We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good meal...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Keg

The Keg
391 Dunlop Street West, Barrie, Ontario L4N 1C3, Canada
(705) 720-7333
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 405 Restaurants in Barrie
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $19 - $23
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Toronto
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
“Good meal...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

It's the keg always a decent meal...new York steak was done perfectly...was here with friends we had an awesome time....great service..good atmosphere the Keg is a great place to go for a good steak:)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    49
    32
    9
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sandhurst Shores, On
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Single diner”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

The service was fine but the food was not.
I was very hungry so sending the food back was not an option.
I had the July special steak and lobster. The plate arrived with a large lobster on top of my "crispy" Keg fries. Water from the lobster ran down onto my fries and they were soggy.
One and a half pound lobsters are the best but mine was so big it was as tough as an old boot.
The Keg is a steakhouse and my steak was medium rare as ordered but it was very tough and had a large piece of gristle running through.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great food as always”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Had the surf and turf. The 4 of us enjoyed it all. Beers wine and good appetizers. Always feel full after leaving unlike a lot of fancier places

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“So friendly!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We were a group of 9 and the staff bent over backwards to accommodate us on every level. We were all served piping hot dishes at the same time and thoroughly enjoyed our meal and evening. Thanks!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staines, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
509 reviews 509 reviews
164 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 145 cities Reviews in 145 cities
1,192 helpful votes 1,192 helpful votes
“not the best example of the chain”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014 via mobile

Having eaten in The Keg in many other locations (Ottawa being the best so far), this was a poor example. Not the best location on the main Bayfield Street. The service was warm, just like the food. Steak was ok but not well cooked, a little tough for most of our party and seafood tasted frozen rather than fresh

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Keg also viewed

 

Been to The Keg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Keg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.