We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would return” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Barrie

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Barrie to your Saves list
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Barrie
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   74 Bryne Drive, Barrie, Ontario L4N 9Y4, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early & Save!
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Barrie
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
“Would return”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2010

Clean, comfortable and reasonably spacious rooms, buffet-style hot breakfast, good location, friendly staff.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    117
    29
    4
    8
See reviews for
147
80
12
89
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Milton, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2010

This hotel was great! The rooms were clean, the best were comfortable, everything was new and well-kept and the free coffee in the lobby was a plus. Internet was free in the room, and the hallways were very quiet. I had a room with two queen beds, and it was quite roomy! Loved the breakfast area, and the make-your-own-waffle station was a great touch! Excellent stay, and we'll definitely consider this again.

Only complaint was when we asked the front desk attendant if she could recommend a good local restaurant (not a chain), she just told us to go down to Dunlop Street and there would be lots to choose from. There were a few to choose from, but a personal recommendation is always best. Even if she didn't eat there specifically, surely she must know where the hot spots are in town.

We ended up eating at Manhattan's for dinner (it was Barrielicious, too -- so 3 courses for $20!), and it was good. The next day, we had lunch at Shutters, and also took advantage of the $20 Barrielicious menu. The food and service were both excellent. All in all, a great business trip to Barrie.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor Ontario:D
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2010

The hotel is fairly new and that shows. The lobby is nice with a large area to hang around, it becomes the breakfast area in the morning. There is always coffee and hot chocolate in the lobby. Cookies in the afternoons. The pool is large and a good temperature as is the hot tub. The fitness centre is small but adequate with a few treadmills, a stationery bike etc. Our room was the studio. I recommend getting that. It was the size of two rooms for only twenty dollars more. You recieved a pull out sofa bed, a big table for your laptop (free internet), a fridge, microwave and a long counter for misc. stuff you have.

The hotel is great really, just off the highway and Days inn, Zehrs down the road. The only problem we had the entire time was finding a bug in the bed the first night. It freake us out but after thorough inspection we found no others. Sleeping was light since we were bracing for bed bug bites. Thankfully there weren't any in the morning.

So other than that incident the hotel is great. It is a ten minute drive to the Bay and downtown or any restaurants but since its rigt off the highway, this wasn't a big deal.

Great breakfast for a hotel continental!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2010

I will always stay at this hotel. Staff extremely friendly. The hotel was underrated as 2.5 stars, I will give a 5+ starts for service and cleanliness.The hotel was extremely clean and our room was very spacious and clean. The beds were super comfortable. It was over a year new. This hotel is right off the highway in a quiet location. The rooms are very quiet, unlike the holiday inn & suite across (we stayed there the past two years with our little one, the room was very old and very noisy)
The breakfast was excellent. We had fun making our own waffles.We were surprised that the rate was included with breakfast. It would have only been a bit better if there was a small refrigerator. Over all, we are very happy we picked the perfect hotel for our family. We will go back again in two week for a family function.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ontario
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2010

My family and I recently had to travel to Barrie two weekends in a row so I thought we could try two different hotels. The Hampton Inn and Suites was the second place we tried and I wish it would have been our first.
The hotel is well laid-out, classy-looking and easy to find. Staff were very pleasant and helpful and the free breakfast was terrific. My husband loved the Western omelettes and I enjoyed making my own homemade waffle. Free hot chocolate, tea and coffee were available 24/7. We stayed in a room with two queen beds and it was very spacious and the beds were quite comfortable.
The best part of all was that despite having three teams and a wedding party staying there we did not get bothered by noise. This is very important to us because when we are travelling we usually have to get up quite early and like to get our sleep. I am sure that if there would have been a problem the staff would've dealt with it because they mentioned that when we first checked in.
I didn't go swimming but my daughter did and she said the pool was nice and warm so I am not sure about the previous reviews which listed this as a problem.
We will definitely stay at this hotel or another one in this chain again!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Ontarion
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2010

I am a frequent business traveler to Barrie and this the only hotel I will stay. I can honestly say I've stayed at the Hampton at least 20 times. It is conveniently located, well appointed and the staff (who now know me by name) are always amazing. The breakfasts are always great and many restaurants and 2 casinos (one being the race track) are a close drive for those seeking additional entertainment. There is no other place I will stay. The Hilton Honours Points make it even better. Cheers!!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario's Near North, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2010

This hotel was so easy to get to that it made our trip a pleasure.. If you are not used to city driving, no fear. The pool was nice and hot tub a bonus. Room was supurb and bed very comfortable. Breakfast was more than enough. Price was fair and hotel staff excellent. This is such a great place to stay, we booked it again this weekend!!!!
Thank you Hampton Inn!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Barrie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Barrie

Address: 74 Bryne Drive, Barrie, Ontario L4N 9Y4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Barrie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Barrie
#1 Business Hotel in Barrie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Barrie 2.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our friendly team at the Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton® Barrie wants you to feel right at home even before you make it to your spacious, comfortable room. Help yourself to a warm cup of coffee or tea as you check in and get your room key. Our lobby service is always fresh, 24 hours a day. After a fun-filled day of strolling along downtown Barrie or along the banks of Lake Simcoe, explore the options at our hotel in Barrie. A refreshing swim in our heated indoor Saltwater pool & hot tub or an invigorating workout in our exercise room may be just what you need to cap off the day. However if you’d simply rather stay in and relax, enjoy your complimentary in-room movie channel on a 37" HDTV flat-screen television, or rent a latest release pay-per-view movie. Begin each day with our delicious complimentary hot breakfast buffet with plenty of options or if your in a hurry take advantage of our breakfast-on-the-run bags. Email vacation photos to friends and family back home from the peaceful comfort of your room, which is equipped with complimentary high-speed internet access. Business or leisure, the Hampton Inn & Suites Barrie should be your next choice...we love having you here! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Barrie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites By Hilton Barrie
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Barrie Hotel Barrie
Hampton Inn Barrie
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Barrie Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Barrie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.