We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean & Comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Monte Carlo Inn - Barrie Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Monte Carlo Inn - Barrie Suites to your Saves list
Monte Carlo Inn - Barrie Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   81 Hart Drive, Barrie, Ontario L4N 5M3, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in Barrie
Newmarket, Ontario Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Clean & Comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

Stayed for a one night getaway. booked on line, check in and out was flawless. Had the Romeo and Juliet Suite which was two stories. Room was spotless. Microwave, fridge, coffee maker. Large jacuzzi in the corner, separate bathroom, couch, chairs, desk, fireplace and tv, then upstairs another fireplace, tv with a king size bed. The bed is very comfortable. Linens smelled fresh. T V reception good. Free wifi. Jacuzzi easily fit two people. Never heard any noise from other rooms, the hall or the hwy. Had the wine with chocolate covered strawberries delivered to the room. All very good but the presentation was lacking as it came on a cafeteria style tray and the wine was in a plastic ice bucket (the kind you find in the room) Simple upgrade to a clear acrylic tray and wine bucket would have made it look more appetizing although the strawberries were fresh.
Never used the pool but it did look quite small.
Had dinner in the restaurant and it was excellent. (Veal Marsella) Decent price, had a $60 credit towards dinner and 2 entrees, 3 appetizers and 3 drinks only cost us $23 more plus tip. Breakfast (upgraded) was included. There was lots of food but cut-up fruit would have been nice. The only fruit was banana, apple and oranges which were just placed in a bowl. There was cookies, muffins, pastries, bagels, english muffins, toast, cereal, yogurt, juice, coffee, tea. No meat or eggs unless you had the upgrade.
As other people have commented, there is really no where to walk around the hotel.
All in all I would definately recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: loved the Romeo and Juliet Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    64
    21
    14
    24
See reviews for
43
78
11
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Collingwood, ontario
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

This was our first time staying at this hotel. It is very plush and clean and we really overall had a great time here. The front desk staff were very proficient and friendly. Check in and check out was quick. Our room was immaculate when we went in, and very plush and inviting. The suites include everything you could ask for, two tv, microwave, coffee maker, fridge, safe, fireplace, two nice chairs and table, comfy bed. The salt water pool is nice, however a little small for our liking. The fitness room although small as well, was great. Everything was in excellent working condition. The restaurant there is not very big so a good idea to go early for breakfast, but the food quality at breakfast is very good there. We had a five minute wait for a table, which was great. We had the deluxe continental breakfast and it was excellent. We had the smallest suite called the Sunrise suite and it is the smallest suite they offer, but it was large enough and very nice. Quite ample for a couple. Our room overlooked the 400 highway and it was noisy at night, however we left the jacuzzi fan on to block out the noise. Also some ladies came in at three am and were yelling and screaming, woke me up from a peaceful sleep, so I called front desk and they went immediately and dealt with the situation. So very good service that way. There are shears and drapes in the room, but the drapes are only decorative and you can't pull them to shut off the light from outside. Now that didn't bother us too much, but I have heard others talk about that as well. They might benefit from putting some drapes on that do pull shut. We purchased the Strawberry and fine wine special that included the hot breakfast, and we felt that was very good value. We would definitely recommend this hotel to others and hope to return again sometime in the near future.

Room Tip: ask for a room not facing the 400 highway, it can be a little noisy and you hear traffic all night l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

Stayed for four nights at this hotel in Barrie. Rooms were a bit small but had everything you need including a fridge an micro. Rooms are clean and housekeeping did a great job of tidying my room each day. Front desk staff are friendly and accomodating. Hotel is located just off Hwy 400 and can be a bit noisy, so bring earplugs. Like most newer budget hotels, walls are thin side; one night I heard snoring coming from the adjacent room. Hotel has a small pool and a small fitness area. Used the fitness area 4X during my stay and had no issues with the equipment, everything was in working order and kept clean. Hotel has a full service resturant with a limited menu. Food was good and service was average. Due to the limited choices, I only ate there once. Breakfast was available but limited healthy/fresh choices, so I did not use. Overall a very good property for this price point.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

We stayed at the Monte Carlo Inn, Barrie for one night. The hotel is located just off Hwy 11, easy to find, and for a hotel that overlooks a busy highway, we found it fairly quiet (as far as hearing traffic noise is concerned).

Breakast was included in the price of the room, consisted of a variety of breads, cereals, fruit and yogurt. Upgrading to a hot breakast was an option for $3.95.

This hotel has very pleasant front desk and housekeeping staff.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

This hotel is by far the worst in Barrie. The front desk staff are completely incompetent, the walls are paper thin and their lack of security often leads to missing items in the rooms.

I would never recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fricken, Manager at Monte Carlo Inn - Barrie Suites, responded to this review, April 19, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your experience at the Monte Carlo Inns Barrie Suites Establishment.

We at the Monte Carlo are proud of the Front Desk and Housekeeping staff serving you as they under go Customer Serivce Training to make certain that they always give their Quality service and are always trying to improve themselves. If there was an issue with a certain GSA we encourage to let our Managers on Duty Aware immediately so we can deal with the situation and make sure you have a pleasant stay. Moreover our Walls are HS Approved and have met all the required bylaws for hotel safety and noise control. If however there was a specific isolated incident where a customer next door was not respecting other persons privacy then our Front desk needs to be made aware immediately and we will warn the respective room. Occurances such as these do not happen often however we do have 24 hour Front Desk Service and surveillance for our customers safety and privacy.

Thank you again for your feedback and I hope that you will afford us another opportunity to serve you so that we are able to restore your trust back in our service and product.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

Just stayed for one night, the room was very nice and bed was comfortable. There was only one BIG problem I had with the room, there were no curtains! There were panels that framed the window but they wouldn't close. Not a nice thing first thing in the morning - especally when you would like to sleep in a little.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

We stay at a lot of hotels for hockey, business and personal. Usually when we make a group booking, our rate is reflective of this. Not this time. We booked 16 rooms and were charged $119 a night per room. We have stayed in MUCH nicer hotels for less than this. And I could have booked independently and received a much better price, based on what I saw online. So not all that impressed with that. And it was based on double occupancy, so if you had more than 2 people and they were over the age of 12, there would be an additional $10 per person charge.

The rooms were fine - nothing special. Very standard. Very clean, though. The bedding did smell very fresh. Bathroom is fine - very little counter space.

There is a free continental breakfast, but you can upgrade to eggs and bacon for $3.95.

There is nothing in walking distance from the hotel. Keep that in mind if that is important to you.

I don't think I would return just because I have stayed in other hotels in Barrie for a much better rate with larger rooms and bathrooms.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Monte Carlo Inn - Barrie Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monte Carlo Inn - Barrie Suites

Address: 81 Hart Drive, Barrie, Ontario L4N 5M3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Barrie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in Barrie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Monte Carlo Inn - Barrie Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Monte Carlo Inn - Barrie Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monte Carlo Inn - Barrie Hotel Barrie
Monte Carlo Inn - Barrie Suites Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monte Carlo Inn - Barrie Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.