We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No detail is to small” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Painters Hall Bistro

Painters Hall Bistro
17 Clapperton St, Barrie, Ontario, Canada (City Center)
705 797 8844
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 384 Restaurants in Barrie
Price range: $6 - $35
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Contemporary, Canadian, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: City Center
bradford
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“No detail is to small”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

I have now been to the Painters Hall 4 times (always during summerlicious or barrielicious, cause I am cheap like that) and have been overwhelmingly impressed all 4 times. Every possible detail of your experience is calculated and made perfect (the plates are warmed, the knives are Laguiole, washrooms with fresh towels, perfect portion sizes, impeccable service, 10/10 food, cute bistro atmosphere). Even more inspiring are the well thought-out menu selections. The food is also perfectly seasoned and tasty (which is something most kitchens cannot seem to do well). My wife asked for a manager to relay a compliment about the wonderful service we had and the manager turned out to be the waiters mother. This is a well run family establishment and the city of Barrie is very lucky to have such a wonderful dinning destination. Recommend you also take time to stroll along the adjacent waterfront for a truly remarkable evening. I will be back many times more...

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    27
    6
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“We LOVED Painters Hall Bistro!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Came in for a bridal shower during barrielicious - service, drinks, food ambiance all AMAZING. I highly recommend this place for a nice date night, or having a large luncheon or party. Thank you Painters Hall for hosting a wonderful lunch for our beautiful bride. We will be back!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innisfil, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“OMG FABULOUS!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

My husband and I went to Painters Hall Bistro last night for dinner, what a wonderful place. Our waiter Jose was charming and attentive, the food was absolutely to die for! Chef Rachel does an awesome job with the food. While we were sitting there all you could hear throughout the restaurant was "look at the presentation" "that is beautiful" people were cleaning their plates! We had the Barnstormers Mussels for an appetizer and they were delicious. I had the chicken done 2 ways, everything on my plate was perfect. My husband had the salmon which looked and tasted gorgeous. We were sampling from each others plates and when I looked around other couples were doing the same thing! Congratulations to Chef Rachel and her staff, you have outdone yourself. We have been across Canada, Mexico, Belize, and seriously it is a wonderful place. Great food, good atmosphere, attentive staff. What more could you want for date night :-)

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Highlight of our Trip to Barrie”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

What a wonderful spot for dinner. We arrived and were seated imediately by very friendly staff. Our waiter had great knowledge of the menu and assisted us in making our choices. We started by sharing an appetizer tray that included homemade bacon, cheeses and jam. Amazing flavours. I had a chicken dish. The chicken was perfectly cooked, moist and flavourful. My companion had a short rib that you could cut with your fork. Amazing. The desert was certainly home made and fresh. This was a fantastic meal. Thanks Thomas for your attentiveness.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Oh SO perfect!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

We went on a Sunday night. The restaurant was quiet. Our server was very young, but exceptionally knowledgeable. He tuned into the fact that this date night was way past due and went out of his way to ensure we had the most exceptional evening. The Chef also went out of their way to bring us little "extra's" and recommendations of pairings etc. This evening was quite perfect! We will be back!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Painters Hall Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Painters Hall Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Painters Hall Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.