We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chicken? What chicken?” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Freeman's Little New York

Freeman's Little New York
6092 Quinpool Rd, Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
(902) 429-0241
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #153 of 583 Restaurants in Halifax
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
New Glasgow, Canada
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Chicken? What chicken?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

We visited the Grafton Street location. I ordered the chicken taquito dinner. Menu says, "crispy tortilla rolls with chicken and three cheese." These were the most bland deep fried pieces of dough I had ever eaten. I tried to unroll one to see if there was anything in the center of them but there was only tiny white specks of chicken and cheese. (maybe a teaspoon of filling per taquito) the restaurant was quite busy as it was just before a concert at the Metro Center. I asked for sour cream with the dinner but was served sweet chili sauce instead. It was only the sauce that gave them enough flavor to be able to actually eat them. Hubby had fish and chips and said the batter on the fish was doughy. The service was quite quick considering how busy it was there at the time. Would not go back.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    33
    14
    14
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Nova Scotia
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Burnt pizza delivered after waiting an hour”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

Ordered two pizza tonight and was told it would be a half hour. I would have been fine waiting an hour if the pizza had been edible. But the two pizzas arrived- both badly burned. No one looking at them should have sent them out by delivery. The original crust was just barely edible if you cut off most of the crust. But the gluten-free one went into the compost bin. We have ordered pizza here off and on for years but this will be the last time. I understand that mistakes are made but they are not usually sent out to customers. Could have called for another one but figured it would be too late by the time it finally arrived. We should not have to stand in the bitter cold and inspect our pizzas before accepting them. But that is becoming necessary. Ordered from another spot recently and ended up with a gluten-free crust that was not gluten-free. Disappointed in the pizza service in this area.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Not so good this time”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

I actually visited the one on Dutch Village road for lunch. Ordered the lunch special of the pasta and salad. The beef and broccoli pasta was rather lack lustre, seemed like leftovers from the day before and couldn't find any broccoli in the dish. The greek salad was very tasty. Would probably order the salad as a meal if I return. The price for the lunch special is great and you do get lots of food.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nova Scotia
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Good Pizza”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Good pizza. We tried the iron worker all meat pizza. Good crispy crust and lots of toppings. We also had the chicken nachos as an appetizer. Good nachos; however, not the best we have ever had. The draught beer was ice cold. Prices are reasonable. The service was excellent.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ns
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
“unexpected, great find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Happened onto this little restaurant as we were walking around the downtown area doing our tourist-thing. It looked family friendly and when we looked the menu there was lot of options for our picky little family. The food was great and the prices reasonable, however, the portions were very large! You could easily share a plate. The place was nice and very clean and the service great. They also have great lunch specials - portions are large for these two. We ended up eating here twice during our weekend in Halifax. Will definitely be going back again.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Freeman's Little New York also viewed

Halifax, Halifax Region
Halifax, Halifax Region
 
Halifax, Halifax Region
 

Been to Freeman's Little New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Freeman's Little New York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.