We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hall Pass” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Painters Hall Bistro

Painters Hall Bistro
17 Clapperton St, Barrie, Ontario, Canada (City Center)
705 797 8844
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 385 restaurants in Barrie
Price range: $6 - $35
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Contemporary, Canadian, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: City Center
Barrie, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Hall Pass”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Skip the Hall during "Barrielicious". Cheap menu and it shows. Coq au Vin full of tiny bones - worse than eating fish. Desserts underwhelming.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paintershall, Owner at Painters Hall Bistro, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Thank you for your review, we appreciate all of our guests' patronage and their comments. I am however unsure if your review is actually for the right restaurant. I realize you have posted 26 separate reviews all in one day so maybe there was a mistake. We haven't started Barrielicous yet this year and we didn't serve coq au vin last Barrielicous. I will check back further to see if it was on a previous menu. Do you remember the year you visited?
Whether you visited Painters Hall or another of Barrie's local restaurants, describing the menu as "cheap and it shows" offends me. We work extremely hard to create menus for this event that captivate newcomers to our business, keep our regulars happy throughout the event and are flexible enough to accommodate various food allergies, religious requirements and personal preferences. All at $25.00 for three courses.
Barrielicous starts January 18th, our menu will be posted on our website on Monday January 14th, please feel free to take a look, if it looks "cheap and it shows", you may just see the same thing the next time you glance at the mirror.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

87% Recommend
    58
    22
    6
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Barrie, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“BEAUTIFUL”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Can't say enough about this place, we were so pleasantly surprised! BEAUTIFUL decor inside, food is excellent (both presentation and taste) and the service was very impressive. Only downside is that it can be pricey and the menu is limited. We'll go again.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Should have been more”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

It should be in the top five in Barrie. Food quality is very good. Service is average and the wine list is beyond mercenary.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Save your money”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

Went to this restaurant with my husband, the wait was long to be seated because it is such a small restaurant. I do not recommend this restaurant to families or young people. It is a restaurant that has a lot of older crowd. The prices are very high and they even charge you for water. I have to admit the food is delicious but they don't give you alot of it.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“This Place is Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

I cannot tell you how good the food is here. The staff are friendly, and helpful, the inside of the restaurant is cozy but all that pales in comparison to how good the food is. Our group had a number of different dishes from the menu and everyone loved and raved over each one. The seafood pasta was amazing with housemade pasta, the gnocchi were so light and so wonderful that people ordered them again for their main course. The gnocchi with shortrib was the best thing I have eaten in a long long time. I will frequent this place when ever I am in Barrie.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Painters Hall Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Painters Hall Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Painters Hall Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.