We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a nice experience” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Monte Carlo Inn - Barrie Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Monte Carlo Inn - Barrie Suites to your Saves list
Monte Carlo Inn - Barrie Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   81 Hart Drive, Barrie, Ontario L4N 5M3, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels in Barrie
Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not a nice experience”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

We stayed at the Monte Carlo on our way to a funeral in Sudbury. There were 4 of us and they charged us $10 for each person over 2, the reasoning, it was for the extra housekeeping and the continental breakfast????? They did not have a bereavement rate. The room was clean and the beds were OK however the bathroom was very small with very little counterspace and the towels were small and very thin. They have roomservice available but you can't just order a drink you have to order food with it. Breakfast is included in your price however you have to pay to upgrade to get anything really decent, the manager of the restaurant is extremly unprofessional and instead of coming and speaking with us about our concerns he just kept throwing me dirty looks from the kitchen door. I have stayed at this hotel before and had a wonderful experience however this one was just not nice especially the breakfast. Sorry guys won't be coming back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura P, Manager at Monte Carlo Inn - Barrie Suites, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Good Afternoon,
Thanks for taking the time to give us your feedback. We take honest comments from our guests very seriously. As per hotel policy we do charge $10 extra for any guests that exceed the maximum of 2 people per room. This is a standard charge among most hotels accorss the globe. It helps us keep our heat, hydro, staffing, internet, food & beverage costs down so we keep offering great low rates for our guests. I apologize as you are correct, we do not have berevement rates here at the hotel. We thank for you bringing this to our attention and we are planning on incorperating this into our offerings. We do offer guests a full hot cook-to-order breakfast for $3.95 should you want a little something extra in the morning. It pains us to hear that you did not enjoy your stay, but it helps us learn and improve. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Thank You,
Meagan Grant
Sales & Revenue Manager
Monte Carlo Inns ~ Barrie Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    84
    34
    22
    27
See reviews for
57
102
15
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Shelburne, Canada
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

I recently stayed at the Monte Carlo Inn in Barrie for my anniversary. I was more the unsatisfied with my stay there. For the price paid I was expecting something a lot better. I have stayed in many different hotels before and they were not nearly as priced as this one. The pictures on the website are not there real deal. The rooms are not big at all, and the bed I order was a queen and was told it was but there was no way that bed was a queen, it was a double if not a full. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone, you are better off staying somewhere else.

Room Tip: Best Western, Travel Lodge, are much better and priced better then this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura P, Manager at Monte Carlo Inn - Barrie Suites, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Good Afternoon,
Thank you for taking the time to write a Trip Advisor review about your stay with us. As we discussed yesterday the rate you speak of was including your Romance Package Upgrade and includes tax & gratuity. It was not just for the room rental itself. All of the photos online are our true guestrooms and the photos were taken right at the Barrie location. The Queen Suite you stayed in is not featured on our website, so there is some room for letdown as you would have been looking at some pictures of our King Suites. We do not have any double or full beds in the hotel. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is and perhaps get a chance to stay in one of our beautiful King Suites.

Thank you,
Meagan Grant
Sales & Revenue Manager
Monte Carlo Inns ~ Barrie Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muskoka
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

My husband and I love this place and thought we would share with you. We have stayed here half a dozen times in the last year for various outings.
We usually stay in the rooms that have the jacuzzi tub and a fireplace in the room. (adds to the atmophere). It is located in an area of Barrie that has a lot of good restaurants around and a taxi to diner is not too expensive.
The "free" breakfast is nothing to write home to Mom about. It's free so who am I to complain about it but don't get your hopes up to much. For a few extra bucks you can upgrade and get eggs and meat but again it's not really worth it. Grab the free coffee and some toast and head to Cora's down the street for a fabulous breakfast.

You should try this place the rooms are fantastic and it is very reasonably priced

Room Tip: Splurge for the rooms with the jacuzzi tub and firplace!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura P, Manager at Monte Carlo Inn - Barrie Suites, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear ChowchowMickeyWow,
Thank you so much for your wonderful comments! We cant wait to have you and your husband back again! See you soon!

Warm Regards,
Meagan Grant
Sales & Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Staying here was pure hell. The staff are not freindly at all and make you feel like they are doing you a favor. They watch you like you are a criminal and I will never ever stay here again, don't go there...choose somewhere else.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, Canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

I enjoyed my stay here the frist time so I went back with my family this time. It is a very nice clean hotel. The beds are comfortable, as well as the pillows. Staff is friendly!

My son was playing on the floor and found money and larger chunks of dirt, but really if you did not have a 5 year old doing that it would have gone unnoticed.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura P, Manager at Monte Carlo Inn - Barrie Suites, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear Getawaygirl467,
Thank you for taking the time to write a TripAdvisor review for Monte Carlo Inn Barrie Suites! We look forward to having you and your family back again for a 3rd visit!

Warm Regards,
Meagan Grant
Sales & Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

This hotel charged the $250 smoking charge because the room didn't smell .good. it was never smoked in, according to.them it smelled of too much Cologne and the air quality was destroyed. They were nothing but rude, the room itself was noisy and even after complaining staff didnothing

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura P, Manager at Monte Carlo Inn - Barrie Suites, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
We thank you for writing in to us and letting us know about your experience at the hotel. The hotel penalty for smoking in a room is a $250 charge for damaging the air quality of the room and that room will not sell the next night as we can not usually restore that quality in one afternoon. We charged this penalty as it was an illegal substance brought into the hotel and we do not permit this kind of activity in our hotel chain. We greatly care about our room quality and the next guest checking into the room after one departs. We thank you for your comments.


Matthew Paul
Front Office Manager
Monte Carlo Inn Barrie Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

A great little inn with good amenities. Room was clean and comfy, gym was small but functional, and location is good. Breakfast was so-so, but not a big deal. Best of all, staff were great. I use the internet extensively for business while travelling and experienced a glitch one afternoon while working. The gent at the front desk was super proactive in getting it back up in short order, instead of the usual "I'm sorry sir but we've called the company...bla bla bla". They cared! A very nice experience. I would definitely return.

Room Tip: I was facing the 400, but no traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barrie hotels
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Barrie
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Barrie Hotel & Conference Centre
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Royal Oak Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Super 8 Barrie
Super 8 Barrie
#3 of 19 in Barrie
4.0 of 5 stars 762 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#14 of 19 in Barrie
3.5 of 5 stars 89 reviews
1.7 mi away
Days Inn - Barrie
Days Inn - Barrie
#7 of 19 in Barrie
3.5 of 5 stars 292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monte Carlo Inn - Barrie Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monte Carlo Inn - Barrie Suites

Address: 81 Hart Drive, Barrie, Ontario L4N 5M3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Barrie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels in Barrie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Monte Carlo Inn - Barrie Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Monte Carlo Inn Barrie Suites is conveniently situated on the southeast corner of Hwy 400 and Dunlop, at 81 Hart Drive and minutes from downtown Barrie, Parklands, Beaches, Ski Resorts and local attractions. Whether your needs are strickly business or mainly pleasure, our facility offers all the luxury, functionality, comfort and value you would expect from a Monte Carlo Inn. With a fully licensed restaurant, indoor salt water pool, free parking, recently upgraded free wi-fi, complimentary continental breakfast, comprehensive meeting facilities and a long list of amenities, our hospitality centre will epitomize the meaning of "Your Home Away From Home" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Monte Carlo Inn - Barrie Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monte Carlo Inn - Barrie Hotel Barrie
Monte Carlo Inn - Barrie Suites Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monte Carlo Inn - Barrie Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.