We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent food, GREAT patio” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lower Deck Waterfront

Lower Deck Waterfront
1887 Upper Water St | c/o Historic Properties, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3J 1S9, Canada
+1 902-425-1501
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 583 Restaurants in Halifax
Price range: $7 - $15
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: The Lower Deck :"Where the Music flows as Freely as the Ale, And Good Times are Guaranteed."
Windsor, Canada
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Decent food, GREAT patio”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

The patio is unbeatable. Try to snag a table with a view of the waterfront and enjoy. The service is quite good. We only sampled a small portion of the menu and it was good, but did not blow us out of the water. A great place to stop, have a drink and enjoy the patio!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    147
    85
    25
    12
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Almonte, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Enjoyed the music!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Enjoyed good nachos and a few drams of rum in the Lower Deck! Friendly folks - great music - tastey rum! A must experience while in Halifax!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Smyrna Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
192 reviews 192 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Andy is dandy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We decided to try the food at the LD and wanted to get out of the heat on the dock.Went to the 2nd tier and Andy, the bar manager and a big hockey fan who knew who Milt Schmidt is [Boston Bruins Hall of Famer, player,coach and GM, 95 years old and still doing great], took good care of us.Alas, we wanted a burger rare and in Canada,they must be cooked to 140* which is "no pink" Andy assured us they would not be tough and he was right.They loosly mold the burgers with a good grade of meat and a secret ingredient [probably some salt-flats herbs],fries were excellent and the Keith beer was good, but not much depth to the IPA.Music was good.Andy is a good conversationalist, as every bar man should be!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois
Top Contributor
227 reviews 227 reviews
164 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
143 helpful votes 143 helpful votes
“I'd pass”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We visited based on a recommendation from a local that The Lower Deck was a happening place with the young crowd and mostly college students. Bad recommendation. Not even close.

The crowd was definitely NOT young nor in college... more like the parents of college students. Most appeared to be tourists and not even locals. No one seemed to be having a particularly good time either... kind of like they were all sitting around waiting for something to happen which never did.

That evening the most god awful country western band was playing. Needless to say we stayed only long enough to enjoy one pint before taking our own party down the street.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike C, Owner at Lower Deck Waterfront, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Hello there :

I was sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your visit to the Lower Deck. We cater to a diverse crowd of ages 19-79 yrs and our predominantly college crowd joins us for Signal Hill Sundays every Sunday evening from 9:30pm-12:30am.
We offer live entertainment 7 nights a week but do not have any country western acts, so I'm hoping you heard a song from our digital music system that may have been played by mistake.
If you ever get the chance to stop by and visit our city again , please feel free to contact me as I would love the opportunity to show you some of the Great Maritime Hospitality that the Lower Deck has become known for.
Cheers,
Mike
info@lowerdeck.ca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Favourite East Coast 'Attraction'!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

I am originally from Halifax and this watering hole is just as great every time I go back. Great location on water front, lively bar nights, specifically on the weekends. Sunday night is their busiest. To avoid line, get there before 9, have some food then enjoy the live music. Usually have live band on bottom floor, dj on second floor.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lower Deck Waterfront also viewed

Halifax, Halifax Region
Halifax, Halifax Region
 
Halifax, Halifax Region
Halifax, Halifax Region
 

Been to Lower Deck Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lower Deck Waterfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.