We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Family Escape” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Lodge at Pine Cove

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ontario
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Lodge at Pine Cove
Save
You added The Lodge at Pine Cove to your Saves list
1013 Hwy 528A | Noelville, Ontario P0M 2N0, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save 15-20% this spring!
Ranked #4 of 834 Specialty Lodging in Ontario
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
“Wonderful Family Escape”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

This is our fourth trip to the cove with our two children, now 9 and 12, and once again we had an amazing time. Being "off the grid" (ie. no phone, internet, or TV) while still having excellent comfort allowed us to once again have the chance to bond as a family. This year gave us a opportunity to catch Mother Nature's finest, from beaver and mink to dragonflies and turtles, on film. Once again when given a choice between the Cove and Disney, our children overwhelmingly chose Pine Cove. The staff is wonderful and feels like family! It is always great to to see the changes each year and catch up on new developments. This has been the only place we have and will continue to visit year after year.

Room Tip: Almost all cabins are waterfront, but the cabins facing the cove have less boat traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    5
    0
    2
    1
See reviews for
36
99
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

This was our first visit to The Lodge, and certainly won't be our last. We stayed in the Radisson cottage for 3 nights, and it was simply perfect (aside from the mosquitoes,which seem particularly bad this summer. But The Lodge has even thought of that: this is the only place we've ever stayed with a screen porch on the cottage. Brilliant!)

Finding luxury accommodations in this part of Northern Ontario is not easy, so this was a real find. Our cottage was a small one-bedroom, but spacious and comfortable, with lovely bedding and a good clean bathroom. One unique feature that we've not seen anywhere else is the idea of bringing you a breakfast basket each morning, so you can eat on your porch (or inside your cottage). Juice, croissant, delicious home-made yoghurt and fruit - perfect start to the day.

We tried 3 different options for dinner. First night was in the dining room, (on their screen porch, actually) and the food was so-so. We chose pickerel, which is tricky to do well - but the service was wonderful and ambiance excellent. Second night was a truly memorable traditional Argentine Asado bar-b-que on the beach - 40 people all sitting on benches together, eating delicious pork, lamb and beef that were cooked right there in a fire pit. Fantastic evening. And on our final night, we had our own bar-b-que at our cottage, with the ingredients delivered, once again, in a basket, right to us. We could drink our own wine, and dine at leisure. A Great idea.

The French River itself is unique - almost totally undeveloped, and a joy to paddle in a canoe or take a motor boat ride with the owner, Alex Strachan, who will regale you with endless tales of the early history of the area, from Champlain to the voyagueurs up til today. Not to be missed.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Great staff, beautiful accommodation, wonderful paddling, and delicious food. My only complaint was that my trip was too short. Stayed in the Radisson cottage... definitely worth the upgrade fee from the other studio cottage (Brebeuf) as it has a beautiful view of the water. Will definitely be back.

Room Tip: If you are going for a studio I recommend Radisson over Brebeuf - not sure where the third and final...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We just returned from 4 fabulous days at the Lodge at Pine Cove...6 adults and two children (one an 8 month infant). We reserved three cottages for the family getaway and everything was perfect. The cottages are spotless and well-equipped. For meals, we chose to eat 2 evenings in the main lodge, cooked one evening and had a BBQ'd dinner delivered the final night. The meals were superb...right down to the fabulous desserts. Breakfast is delivered to each cottage in a hamper....we had breakfasts in the screened-in porch overlooking the beautiful French River. How amazing!!! Alex the Innkeeper is ever-present and has wonderful stories to tell about the river, local history and his vision for the Lodge. The "tone at the top" (from Alex) is shared by all the staff....they are delightful. We had 2 dogs with us and as long as they are leashed and don't bark they are well-accepted. DO take the river cruise to 5 Finger Rapids with Alex....it is a special kind of adventure...the river is so impressive...and our 3 year-old niece picked wild blueberries when we stopped at the rapids....she ate them all before we arrived back at the Lodge.
Each year we go to a different spot for a family getaway....the consensus of our group is that we return to the Lodge at Pine Cove. ( We especially liked the fact that there are no televisions, no cell phone service and wifi is only available in the main Lodge. Great time to talk, read and spend uninterrupted family time together....in a most enchanting part of Ontario). The book by Toni Harting which is available in the Lodge is a fantastic journey down the French River from the days of the early fur-traders to present-day canoeists. Thanks Alex and your entire team.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

My husband and I spent a beautiful weekend at The Lodge to celebrate our 35th anniversary. The staff was excellent, the service divine, the food unbelievable. Alex gives an amazing tour of the French River area complete with history. Our studio cottage was to comfortable with a beautiful view of the French River and Pine Cove. Waking each morning to a gourmet breakfast basket at our door, we were spoiled!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

My husband and I needed a break from the city and work. Our three night stay at Pine Cove was perfect. The accommodations are spectacular -so private with beautiful views of the French River. Each cottage is special and have everything you could possibly need. Alex is a gracious host and all of the staff are professional, fun and extremely caring. What a treat to have breakfast delivered to your door every morning!! Pine Cove is definitely a treasure.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

We recently spent our 10th wedding anniversary at Pine Cove and were treated like royalty.

Wasn't long into our visit that we met the owner, Alex. You can tell he absolutely loves running Pine Cove and has paid very close attention to all of the little details to make your stay so memorable (like delicious teas and funky pots/tea cups in every cabin, and wonderful copper tubs!) He's so personable and loves sharing the history of the area and the Lodge with guests.

We booked the kayaking package and enjoyed our amazing guided tour early one morning with Nicola. She also gave us great suggestions on other routes that we could kayak for the remainder of our trip, including quiet stretches with islands that were perfect for picnics! The French River was fantastic to explore in a kayak as well.

Not wanting to cook much over our break, we took advantage of the picnic lunches (which were completely decadent and beautifully packed) and dined lakeside for dinner a couple of nights. The restaurant has a great screened in verandah right at the edge of the river. Food was delicious.

The beds were so comfy, the giant copper tub overlooking the lake was so inviting, they deliver a wonderful breakfast hamper each morning and we spent tons of time reading and relaxing on our great screened porch in our cabin. Needless to say on several occasions I insisted I was never going to leave and that we should just send for our kids and have them join us at Pine Cove ;-) It was quiet, peaceful and I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Lodge at Pine Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Pine Cove

Address: 1013 Hwy 528A | Noelville, Ontario P0M 2N0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 834 Specialty Lodging in Ontario
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reserve your stay to experience many new amenities we've added to each of our are waterfront cottages: from little things such as fresh, new duvet covers and handmade wool rugs, to small luxuries like copper tubs, all-natural toiletries and gourmet coffee. Sleep in, because every morning we'll deliver a breakfast hamper filled with house-made goodies right to your doorstep. Then float out on the cool, tranquil waters of the bay - it's your own exploration of the historical French river. Picnic, swim, paddle, nap...Just be back in time for cocktails at sunset. Call or email us today to book your retreat of privacy and comfort on the Canadian Shield. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lodge at Pine Cove, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.