We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hospitality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Barrie

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Barrie to your Saves list
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Barrie
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   74 Bryne Drive, Barrie, Ontario L4N 9Y4, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Barrie
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“great hospitality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2009

Stayed for 2 nights with our hockey team and recieved excellent service. My experience travelling with hockey teams, is hotels generally bring out their 'tough' attitude and expect trouble. They watch your every move to ensure no trouble, sometimes where there isn't any. This hotel did quite the opposite. Beverages at the pool are generally met with a 'boot out' attitude. This hotel 'accomodated' us with plastic cups and continued to support us with extra tables, extra chairs etc. They kept all patrons happy including those not in our group. They even gave recommendations on where to eat with a large crowd. One particular incident with a hostile hotel patron (person was being belingerent to our children) was diffused by the hotel staff so that all patrons were happy and minimal disruption. Hats off to their staff. When the room noise was higher at the later hours - they continued to support us and offered a reasonable alternative that again suited all patrons. As always - travelling with a group has its issues, this hotel staff had the foresight to diffuse situations before they became a problem and continued to accomodate even the most difficult travellers. No other issues with rooms - spacious, clean and everything you need for a comfortable stay. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    104
    25
    3
    8
See reviews for
127
72
12
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2009

Our stay here was great until we were leaving. My young daughter forgot her razor and asked for a complimentary one from the front desk. She was provided one but upon opening it, she suspected it was used. She told me and I said "No way, that would be impossible" When I checked - for sure - it was used. There were little hairs, dirt and grease all over it. Someone had just popped the little cap back on after using it. I immediately brought it to the attendant at the front desk (Sat. morning), who appeared to be equally horrified and immediately started going through the razors. There were several questionable ones but she searched until she found one that looked really clean. I did not have time to bring it to the manager's attention as I was leaving. I wanted to bring it to the attention of customer service to make sure something like this NEVER happens again. As a healthcare worker, I know that there are health risks of acquiring blood-tranmitted illnesses such as hepatitis B, etc. with used razors. It's a very serious thing. I have learned my lesson - I will never request a razor in any hotel - it's not worth the risk (unless it is properly sealed). Anyhow, I emailed customer service almost two weeks ago. I received a reply informing me that my concern would be addressed in 3 business days. It has now been 9 business days and I emailed them again - no response. Now, I am really frustrated. I don't know if they don't believe me that it happened or they don't think it was a big concern. Either way, it doesn't look as though they are going to address the situation. I have always loved the Hampton Inns because normally we have had really good experiences but I am so disappointed with the Hilton now. They will certainly never again be my first choice!!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIBarrie, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Barrie, responded to this review, September 14, 2009
Dear Guest,
We are very pleased that you share the same level of concern for guest safety as we do and thank you for your comments.
Upon giving you the razor (that is purchased from an outside supplier), we agreed immediately with you that something unknown appeared to be on the blade of the razor, under the protective cap. These razors currently ship to the hotel in bulk and are offered to the guests as part of our Hampton Inn "as if by magic" program when toiletries are required by guests.
We promised to have this razor investigated and subsequently have taken the following steps to ensure 100% customer safety:
1) An apology was immediately offered to you, our valued guest, and another razor was provided
2) Our assurance was provided that the hotel would react accordingly
3) All razors were removed from inventory immediately
4) Our supplier was contacted and the product is currently in quality control with a confirmation …pending
5) A 2nd apology in writing to you is here ready to send to you at the moment we receive the information on what fiber may have been on the razor
6) To further back up the importance of the Hampton Inn Guest Satisfaction at our hotel, individually wrapped razors have now been purchased to even further enhance our commitment to customer care and the value of the Hampton product we offer.
It is our hope that once we have the final answer about this purchased product that you will re-turn to our hotel as a very valuable Hampton customer and that this one incident will not overshadow your very generous comments “I have always loved the Hampton Inn because normally we have a really good experience”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2009

I stayed here with my mother, my sister and my two bridesmaids during the week leading up to my wedding. We had an amazing time there and they treated us like gold.

We would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2009

The rooms are newly renovated and are modern and beautiful. We were able to stay in a room with 2 queen sized beds and breakfast included for $120 CDN with all taxes in. We very surprised at how great the hotel was for the price. All of the staff were very accommodating and even wheeled a fridge in our room when we explained that we had milk that we needed to keep refrigerated (we thought all of the rooms had mini-fridges, but only the suites do). They even gave the kids freezies at the front desk. The breakfast was incredibly convenient - perfect for a family looking to grab something quickly (they offered cereal, fruit, yogurt, muffins, toast, bagels, omelettes, etc.).

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2009

This new hotel is absolutely stunning...the best I have stayed in to date at the best price I have paid for the room as well! We stayed in a Queen Suite which was real sweet... Beautifully decorated with the most comfy beds & pillows. The gym was top notch & saltwater pool, hot tub were fantastic as well. Truly enjoy that at the Hamptons, you can help yourself to a complimentary hot beverage at any time of the day. Hot breakfast was included as well. Hotel was full when we stayed there so it was a little bit of a scramble for breakfast with the eating area full BUT they opened up one of the meeting rooms for extra seating. Will definately stay here again, look for a reason to stay in Barrie! We have stayed next door as well at the Days Inn & definately prefer the Hampton.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burks Falls, Ontario
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2009

Beautiful decor, friendly and helpful front desk staff, great buffet breakfast in the AM that was well staffed. Hotel only open 4 months so everything is updated and new. Best rate around for any hotel in the area thus making it an awesome deal. Beds excellent with choice of pillows, great TV, etc. We'll definitely be back for our next get-away! Good for families or couples. The BEST hotel in Barrie!!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Barrie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Barrie

Address: 74 Bryne Drive, Barrie, Ontario L4N 9Y4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Barrie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Barrie
#2 Business Hotel in Barrie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Barrie 2.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our friendly team at the Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton® Barrie wants you to feel right at home even before you make it to your spacious, comfortable room. Help yourself to a warm cup of coffee or tea as you check in and get your room key. Our lobby service is always fresh, 24 hours a day. After a fun-filled day of strolling along downtown Barrie or along the banks of Lake Simcoe, explore the options at our hotel in Barrie. A refreshing swim in our heated indoor Saltwater pool & hot tub or an invigorating workout in our exercise room may be just what you need to cap off the day. However if you’d simply rather stay in and relax, enjoy your complimentary in-room movie channel on a 37" HDTV flat-screen television, or rent a latest release pay-per-view movie. Begin each day with our delicious complimentary hot breakfast buffet with plenty of options or if your in a hurry take advantage of our breakfast-on-the-run bags. Email vacation photos to friends and family back home from the peaceful comfort of your room, which is equipped with complimentary high-speed internet access. Business or leisure, the Hampton Inn & Suites Barrie should be your next choice...we love having you here! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Hilton Hotels, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Barrie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites By Hilton Barrie
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Barrie Hotel Barrie
Hampton Inn Barrie
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Barrie Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Barrie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.