We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The favorable ratings are deserved” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Press Gang Restaurant & Oyster Bar

The Press Gang Restaurant & Oyster Bar
5218 Prince Street, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3J 0B1, Canada
+1 902-423-8816
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Press Gang Restaurant & Oyster Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #11 of 583 Restaurants in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $16 - $33
Cuisines: Seafood, Continental, Oyster Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients, Doing business, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Grand Parade & City Hall
Description: The Press Gang, located in the heart of downtown Halifax, is one of the city’s oldest historic stone structures dating back to 1759. Boasting a formal dining experience like no other in the city, The Press Gang features an extensive menu with a rich array of exquisite seafood, meat, game and poultry dishes to satisfy every palate. Enjoy a vast selection of fine wines and world- class cocktails.
florida
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
“The favorable ratings are deserved”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

We LOVE oysters on the half shell and the ones we had here were as fresh and tasty as we've ever had. And that's saying a lot! Calamari appetizer was an excellent example of an old classic: not greasy or over-battered. Broiled cod was fine if not special while their version of a 3 sample antipasto was generous and delicious. The wine list is well balanced; a few excellent beers/ales are on tap, and the service was gracious and competent. Would definitely go back if we ever return to Halifax. Oh, and the place is in one of the oldest buildings in town, with stone walls, low ceilings, heavy wooden beams -- atmosphere galore

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    212
    79
    19
    13
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Walkerton, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful on all fronts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

The bar tender was friendly and knowledgeable about lots of things - the least of which was drinks. The oysters were tasty and fresh, the mussels in cream and blue cheese were to die for and the buttered lobster and beet salad finished off the night. And to top it all off we did not spend a ton of money to get all of that.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalhousie, NB
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Very good, great staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

Went for a night out with another couple, we started with 20 oysters to start, the mignette was spectacular! We decided to go ahead with the "Drill", its the 4 course tasting... It was actually an 11 course tasting served on 4 plates... The first plate included a baked oyster, a seared scallop and a shrimp... Second plate was an onion soup, mango salad, and something else, third plate was a meat course, filet mignonette, braised short rib and a lamb... We had a strawberry palette cleanser and dessert was a cappuccino cheesecake with a cinnamon ice cream.... All of this for 150 per couple, but be warned, we do a lot of tastings, and these where the smallest portions I have ever seen... The last two courses where spectacular, while the first two had some hits and misses.... But the service was excellent! And the atmosphere was awesome... Not sure I would go back because so many great restaurants in Halifax for the price... Total price was 700$ for 4 people...

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Spectacular !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

I saw this review tonight on Trip advisor and I booked right through an ad on this site I walked there as it is a 6 minute walk from our hotel and OMG this spot was so amazing, food was great but the ambiance the feeling of the place was of the top. this is all about history - and it is not only the beautiful historic building that surrounds you as you eat but its a chance to learn about the history of the Press Gang - if you don't know about the Press Gang ask your waiter they do !
I recommend this restaurant wholeheartedly. We dined on fresh East Coast Oysters, Halibut with a coconut curry sauce and rice, yes, all delicious
10/10 I will be back great evening.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Outstanding - and good too!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Our last night "down east" was wonderful dining at The Press Gang. Beautiful restaurant in what was the first stone building in Halifax dating to the 1700's.
Superb menu - it all looked good. The scallop appetizer was terrific and the halibut main course was fantastic. Top it off with a charming attentive waitress.
We have dined in fine restaurants all over the world and this ranks right up there.
Not inexpensive but worth it if you feel like splurging.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Press Gang Restaurant & Oyster Bar also viewed

 
Halifax, Halifax Region
Halifax, Halifax Region
 

Been to The Press Gang Restaurant & Oyster Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Press Gang Restaurant & Oyster Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.