We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty food, a bit pricy” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Murphy's On The Water

Murphy's On The Water
1751 Lower Water Street, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3J 3E4, Canada (Downtown Halifax)
+1 902-420-1015
Improve this listing
Ranked #186 of 589 restaurants in Halifax
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: Downtown Halifax
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Tasty food, a bit pricy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

The restaurant has a splendid view of the port. The food is good, tasty, but a bit pricy for the small portions they offer. The seafood chowder is ok, but not one of the best I had in Halifax. The service and the staff are great.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

44% Recommend
    39
    48
    51
    30
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lissone, Italy
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great seafood dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We went there on a saturday night and the restaurant was very busy. We waited 20 min (exactly the time that was told to us) and finally could seat on our table. The location is on a dock and so provides a great view of the harbour and of Darmouth.
We ordered a seafood platter and the choice was absolutely great. This dish come with salmon, mussels, shrimp and a lobster. All these foods are simply prepared (boiled or grilled) and that's not so easy to find in Nova Scotia (we are Italians).
Service took a little long but the waitress was very kind and updated us on the situation of food.
Definetly was a great dinner in a very nice place!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornhill, Ontario
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Overpriced Lobsters”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

$30/lb and $40 for 1.5 lb and $50 for 2 lbs. These lobsters are overpriced! Taste is mediocre. But what do you expect out of a tourist area.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great service, great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

We went there expecting a so, so service according some of the reviews here. We were amazingly surprised by a great service, fast turnaround, nice Lobster Roll and fantastic(but small) Lobster Ravioli. The patio view is breathtaking and therapy was gorgeous. Great experience. Would comeback any time.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Bad service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

Sat there for 20 mins and not one server came by. We left and no one noticed. Terrible service and it seemed like they had lots of staff

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Murphy's On The Water also viewed

Halifax, Halifax Regional Municipality
Halifax, Halifax Regional Municipality
 
Halifax, Halifax Regional Municipality
Halifax, Halifax Regional Municipality
 

Been to Murphy's On The Water? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Murphy's On The Water, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.