We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious pizza!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Salvatore's Pizzaiolo Trattoria

Salvatore's Pizzaiolo Trattoria
5541 Young St, Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
(902) 455-1133
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #78 of 615 Restaurants in Halifax
Cuisines: Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Delicious pizza!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

This is a lovely spot, small and intimate, and amazing pizza! Plenty of variety (the meats pizza is my favorite) and the prices aren't bad. This place is serious about it's pizza - don't try to order anything 'additional' to a menu pizza; they have taken the time to combine the ingrediants they feel are best and they don't recommend adding or taking anything away :) Fresh ingrediants, relatively quick delivery, and great service. Parking in the Hydrostone area can be a bit of a pain, but trust me - it's worth it!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    20
    7
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“BEST BEST BEST!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This is the best pizza in Halifax hands down. It always rates the top in surveys and I sooooo see why.

There is a four cheese pizza that I can't remember the name... and I'm craving it as I type this.

Don't miss the ham hero. This sub has so much flavour.

The final thing is an odd one, try the cheesecake. I tend to lean toward the bar versions (skor/ caramilk) but they have a decent variety. Made fresh, only three a day and they are often all gone by the time I get there.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic pizzazzz”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Went there once and ended up going the second time consecutively for dinner, fantastic prices, fantastic taste and service.,good selection of pizzas, just wished they had something in chicken, but otherwise good selection of other meat and veg options. road side parking and since it has only around 8-10 tables can fill up quickly..

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottetown, PEI
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“PIZZA - OMG”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

soooo good, dining is cool - very tiny place - very casual - very laid back!! Best pizza I have ever had - even better than Pizza in New York city!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“BEST PIZZA EVER!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

This place has, by far, the best pizza I've ever had. You can tell that they use real, flavorful ingredients that add so much taste. I am new to Halifax and it was clear to me that Salvatore's was popular when they unlocked the door for lunch hour at 11:30 and by 11:32 the line up was to the door.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salvatore's Pizzaiolo Trattoria also viewed

Halifax, Halifax Regional Municipality
Halifax, Halifax Regional Municipality
 
Halifax, Halifax Regional Municipality
Halifax, Halifax Regional Municipality
 

Been to Salvatore's Pizzaiolo Trattoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Salvatore's Pizzaiolo Trattoria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.