We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun Fine Dining” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Press Gang Restaurant & Oyster Bar

The Press Gang Restaurant & Oyster Bar
5218 Prince Street, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3J 3X4, Canada
902-423-8816
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Press Gang Restaurant & Oyster Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #12 of 589 restaurants in Halifax
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Continental, Oyster Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Grand Parade & City Hall
Description: The Press Gang, located in the heart of downtown Halifax, is one of the city’s oldest historic stone structures dating back to 1759. Boasting a formal dining experience like no other in the city, The Press Gang features an extensive menu with a rich array of exquisite seafood, meat, game and poultry dishes to satisfy every palate. Enjoy a vast selection of fine wines and world- class cocktails.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fun Fine Dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

8 of us went for dinner on our last night of our Nova Scotia/PEI trip. We had reserved the Henry Room which, to let you know, is not a private room. However, one of the other tables had an actor we recognized and it was fun chatting back and forth. Our server was friendly and attentive. We tried drink offerings and wine suggestions and all were good. Within the group we had various entrees and everyone was pleased. I recommend for a fine dining experience.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

87% Recommend
    172
    55
    14
    11
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
regina, canada
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Went to dinner her with a larger group (there were nine of us), which often means that the food will be a little sub par just because they are trying to deliver it to the table at the same time. We ordered a wide array of meals: steaks, fish, chicken, and it all arrived perfectly cooked. Everyone loved their meals, and it was the best food I ate during the five days I was in Halifax. I had the halibut, which was delicious. I've visited Halifax many times in the past and have always walked past this restaurant, but next time I visit I'll make sure it's on my list. Staff were also very nice. The waitress gave us some history on the building, and even though our crowd got a little noisy because we were enjoying ourselves we didn't get a single stern look from the staff.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nova Scotia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Fine experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

My first visit to this well-regarded Halifax restaurant was very satisfactory. It has a very nice ambience, the food was tasty and well presented, the service attentive but not intrusive, and Mike Cowie's trio played mellow jazzy numbers. All in all, a very pleasant way to spend an evening.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
“thank you trip advisor”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We only ate at Press Gang because it was high up in the Trip Advisor best restaurants list. Don't think we'd have eaten here otherwise. We'd have missed a treat.

Looks like an old British pub from the outside, the sign above the building and outside facade give the place the appearance of a backstreet bar from some British docks. Don't be fooled, inside you will find a top class restaurant. They advertise as an oyster bar and restaurant. The oysters are only from Nova Scotia (5 different areas). I tried the Blackpoint oysters and can honestly say they were the best I've ever had.

It seems sacrilege not to eat seafood in Halifax yet we did. I ordered the Quail and my wife ordered the Mahi mahi. Tasty, well balanced, great flavours on both dishes. We ate half of our own dish and half of each others. Both dishes were superb.

We are returning soon to Halifax and this will be the place where we eat.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Great food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Stopped in for a drink and an appetizer and ended up having a great dinner. Super service. Highly recommend the shirt ribs and scallops.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Press Gang Restaurant & Oyster Bar also viewed

Halifax, Halifax Regional Municipality
Halifax, Halifax Regional Municipality
 
Halifax, Halifax Regional Municipality
Halifax, Halifax Regional Municipality
 

Been to The Press Gang Restaurant & Oyster Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Press Gang Restaurant & Oyster Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.