We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service and fantastic food!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gio

Gio
1725 Market Street | The Prince George Hotel, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3J 3N9, Canada
902-425-1987
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 628 Restaurants in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Doing business, Romantic, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast, Dessert, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Halifax, Canada
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Great service and fantastic food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

We only had an hour to spare before a fundraiser and made a reservation at Gio. They were fantastic with their quick service and very helpful with the menu as some of us had allergies. They also brought over a Chef's selection of small treats to make the dining experience an experience.

I had the Prime Rib and it was cooked perfectly. My friend had the salmon and she said it was delish.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penny C, Guest Relations Manager at Gio, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Gio is a great spot to relax and unwind after an event (like a fundraiser!). So glad that you enjoyed the experience and very much hope that you will return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    33
    11
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
1 review
“Amazing from start to finish!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Me and my wife had probably the best dining experience at Gio that we ever had, It was very busy but our waitress made us feel like we were the only ones in the room, top notch service and the food was to die for.
Everything we ordered was beautifully plated and tasted like it could have came from any Michelin star restaurant! we were so impressed we will be back often!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penny C, Guest Relations Manager at Gio, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Thanks for the great review and for mentioning the excellent service you experienced. Very pleased to hear that Gio will become one of your top choices!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonds, Washington
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Veeery Slow”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

The food, what we did get, was very good. However, they get confused if you order various small plates and ask for them as 1st, 2nd, 3rd servings. We did make it to the salad for my wife and I, plus a 1st plate for one brother, but my other brother & sister-in-law waited and waited ... 2 hrs (1 bottle of wine later) before our waitress realized we were annoyed. Plus nothing else came for the rest of us. We ended up canceling the rest of the meal and left. My sis-in-law was starving. Not worth going there for the price. Many other option available close by.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penny C, Guest Relations Manager at Gio, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
We were very sorry to learn of the slow service you experienced - and thanks for bringing this to our attention. It's certainly not our usual standard and we are very concerned that you left with a less than positive impression. And certainly apologies are in order to your sister in law. Any chance you may be coming this way again Scubaskier? We'd love a second chance to make this up to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Uniacke, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Night before the Wedding!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We had a really lovely dinner here the evening before our wedding at the Prince George, and the food was just phenomenal. The staff were superbly gracious and the meal itself turned out to be a wonderful sneak peek of what the chefs at Gio can do, as the food for our wedding buffet was absolutely stunning as well. Would recommend to anyone!!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penny C, Guest Relations Manager at Gio, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
What a great opportunity to get a sneak peak of our food before the actual wedding. Delighted to learn that everything went so well. Thanks so much for posting a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“What a lobby surprise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

When we booked for Halifax' Prince George Hotel the fact that they had a restaurant was ho-hum. Another hotel restaurant! Ugh! Boy, we we wrong! Gio is a world class restaurant that amazed and pleased us not once but twice! We felt happily compelled to return the next evening. We loved the decor of artfully placed colorful glass and ceramics. The room is not large and yet not noisy even when busy. The lighting fixtures we in themselves art objects. There is a bar in the room that, miracle of miracles, was quiet and not obtrusive. The staff were largely attractive young women mostly attired in elegant black dresses. To a person they were knowledgeable and attentive. They came across as helpful friends truly interesting in our experiencing the best of the experience. Now for the food: exceptional! I am the classic senior picky eater. I found the menu fascinating to read with interesting and fun description of a fairly comprehensive items. I am know as someone who leaves a restaurant not liking anything; not here! My wife and I found the food to be superb. From wonderful presentation to portion control, quality and, most importantly taste, this is a class act! The lobster dish was artful, tasty and not too large a portion (I say that as a complement). The next night I had the Halibut again wonderful. The only slight negative was that my wife's mussels were smallish but in fairness it was the end of the oyster season. In summary, we highly recommend Gio and look forward to our return. See, not all commercial hotel restaurants are commercial ordinary!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penny C, Guest Relations Manager at Gio, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Gio is certainly not a "typical" hotel restaurant - in fact it is one of the few Four Diamond restaurants in a Four Diamond hotel! Thanks for writing such a detailed review. We are delighted that you enjoyed Gio so much and you can be sure that your comments were shared with all involved.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gio also viewed

Halifax, Halifax Region
Halifax, Halifax Region
 
Halifax, Halifax Region
Halifax, Halifax Region
 

Been to Gio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.