We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent food!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Elements on Hollis

Elements on Hollis
1181 Hollis Street, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3H 2P6, Canada
+1 902-496-7960
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Elements on Hollis is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #36 of 583 Restaurants in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $10 - $26
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Terminal Road
Description: Elements on Hollis provides some of the best cuisine in Halifax. Accompanying the amazing food at Elements on Hollis, the Halifax restaurant offers Nova Scotia wines from eight wineries, and beer from two Nova Scotian distilleries and breweries. Elements on Hollis has a delicious brunch buffet every Sunday from 12:00 PM to 2:00 PM.
Charlottetown, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“excellent food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

excellent food! will be going back when we are in halifax

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshleyNCH, General Manager at Elements on Hollis, responded to this review, January 12, 2012
Thanks for writing a review! We're happy you enjoyed our local food & wine menus, featuring the best of Nova Scotia cuisine within a 50 mile radius of our restaurant. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Sincerely,
Sarah Williams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    43
    20
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great variety of food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

Breakfast buffet was very well done. Lots of interesting items, nicely presented, and well prepared.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshleyNCH, General Manager at Elements on Hollis, responded to this review, January 11, 2012
Thank you for writing a review; we're pleased you enjoyed the selection & preparation of our full breakfast buffet. We look forward to welcoming you back for another wonderful dining experience!

Sincerely,
Sarah Williams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A delightful experience for those who want to sample some fresh, local delicacies, and amazing prices on local wine.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

Enjoyed a light dinner for two, and ordered 2 small plates per person rather than 1 large main. He had the charcuterie platter (delicious, the pickles were a treat) and the beef cheek lasagna (much tastier than it sounds) while she had the local mussels (great!) and the pumpkin seed spinach salad (fresh blueberries, would have liked a more tart dressing) and both split a local bottle of Nova 7 for a price we couldn't believe! The real kicker was a fresh-baked rosemary brioche for the table, served to us hot and steaming - what a treat. Friendly and comfortable service, and a warm if not Spartan dining environment completed the picture. Overall, a surprisingly delightful meal in what I had expected traditionally lame hotel-restaurant fare. Looking forward to coming back!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshleyNCH, Manager at Elements on Hollis, responded to this review, November 22, 2011
Thank you for your comments! We’re thrilled to hear you had a memorable dinner at our restaurant and enjoyed our freshly-baked brioche, made from our special in-house recipe!

We are proud to partner with over 35 farmers & producers within 50 miles of our Halifax restaurant and we are pleased to offer bottles of Nova Scotia wines at cost+$5. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon for another delightful dinner!

Sincerely,
Sarah Williams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Ontario
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“It was fabulous so we returned second night!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

We spent two nights at the Westin Nova Scotian and selected the hotel restaurant for our meal after a very busy day of travelling. This restaurant was a very pleasant surprise and provided a true dining adventure. It has only recently reopened after renovations and supports local farmers and producers.

All staff members were friendly, informed and very helpful. I explained that I had dietary issues and was provided with options that more than met my requirements.

The brioche was presented in a most delightful way and has a nice surprise inside and the flavour and texture made it very tasty right down to the last crumb. I had the field green salad, there was nothing basic about this salad. It was fresh and flavourful and the presentation made it even more enjoyable. My husband had the seafood stew and the presentation again was not as you would expect in a traditional stew. He was delighted to say the least. We were very pleased with the service, the freshness of the food and the presentation. On the second night, there was no decision to be made about where we were dining. We returned for another fabulous meal with the same friendly staff. This time my husband selected the Maritime seafood chowder and the chicken breast while I had the haddock fillet. We have travelled extensively and must admit that the Chef and his staff presented us with two very memorable dining experiences. If every in Halifax again, we will certainly return to Elements.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshleyNCH, Manager at Elements on Hollis, responded to this review, November 22, 2011
Thank you for dining with us at elements on hollis. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our local menu featuring the freshest of Nova Scotia ingredients, not only once but twice! We take pride in our 50-mile dining experience and we are happy you received quality service from our staff.

We look forward to seeing you back in Halifax and at our restaurant for another memorable dining experience!

Safe Travels,
Sarah Williams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Refreshed resto...yummy food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

Elements just re-opened a few days ago after what I've been told was a much needed renovation.

I ate dinner there alone @ 5:30 & was literally the only patron. I ate beef cheek lasagna as my app & the free-range chicken for my main. The app was to die for & the chicken was good also. They also serve a wonderful rosemary brioche which was hot and steamy & I couldn't stop eating!

W the current promo of 25% off for hotel patrons my meal was a steal at $26!!!

Elements mantra is local ingredient & sustainment while providing delicious food. They are successful!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshleyNCH, Manager at Elements on Hollis, responded to this review, November 22, 2011
Thank you for your review on your dining experience with us. We're thrilled that you enjoyed our local & sustainable menu options! We have partnered with over 35 local farmers & producers to bring the freshest local ingredients to our patrons.

We look forward to seeing you again soon at elements on hollis!

Sincerely,
Sarah Williams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Elements on Hollis also viewed

 
Halifax, Halifax Region
Halifax, Halifax Region
 

Been to Elements on Hollis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elements on Hollis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.