We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Supporting local food with a flare!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Elements on Hollis

Elements on Hollis
1181 Hollis Street, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3H 2P6, Canada
+1 902-496-7960
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Elements on Hollis is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #36 of 583 Restaurants in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $10 - $26
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Terminal Road
Description: Elements on Hollis provides some of the best cuisine in Halifax. Accompanying the amazing food at Elements on Hollis, the Halifax restaurant offers Nova Scotia wines from eight wineries, and beer from two Nova Scotian distilleries and breweries. Elements on Hollis has a delicious brunch buffet every Sunday from 12:00 PM to 2:00 PM.
Halifax, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Supporting local food with a flare!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

On August 8th, I dined with colleagues at Elements.

The atmosphere was terrific and the service was friendly and attentive. I really appreciated that the menu reflected what was local and in season, even down to the coffee and ketchup (don't miss it!). My main course was delicious but it was the dessert that I will not soon forget. The Garrison Nut Brown Beer Brownie is to die for. Everything about it is right.

The atmosphere was open with bright space and loads of windows. Very modern and clean. This is upscale dining without breaking the bank that you can feel good about.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NCHR, General Manager at Elements on Hollis, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Thank you for writing a review on your recent dining experience. We're happy you enjoyed our local selections and delicious desserts! We hope to welcome you back to the restaurant again soon.

Warmest regards,
Chef Bryan Corkery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    43
    20
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, Canada
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Pleasant Father Day's”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

My family took me to Elements for brunch on Father's Day and we had a great meal. The brunch is served buffett style and includes and large variety of different dishes including a great seafood selection, an omelette and waffle station, several egg dishes, a roast beef carving station and a large selection of desserts.

Service was good with our server regularly checking on us and re-filling coffee cups. Elements was a good choice for brunch and we would certainly go back again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NCHR, General Manager at Elements on Hollis, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thank you for writing a review on your Father's Day Brunch experience. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Until next time,
Chef Bryan Corkery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Food was amazing, too bad the setting didn't do it justice.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Very disappointing start, no water, slow service but made up for it in the end. Once the waiter arrived 20 minutes later, things turned for the better.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NCHR, General Manager at Elements on Hollis, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us. Our sincerest apologies for the service delay at the beginning of your meal; however, we're happy you enjoyed your menu selections.

We would like to get more information about your situation and would encourage you to contact us directly at info@elementsonhollis.ca. We'd like to look into what happened to cause these delays so we can avoid similar situations in the future.

We look forward to welcoming you back again.
Regards,
Chef Bryan Corkery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Every Element Worked Well”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at the Westin Nova Scotian and on our last night there we decided to stay in and try the hotel restaurant for a change. This was literally one of the most flavorful, beautifully presented and well served meals we've ever hand.

To begin with the restaurant had a lovely atmosphere and our server, Anthony, was one of the best servers I've ever had. We loved the concept of using foods that were grown and produced within 50km and the freshness of each ingredient could not be matched anywhere else.

We had : Lunenberg Salt Cod Cake, Seafood Stew, Beef Tenderloin, Nova 7 White Chocolate Mousse and Chocolate Cake. I don't even know where to begin..... Immaculate, inspired and incredible are just some of the adjectives I would use to describe this perfect meal. That was topped off by the wonderful bottle of Nova 7 Sparkling Wine produced by Benjamin Bridge (local winery) and the best thing about their wines is that they charge only the cost of the bottle + $5. You probably won't find that anywhere else.... ever. At the end of the meal my husband ordered a glass of the 10 yr old port and to our surprise they were sold out, but brought him a glass of the 40 yr old at no extra charge. Again, impeccable attention to detail and a desire to satisfy the customer's request.

The service was flawless and Anthony provided insights into the restaurant's vision, food and wine pairings and was generally an all-round sociable server. If he is still serving the next time we visit Halifax I will be asking to sit in his section. I hope that the management team will have a chance to read this review and that he will be noted as an excellent employee.

It was a splurge for us to eat here as it is a higher end restaurant but it was completely worth every dollar for a great evening. I have recommended other places in other reviews but I can't stress enough that this truly was a great experience.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NCHR, General Manager at Elements on Hollis, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Wow - words cannot describe how honoured and proud we were to read this review. We are dedicated to local ingredients, service excellence and providing memorable experiences for each person that dines with us. We're absolutely delighted to read about your experience and we'll be sure to personally thank Anthony, who has an innate ability to connect with each of our guests.

We truly hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back for another memorable dining experience.
Regards,
Chef Bryan Corkery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
1 review
“Exceptional Food and Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Thank you Elements on Hollis for proving me correct when recommending your delicious food to relatives. We are locals and have had only exceptionally good meals in your restaurant. Last night was no exception. The Brioche cooked in coffee cups starts every meal with melt in your mouth deliciousness... almost makes it hard to move on as you could just linger over brioche all day. We ventured forth and our table had spicy curried veggie pasta, salt cod cake, salmon, and beef tenderloin. All to rave reviews. The service was charming and attentive. It was a full restaurant so there was some delay at times, but nothing that wasn't understandable or so long as to complain. My 88 yr old Mother was thrilled to tell recollect stories of Cape Breton with our server, a fellow Cape Bretoner.
Next, it will be time to try your breakfast. Looking forward to starting my day the Elements way. ;^)

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NCHR, General Manager at Elements on Hollis, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you for dining with us and sharing your comments. We're delighted to hear that your mother was able to connect with our server Jesslin, with stories of Cape Breton.

We look forward to your next visit.
Warm regards,
Keith Crowley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Elements on Hollis also viewed

 
Halifax, Halifax Region
Halifax, Halifax Region
 

Been to Elements on Hollis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elements on Hollis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.