We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Equally great for a night out with friends or a quiet date” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fireside

Fireside
1500 Brunswick St., Halifax, Nova Scotia B3J 3X9, Canada (Downtown Halifax)
(902) 423-5995
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #123 of 615 Restaurants in Halifax
Cuisines: Continental
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Downtown Halifax
Halifax, Canada
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
“Equally great for a night out with friends or a quiet date”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Having visited the Fireside for the first time last summer for an impromptu 'bachelorette party' on a Martini Monday, I remembered the food being really good, so suggested it for an equally impromptu Valentine's Day dinner with my (now) husband. The service is amazing - we were greeted warmly at the door by a girl who hung up our coats and showed us to our table. And the waiter (Luke) was prompt and personable, with just the right level of 'attentiveness'. The menu selection is fantastic, food quality wonderful, and portion sizes generous. We shared the Baked Goat Cheese (Encrusted in fresh herbs atop roma tomatoes in chive oil inside a tower of housemade bread sticks) then as the main I had the raspberry brie stuffed chicken and he had the bison burger (he considers himself a burger connoisseur and said it was perfect). And we couldn't forego the dessert menu! The tiramisu cheesecake was to do for - and he said the raspberry cake was pretty good too! The restaurant is a lot bigger than it looks from the outside, with one side nice and open for bigger groups, and another side a little more intimate and good for couples. And I hear they have an upstairs too. Although I stuck to one martini this time, the selection is great, and the measures seem generous. We will definitely be going back here again. Go - you won't regret it!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    53
    20
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Spot for Friends to Gather...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

After having had ho..hum food experiences 2 years ago, we were pleased to find that the Fireside provided a totally different experience this time around! Excellent food, efficient wait staff, wonderful variety on the drinks menu plus a willingness to make any small accommodations.
Goat cheese appetizers excellent, fish chowder very tasty, fish & chips good but definately needed a "Batter Reduction."
Suggestions for seating ...dining area to the left to avoid the strong down draft everytime someone enters the restarant.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Brunswick
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Fantastic menu and excellent food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Had supper and drinks here twice during my week long stay in Halifax. Our entire group loved the atmosphere and food. Would definitely recommend it.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
“Excellent servicem drinks and food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Never a let down. Some of the best martinis around and great food. The menu could be bigger but everything on it that I have tried is delicious. Service is always fast and friendly. This is definitely one of the better spots in Halifax. The atmosphere is warm and cozy, it really is the perfect setting!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great Martini Bar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

The Fireside has a great relaxing atmosphere with comfy chairs and a fantastic selection of martinis

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fireside also viewed

Halifax, Halifax Regional Municipality
Halifax, Halifax Regional Municipality
 
Halifax, Halifax Regional Municipality
Halifax, Halifax Regional Municipality
 

Been to Fireside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fireside, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.