We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Visitors beware !” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Braeside Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Braeside Inn to your Saves list
Braeside Inn
2.5 of 5 Inn   |   126 Front St., Pictou, Nova Scotia B0K 1H0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 11 Pictou B&B and Inns
Providence, Rhode Island
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Visitors beware !”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

This "inn" is not as advertised. It is NOT on the water but a couple of blocks away. It looks out over a pulp paper mill which runs 24 hours a day and emits a powerful, acrid odor. The decor is early garage sale. The beds uncomfortable. There is no elevator and unless the chef is there to help carry your bags, you will have to drag them upstairs yourself. The food is mediocre.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Braeside Inn, responded to this review, July 3, 2012
Thank you for your comments. We clearly state in all of our advertising that we overlook Pictou Harbour; we have never claimed to be “on the water”. Northern Pulp is continuing to work diligently to reduce the odour emitted from their plant, recently resulting in a much reduced occurrence of odors. Our top of the line mattresses and box springs are made to our specifications, resulting in many compliments from guests. There are very few inns of our size in North America that have the luxury of an elevator, and therefore we rely upon our staff to assist guests with oversize or heavy luggage. We feel that most travelers who enjoy the ambience of an Inn recognize that elevators are not an option, and if it is an issue with them, they usually check on that option when making their reservation. The Inn was built in 1938, and maintainance and upgrading of amenities is ongoing without destroying the ambience of an Inn of that era. We receive numerous compliments from guests who stay and dine with us, and return on a regular basis; it is therefore a disappointment to us that you did not enjoy our hospitality and the experience of a unique Inn atmosphere.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    21
    9
    4
    6
See reviews for
11
30
3
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Fort Saskatchewan, Alberta
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

We stayed there as two couples while were tourinhg the area. The hotel is situated on the water front overlooking the main wharf. It was built in 1938 and has been well maintained. We ate in the dining room and waited in the beautiful restful sitting room while our table was prepared. Our meals were excellent and the service was as good as one can get and that was for both dinner and breakfast the next morning. The hotel is very much in it's original format and is a 3 storey building with a wide walk up staircase to our 3rd floor rooms. The rooms are small for the current era, but have A/C, TV, internet and their own bath, quaintly decorated and very comfortable. The staff are definitely there to serve you and make your stay a memorable one. Do not be afraid to stay in this piece of history, but you do need to be capable of using stairs as there is no elevator.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2010

Our room was quaint and comfortable. Nothing fancy but clean and fresh. Comfortable sleep. We had hot water (I read the other review). View of the harbor. Reasonable breakfast included. Staff were all very friendly and accommodating. We ate dinner in the town of Pictou. Handy to everything.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
211 helpful votes 211 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2010

Pictou is tired town. The centre is replete with empty premises and the local realty outlets vie to sell rundown residences at low prices. It's a shame because the town seems to have lost one heritage and not found much success with tourism. Several of the accommodations we saw on a tour of the town were in need of urgent attention.
The Braeside Inn is typical.....an awful time warped establishment stuck in the 1950's. Claims to be a boutique hotel. In this case that means rooms with appalling dark wood faux furniture, pokey bathrooms with pink tiling, no tea/coffee facilities in room, grubby cream decor,poor housekeeping (dust on many surfaces) and a TV at least 20 years old. The rooms have air-con but when we were there the paper mill across the bay was belching out fumes that carried directly to the hotel and into the air-con units mounted on the outside of the hotel.
The public areas fair no better. The reception area gives depressing first impression of clutter and the general ambience is not helped by the host's trait for liberally sprinkling dolls and soft toys in public rooms and corridors. The dining room abounds with candelabra to which cherubs have been crudely fastened on each electric candle light station. The velour upholstery is well past its sell by date.
Dining was an experience to be missed. The chef's basic method was to add as many incongruous ingredients as possible to each dish and include Monterey Jack with nearly everything. The wine list was limited to Jost's Nova Scotian offerings....OK if you like that style (we weren't smitten) but the 'fine dining' label assumes a rather wider choice would be available. The inclusive breakfast offering was only Continental; a blessing in disguise.
There's a full set of 'Fawlty Towers' videos in the lounge; we wondered if they'd been the inspiration for this establishment.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big Pine Key, Florida
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2010

We stayed at the Braeside for one night because it presented a convenient departure point for the 8am PEI ferry the next day. Forewarned that there was no elevator, we nonetheless chose a 3rd floor harbor view room and were rewarded by a panorama in addition to our warm welcome at checkin. The room and bath were on the smaller side, but average for an older place, and certainly very comfortable. The wireless internet came in quickly on their second network. We did not hear any other guests except when we were in the hallway, and saw only two during our stay.
They accommodated us less than an hour later for dinner in their restaurant, a lovely spot which continued the time-capsule atmosphere of the old inn and was cheery with the late sun streaming through the large garden-view windows. Our server was equally cheery and quick with local wine tastings and menu suggestions. Our meal was wonderful in every respect.
We cannot comment on the breakfast since we left early the next morning.
Pictou is a caring place. The town preserves the time-capsule feeling of the Braeside; you can easily picture it 50+ years ago, as it seems almost unchanged. On the night we visited, it seemed the entire town was at a silent auction and concert to support the funding of the ship Hector, their landmark. It appeared that every business in town had donated whatever it could, and many locals, including our inn's hostess, wore their tartans and assisted with the production. I heard some talented singing as well. The Hector is quite striking at sunset, and the town and inn are worth experiencing.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Breton Island, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2010

We have stayed at the Braeside a few times and have enjoyed every visit. It's an older "inn" that has been well maintained and is very comfortable . Your room is nice, but you also have a nice common use sitting room and a nice dining room. The location is quiet and gives you a great view of the harbour. It's an easy walk to the downtown or the waterfront . The hosts treat you like they've known you for years and are most accommodating. If you want to enjoy a stay where everything is unique , then you'd enjoy this location. Pictou is just minutes from the Trans Canada Highway and very worth the few extra minutes , but you are in a very historic small town , and you have peace and quiet and scenery. There is an Arts center and various festivals that may suit your timing too.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2009

As Event Coordinator for an insurance convention held last month, we hosted part of our spousal program at the Braeside Inn in Pictou.

From our first meeting in February to book the location, to the day of the event, owners Anne and Mike Emmett and their staff were most helpful and went out of their way to ensure our event was a success.

Many guests commented on the warm reception received when they arrived, and the great service and attention provided to them during the day. Our guests were invited to relax in the main sitting room as other guests were being treated to our mini spa hosted by Laura's Day Spa in the downstairs meeting room.

The meal was delicious with attention to food allergies and special requests. The servers ensured our guests were well taken care off and many commented on the relaxing and special day they had when they returned to the convention later that day.

I want to thank Mike, Ann and the Braeside Inn staff for their professionalism and care of our guests. Have a great season!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Braeside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Braeside Inn

Address: 126 Front St., Pictou, Nova Scotia B0K 1H0, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Pictou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Pictou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Braeside Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
18 A/c rooms, most with Harbor view. Continental breakfast included. Guests Laundry facilities. Motor Cycle Wash Station. Guests sitting room with high speed internet. WiFi throughout property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Venere, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Braeside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Braeside Inn Pictou, Nova Scotia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Braeside Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.