel. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is and perhaps get a chance to stay in one of our beautiful King Suites.

Thank you,
Meagan Grant
Sales & Revenue Manager
Monte Carlo Inns ~ Barrie Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muskoka
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

My husband and I love this place and thought we would share with you. We have stayed here half a dozen times in the last year for various outings.
We usually stay in the rooms that have the jacuzzi tub and a fireplace in the room. (adds to the atmophere). It is located in an area of Barrie that has a lot of good restaurants around and a taxi to diner is not too expensive.
The "free" breakfast is nothing to write home to Mom about. It's free so who am I to complain about it but don't get your hopes up to much. For a few extra bucks you can upgrade and get eggs and meat but again it's not really worth it. Grab the free coffee and some toast and head to Cora's down the street for a fabulous breakfast.

You should try this place the rooms are fantastic and it is very reasonably priced

Room Tip: Splurge for the rooms with the jacuzzi tub and firplace!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura P, Manager at Monte Carlo Inn - Barrie Suites, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear ChowchowMickeyWow,
Thank you so much for your wonderful comments! We cant wait to have you and your husband back again! See you soon!

Warm Regards,
Meagan Grant
Sales & Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Staying here was pure hell. The staff are not freindly at all and make you feel like they are doing you a favor. They watch you like you are a criminal and I will never ever stay here again, don't go there...choose somewhere else.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Monte Carlo Inn - Barrie Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monte Carlo Inn - Barrie Suites

Address: 81 Hart Drive, Barrie, Ontario L4N 5M3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Barrie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in Barrie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Monte Carlo Inn - Barrie Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Monte Carlo Inn - Barrie Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monte Carlo Inn - Barrie Hotel Barrie
Monte Carlo Inn - Barrie Suites Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monte Carlo Inn - Barrie Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.