We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive Beer...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Maxwell's Plum

The Maxwell's Plum
1600 Grafton Street, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3J 2C2, Canada (Downtown Halifax)
(902) 423-5090
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #181 of 615 Restaurants in Halifax
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Neighborhood: Downtown Halifax
kentville
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Expensive Beer...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

My wife & I stopped in here for a beer and were unpleasantly surprised at the bill.$ 14.32 for a bottle of Keith's and a Coors Light draught seemed awfully high.We probably wont be stopping here again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    44
    19
    14
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
“Great Food & Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Loved the interior of the pub and it's location in the heart of the city. Great food and very good prices. The servings were large and the beer great! A nice place to visit for getting together with friends. We will definitely return soon!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericton, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great Atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Excellent beer selection
The food is nothing special. Typical pub far however being able to order my favorite specialty beers makes up for the food

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good food, mediocre service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

The food was good, if a little cold when delivered. The service left something to be desired.

When my meal was delivered, I asked for extra worcestershire sauce. I was only checked on once during my multi-hour stay, but they couldn't even deliver my worcestershire sauce after I asked for it. I had to get it myself from the bar.

I would not go again because of the service, but the food was alright.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antigonish, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Even when they were not busy it took forever to get a beer or service. Staff too chatty to themselves while customers wait .That is not good.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Maxwell's Plum also viewed

Halifax, Halifax Regional Municipality
Halifax, Halifax Regional Municipality
 
Halifax, Halifax Regional Municipality
Halifax, Halifax Regional Municipality
 

Been to The Maxwell's Plum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Maxwell's Plum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.