We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't stay anywhere else in Barrie” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Barrie

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Barrie to your Saves list
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Barrie
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   74 Bryne Drive, Barrie, Ontario L4N 9Y4, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early & Save!
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Barrie
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Pickering, Ontario
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Don't stay anywhere else in Barrie”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

Everything was just "right"
The Staff was amazing, the room was excellent, the pool and jacuzzi was better then the average Hampton - all around it was a 10 out of 10.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarrieManager, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Barrie, responded to this review, September 14, 2011
Thank you for your comments and review. Our staff take such pride in welcoming each guest and making their stay special. It is great to hear the positive comments about them! So glad you were able to enjoy the pool. Thank you for choosing us and we look forward to welcoming you on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    115
    29
    4
    8
See reviews for
145
80
12
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

Just a couple of turns off Highway 400 (the main road in these parts), and you've found a nice, clean, relatively new Hampton Inn for great night's stay.

Very comfortable beds, free breakfast and wi-fi of course, exceptional customer service from the friendly front desk and staff, pool and exercise room, very good room rates; and minutes away from pretty much everything in this town.

What more could you ask? Two thumbs way up.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarrieManager, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Barrie, responded to this review, August 23, 2011
Thank you for your comments. We always appreciate hearing how our guests stay went. As you mentioned, we are very convenient to most things in Barrie and just off the 400 highway. We take great pride in making your stay welcoming and comfortable. Thank you for letting us know we succeeded! We look forward to welcoming you on your next trip to Barrie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

I had my wedding in Barrie and had about 40 Kiwis and Aussies fly in for it. Kids, oldies and everyone REALLY enjoying themselves. The staff here were simply amazing. There were a few reservation hiccups but they sorted them all. To say we took over the hotel would be an understatement. They helped with all questions and driving directions as no-one had been to Barrie before. By the time we all left many of the guests and staff knew each by their first name. The hotel was always clean and the staff always smiling and up for a laugh. The more I write the more I think I should've left some flowers for them to say thanks for putting up with us. If anyone from the hotel reads this...THANKS!! Cheers, Jeremy.

Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarrieManager, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Barrie, responded to this review, August 23, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us! We loved having your group stay with us and the staff were happy to be able to be of assistance. Very glad the wedding and visits went so well. Congratulations again on your wedding. Think of us for a family reunion when they all visit again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
home, on
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

This is truly one of the BEST places to stay in Barrie. The staff was absolutely amazing, courteous, helpful and had a sense of humour. Breakfast was good and plentiful. Had a bit of trouble with our bathroom but it was attended to PROMPTLY by the staff (barely hung up the phone and staff was at the door). close to some good restaurants, the casino, banks, shopping. Overall great experience. Oh yes, the beds are so very very comfortable.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarrieManager, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Barrie, responded to this review, August 23, 2011
Thank you for sharing your comments. We always appreciate hearing from our guests. I am sorry to hear that you had an issue with the washroom, but am pleased it was attended to promptly. Staff and management both take great pride in making your stay welcoming. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Barrie!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grosse Pointe Woods, Michigan
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

This Hampton Inn Barrie is very accessible off Highway 400 in Ontario. It's an easy on/off after traveling long distances in Canada. Several restaurants have available carry out surrounding the hotel. Front desk staff was friendly & helpful especially when I couldn't get the complimentary HHilton WiFi to work in my room. After some fiddling - she helped me figure it out and it worked fine the rest of my stay. The pool & hot tub were great after a long drive! We had a 2 queen bed suite for my family of four. The room itself was very spacious with a separate wet bar, refrigerator, microwave and large counter top. The two biggest drawbacks were the small bathroom (just toilet/tub) and the separate grooming area (sink, mirror, hair dryer) which was outside the bathroom in the hotel room itself. Our family would have liked a little more privacy (along with larger trash cans in the room!). The other drawback was the "pull out" sofa bed. It was so incredibly uncomfortable with the springs all very close to the fabric that my daughter got in it and started to cry. She ended up sleeping with me. Our older daughter "toughed" it out but it was pretty uncomfortable - Hilton needs to consider getting one of those "egg carton" mattresses before they advertise a "pull out" sofa bed. Breakfast the next morning was impressive for a Hampton Inn and everyone left very satisfied. They had make your own Belgian waffles, small egg/cheese omelets, cereal, juice, fruit, and a variety of breakfast treats. Hope this helps!

Room Tip: Book Early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarrieManager, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Barrie, responded to this review, August 23, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. We are so happy you chose our Hotel during your visit to Barrie. Thank you for letting us know about the sofa bed. We will look into that and see if it something we can improve on when it is time to re order our mattresses. Pleased to hear you were able to enjoy the hotel facilities whil eyou were here. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

The hotel is conveniently located just off the main highway. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was quite large and comfortable with all the amenities needed. The only downside was the lack of eateries in the immediate area.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

Stayed in for a weekend in July and i was amazed by the cleaness of the hotel. The pool and gym is very nice and the breakfast is perfect. we were a group of 8 people and were all amazed for the price we payed, ive stayed in at several hiltons, W's, Super8 you name it and this hotel is like a 5 star for the price.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Barrie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Barrie

Address: 74 Bryne Drive, Barrie, Ontario L4N 9Y4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Barrie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Barrie
#1 Romantic Hotel in Barrie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Barrie 2.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our friendly team at the Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton® Barrie wants you to feel right at home even before you make it to your spacious, comfortable room. Help yourself to a warm cup of coffee or tea as you check in and get your room key. Our lobby service is always fresh, 24 hours a day. After a fun-filled day of strolling along downtown Barrie or along the banks of Lake Simcoe, explore the options at our hotel in Barrie. A refreshing swim in our heated indoor Saltwater pool & hot tub or an invigorating workout in our exercise room may be just what you need to cap off the day. However if you’d simply rather stay in and relax, enjoy your complimentary in-room movie channel on a 37" HDTV flat-screen television, or rent a latest release pay-per-view movie. Begin each day with our delicious complimentary hot breakfast buffet with plenty of options or if your in a hurry take advantage of our breakfast-on-the-run bags. Email vacation photos to friends and family back home from the peaceful comfort of your room, which is equipped with complimentary high-speed internet access. Business or leisure, the Hampton Inn & Suites Barrie should be your next choice...we love having you here! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Barrie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites By Hilton Barrie
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Barrie Hotel Barrie
Hampton Inn Barrie
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Barrie Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Barrie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.