We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good dining experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Victoria

Casa Victoria
8601 Warden Ave, Unit 4-6, Ontario L3R 0B5, Canada
(905) 948-1618
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10,135 of 28,449 Restaurants in Ontario
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good dining experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

It's what you'd expect for a "Fine Dining" experience from a chinese restaurant, although the food quality and service was average, it's definitely a lot better than most asian restaurants.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    7
    0
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Delicious”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

This is more like haute cusine, Food is presented beautifully, staff is very efficient and pleasant, and most importantly, the food is high quality, well prepared, and delicious. The restaurant has an attractive interior, only complaint, washrooms not as clean and tidy as they should be.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Yum Cha”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

This is my favorite dimsum joint in Markham and I have been there many a times. The dimsum quality is great but the service can be spotty at times. Try their Har Gau with giant shrimps and their scallops as well as mussels in milk sauce.

All in all typical Hongkong style dim sum with the usual noise and crowd. Be prepared to wait for 30mn to 1 hr on weekends and holidays.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, Ontario CANADA
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“Not you run of the mill Chinese eatery in Markham”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

My family and I had dinner here recently. The restaurant is situated in one of the numerous totally charmless and nondescript malls in Markham. Once you are through the door you are not prepared for the over the top grandeur and plushness of this place, with large crystal chandeliers, thick velvets, dark colours. This is certainly not a typical Chinese restaurant, at least not in its decor.
However the food definitely makes up for its pretentiousness. All the usual Chinese dishes are on the menu incl controversial items such as sharp fin soup. I notice on the menu a price of $500 for a large bowl of this "delicacy". We ate more conventional choices and the food quality was excellent, certainly above average. The deep fried crispy chicken was amongst the best I have had. The seafood hot and sour soup was also superb. Everything was tops, incl the service. All the staff were attired in black. Ladies brought out the food, and the waiter would take it and serve it to the diners. I thought even the service was a bit pretentious and excessive.
As expected prices are at least 25% more than its competitors. You basically have to pay extra for the added service and food quality. If you wish to sample some of the best Chinese cuisine this city has to offer I recommend you try Casa Victoria at least once. For me I just can't get my head around the decor of this place. It is way too formal and heavy for me; I feel like I am eating in a Russian imperial palace with the Czar! Next time I would choose its sister restaurant, the Casa Imperial on Steeles. Same if not better food, also same formal decor but at least tolerable.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“fantastic dim sum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

when you're one of the few kwai loh in the restaurant - you know that it's authentic chinese.
located at warden and hwy 7 - beside the markham town centre, and in a very busy mall setting.
had been here a couple of years ago with my wife for a dinner, while we were in town for a conference. that time, we ordered from the dinner menu, and enjoyed the food very much.
this time went in with one of my daughters for a dim sum lunch.
the restaurant was jam-packed - and we didn't arrive till about 1:30 pm.
we ordered a few items we'd seen on other dim-sum menus as standards. food arrived in a relatively short time, considering how packed the restaurant was. a couple of items at a time - so they were obviously (and by the temperature) fresh out of the steamer.
the chef was doing a slightly different take on the dim-sum. still using the standard ingredients - but the dumplings were larger than usual, and just jam-packed with ingredients.
everything was delicious. we had usually gone to "cheaper" dim-sum restaurants - but the adage that you get what you pay for was very evident here. yes - more expensive - but definitely worth every penny. siu mai was better than i've had anywhere else. there were other dumplings with shrimp, one order of vegetarian, which was fantastic, and pan fried dumplings with shrimp, which were also better than i've had anywhere else. my daughter's only complaint was with the texture of the beef balls (which i loved). she liked the taste, but not the texture.
and we ordered the fried fish with chili oil as dessert. and both enjoyed it very much.
i'd go back in a heartbeat.
a little (not a whole lot) more expensive than some - but more than worth it.
and definitely very good quality ingredients, and plenty of them.
VERY highly recommended.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casa Victoria also viewed

Singhampton, Ontario
 

Been to Casa Victoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Victoria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.