We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over-rated, Over-priced, Under-sized!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Curry Village Restaurant

Curry Village Restaurant
1569 Dresden Row, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3J 2K4, Canada
(902) 429-5010
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #57 of 615 Restaurants in Halifax
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Canada
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Over-rated, Over-priced, Under-sized!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Let me preface my review by saying that i thoroughly enjoy curries, and have eaten them in a number of countries. As such, when my family and I recently visited Halifax, and saw an advertisement for the 'Curry Village', declaring itself 'The Best Indian Restaurant in Halifax',we decided to give it a try.
The evening was a complete disappointment! As is our custom, we ordered 4 different curries, and since none are accompanied by a side dish of rice, a biryani. A simple enough order, yet, somehow, the young server managed to get the order wrong, and brought food that we hadn't ordered. Not a good start. When the food came, we noted that the portions were very small, containing only small amounts of meat (lamb and chicken). Within a short period, the sauce on two of the dishes started to congeal, something I have never previously witnessed. We didn't bother any more with these dishes. Overall not a good eating experience, although the Indian lager was okay.
If this really is the best that Halifax can offer, in the way of Indian food, then perhaps it's time that curry lovers learn to cook the food that they enjoy.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    24
    11
    10
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Halifax
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Curry Village is an excellent restaurant! The food speaks for itself! I've been there several times, and I have never had a dish that I didn't like, and I am a picky eater! My favourite is, of course, the butter chicken, it is absolutely amazing, and I could probably eat it everyday. The store owner, Sunny, is so friendly and genuinely cares about his customers. I've seen him go up to every table in the restaurant to make sure that everyone is enjoying their experience. Definitely go try Curry Village, and try the butter chicken!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
1 review
“awesome food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

went to curry village with family and was so impressed with their authentic lamb dishes. Prices were also reasonable.My entire family enjoyed the experience. I highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
1 review
“Great food and great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

I have been coming here for years; the food and service have always been top notch. The price is in line with other Restaurants serving real food, this is not a franchise!! Staff is friendly and helpful and the restaurant is ALWAYS spotless!! My family and friends come here all the time - we highly recommend this place. Check it out!!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Worst Indian food in Halifax”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

With very few places to get Indian food in Halifax. We had high hopes at Curry Village. This has to be the worst Indian food we ever tasted. Everything tasted the same and the price was atrocious. The place was not very clean. The service was friendly but slow with only a few tables the evening we were there.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Curry Village Restaurant also viewed

Halifax, Halifax Regional Municipality
Halifax, Halifax Regional Municipality
 
Halifax, Halifax Regional Municipality
Halifax, Halifax Regional Municipality
 

Been to Curry Village Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Curry Village Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.