We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, great people” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gio

Gio
1725 Market Street | The Prince George Hotel, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3J 3N9, Canada
902-425-1987
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 583 Restaurants in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Entertaining clients, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Dessert, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
St. John's, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Great food, great people”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

While staying at the Prince George Hotel we tried "Gio's" dinning room. From the moment we walked in we were treated like valued guests. The food was outstanding, Our server "Jessica" was perfect. We left feeling very happy and satisfied.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    33
    11
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Cocktail visit was good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Interesting cocktail menu. Bitter melon a must! Delicious, different and a refreshing summer drink. Leechi martini was ok.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Always one of my favourite places to enjoy great food and service.
This is a world class dining experience.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamswood, NS
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Lovely”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Loved this restaurant! Very fancy, not my style at all, but the staff was energetic and seemed to genuinely enjoy their work, and they did not treat us any differently even though we are not fancy people.

The food looked and tasted amazing! Decent prices for the quality of food and service as well!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westbury, New York
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great bar!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Stopped in for a pre-dinner drink, and immediately noticed the glorious stained glass windows and sculptures, which are the work of a local artist. The bartender was friendly and knew the area well. Drinks were generous and refilled quickly. A good choice.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gio also viewed

Halifax, Halifax Region
Halifax, Halifax Region
 
Halifax, Halifax Region
Halifax, Halifax Region
 

Been to Gio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.