We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Veeery Slow” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Gio

Gio
1725 Market Street | The Prince George Hotel, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3J 3N9, Canada
902-425-1987
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 589 restaurants in Halifax
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Edmonds, Washington
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Veeery Slow”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

The food, what we did get, was very good. However, they get confused if you order various small plates and ask for them as 1st, 2nd, 3rd servings. We did make it to the salad for my wife and I, plus a 1st plate for one brother, but my other brother & sister-in-law waited and waited ... 2 hrs (1 bottle of wine later) before our waitress realized we were annoyed. Plus nothing else came for the rest of us. We ended up canceling the rest of the meal and left. My sis-in-law was starving. Not worth going there for the price. Many other option available close by.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penny C, Guest Relations Manager at Gio, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
We were very sorry to learn of the slow service you experienced - and thanks for bringing this to our attention. It's certainly not our usual standard and we are very concerned that you left with a less than positive impression. And certainly apologies are in order to your sister in law. Any chance you may be coming this way again Scubaskier? We'd love a second chance to make this up to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    89
    28
    11
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Mount Uniacke, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Night before the Wedding!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We had a really lovely dinner here the evening before our wedding at the Prince George, and the food was just phenomenal. The staff were superbly gracious and the meal itself turned out to be a wonderful sneak peek of what the chefs at Gio can do, as the food for our wedding buffet was absolutely stunning as well. Would recommend to anyone!!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penny C, Guest Relations Manager at Gio, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
What a great opportunity to get a sneak peak of our food before the actual wedding. Delighted to learn that everything went so well. Thanks so much for posting a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“What a lobby surprise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

When we booked for Halifax' Prince George Hotel the fact that they had a restaurant was ho-hum. Another hotel restaurant! Ugh! Boy, we we wrong! Gio is a world class restaurant that amazed and pleased us not once but twice! We felt happily compelled to return the next evening. We loved the decor of artfully placed colorful glass and ceramics. The room is not large and yet not noisy even when busy. The lighting fixtures we in themselves art objects. There is a bar in the room that, miracle of miracles, was quiet and not obtrusive. The staff were largely attractive young women mostly attired in elegant black dresses. To a person they were knowledgeable and attentive. They came across as helpful friends truly interesting in our experiencing the best of the experience. Now for the food: exceptional! I am the classic senior picky eater. I found the menu fascinating to read with interesting and fun description of a fairly comprehensive items. I am know as someone who leaves a restaurant not liking anything; not here! My wife and I found the food to be superb. From wonderful presentation to portion control, quality and, most importantly taste, this is a class act! The lobster dish was artful, tasty and not too large a portion (I say that as a complement). The next night I had the Halibut again wonderful. The only slight negative was that my wife's mussels were smallish but in fairness it was the end of the oyster season. In summary, we highly recommend Gio and look forward to our return. See, not all commercial hotel restaurants are commercial ordinary!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penny C, Guest Relations Manager at Gio, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Gio is certainly not a "typical" hotel restaurant - in fact it is one of the few Four Diamond restaurants in a Four Diamond hotel! Thanks for writing such a detailed review. We are delighted that you enjoyed Gio so much and you can be sure that your comments were shared with all involved.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minneapolis, mn
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
197 helpful votes 197 helpful votes
“Good food, good drinks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We had a quick dinner at the bar before a hockey game, and were very pleased. Everything everybody has posted about the bartender is true: he loves his work and is a bit of a showman about it. But more important, he does mix a good drink. The pasta dish was top notch. The chowder was fine. Service was prompt and pleasant. We would return, given the opportunity.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penny C, Guest Relations Manager at Gio, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Thank you for posting on TripAdvisor. Our bartender loves what he does - and really makes an exceptional drink every time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne / australia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Lovely surroundings - friendly bar man”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

A great place for a relaxing drink in the bar--- a friendly bartender Jordan happy to have a chat & laugh.

Try a meal from the great menu selection .....presentation is very good x & meals tasty.

Prince George is a fabulous place & Gio serves great meals & has nice surroundings.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gio also viewed

Halifax, Halifax Regional Municipality
Halifax, Halifax Regional Municipality
 
Halifax, Halifax Regional Municipality
Halifax, Halifax Regional Municipality
 

Been to Gio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.