We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and good value.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Phil's Seafood

Phil's Seafood
6285 Quinpool Road, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3L 1A4, Canada
902-431-3474
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #95 of 583 Restaurants in Halifax
Cuisines: Fish & Chips, Seafood
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Good food and good value.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

After spending a day in the waterfront area of Halifax, we wanted some seafood. Most restaurants downtown were a bit pricey, but we found Phil's seafood a few minutes out of the downtown. There are 4 in our family and we all enjoyed. The seafood was great with generous portions and reasonable prices. Give it a try if you are in Halifax.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    20
    6
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good fish and chips”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

Had lunch with my wife here on our trip to halifax. Good fish and chips , wasn't a huge fan of the batter , but overall good service great chips and coleslaw .

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Ontario, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Yummy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

Great food with excellent service. Prices are very reasonable and the portions are VERY generous. The kid's menu is also very affordable which is something that I personally appreciate.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“A reliable, comfortable, reasonable fish restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

We eat at Phil's every couple of months. It is unpretentious, serving excellent fish and chips, panfried fillets, poached fish, and decent salads, all in good-sized portions. The fish is always very fresh, the service is always good. Phil's is a neighborhood, family-friendly place with reasonable prices. This is not the glamorous place you go to for the big anniversary dinner, and that's not what it is trying to be..

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
258 reviews 258 reviews
217 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
154 helpful votes 154 helpful votes
“very good seafood at great price in traditional diner-style”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We come here every year when we drop our daughter off at school. It's centrally located and a great casual place to come to when you're tired after a long drive and need some comfort food.
It's pretty conventional, with few touches of chefly innovation, but that's the reason to come here. I think the broths and soups are the tastiest and best deals.It would be nice if Phil boosted the local significance of his successful place by offering more local beer, which Nova Scotians are great at producing, and making a bit more of a fuss about supporting the local fishery. But in the meantime, I'm happy to keep on coming back-- wayne r

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Phil's Seafood also viewed

Halifax, Halifax Region
Halifax, Halifax Region
 
Halifax, Halifax Region
 

Been to Phil's Seafood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Phil's Seafood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.