We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still a great spot for Drinks!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Economy Shoe Shop Cafe & Bar

Economy Shoe Shop Cafe & Bar
1663 Argyle St, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3J 2B5, Canada
(902) 423-8845
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #178 of 615 Restaurants in Halifax
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood, Bar, Café, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Late Night
Portugal Cove, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Still a great spot for Drinks!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

My wife and I used to live in Halifax and would often start a night downtown at the Shoe Shop. We weren't disappointed during our visit this summer. The Shoe Shop has a super relaxed and friendly atmosphere. Our server was very knowledgable about the menu. Friendly and courteous in all regards.

They serve a great variety of drinks and ours were served promptly. We did order calamari to pick at. It certainly wasn't the best offering we have eaten there. Others had nachos that looked delish.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    71
    41
    21
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Didn't care for my food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

I had the fish n chips, Big piece of fish but kinda dry. Fries are flavoured with an odd spice. I like the shoe shop but won't have the fish n chips again. Service was good. Friendly server.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
POMFRET CENTER
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great Fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

We stopped for the Nachos and drinks, great place to people watch! The nachos were great and we enjoyed, our waitress was a bit salty but it was fun just the same.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
2 reviews
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014 via mobile

Have heard good things about this restaurant and this was the first time there. It started with us sitting unnoticed for some time on the patio with no offer of a menu or drinks, followed by lethargic service and a seemingly disinterested server. The pan fried haddock was well prepared and served with roast potatoes that were overdone along with a scant and relatively tasteless salad. The mac and cheese was terrible - no visible cheese or sauce and the oil literally pooled in the bottom of the dish - inedible. The response to the returned Mac and cheese was also disappointing. Won't be back.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
“4.75 stars”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

I would have given 5 stars if they had more gluten free vegetarian options. The menu is small but my husband, son and I all enjoyed what we had very much. I was especially impressed with all the homemade sauces, dips and dressings. We sat on the patio but the interior was so beautiful I would actually recommend sitting inside!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Economy Shoe Shop Cafe & Bar also viewed

Halifax, Halifax Regional Municipality
Halifax, Halifax Regional Municipality
 
Halifax, Halifax Regional Municipality
Halifax, Halifax Regional Municipality
 

Been to Economy Shoe Shop Cafe & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Economy Shoe Shop Cafe & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.