We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, but...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Chocolate Lake Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Chocolate Lake Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Chocolate Lake Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   20 St. Margaret's Bay Road, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3N 1J4, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #8 of 29 Hotels in Halifax
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Clean, but...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

Clean, but totally lacking personality. I guess if you are used to staying in chain hotels this hotel would be more than acceptable. It is very good value, extremely tidy and clean. Nice that you could get a full breakfast and have a reasonably equipped kitchenette. Location is quite car dependent or if you choose, you can use public transit just outside. Staff were very polite & helpful. Rooms lack any personality and ours, with one queen bed, felt cramped. We had no view, overlooking parking.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

634 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    310
    249
    49
    12
    14
See reviews for
212
230
33
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
York Harbor, Maine
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

The location of this hotel was a little far from the downtown Halifax area. By bus (the number 6) it was about 28 minutes from the downtown. So it was quiet, nice large lake behind it that you could swim in, very clean looking (why the chocolate name, beats me, but it was a beautiful green color). Anyhow it was also pet friendly and there were a few well-behaved dogs around the hotel. The rooms were very clean, medium sized (we had booked a double queen) and the cleaning was done immediately after breakfast so I can't complain about the maid service. Bed were comfortable but maybe pillows could have been softer.
The only downside was that our room was out back and you had to enter again through a side door, up some stairs to get to the front desk again (or any other place inside the hotel). Breakfast was good although it could use more in terms of variety with the main dishes: there was scrambled eggs, meat (ham or link sausages) and potatoes. Besides this there was bread for toast, french toast, yogurt, fruit (apples and bananas), danishes, muffins, cold and hot cereal, juices, and the regular coffee/tea. There was a lot, but I would have liked to have seen more in the way of differently prepared eggs besides scrambled (how about poached, hard-boiled or in some kind of meal with cheese, etc)? Also breakfast food was gone fast. Hours were from 6:am to 10:00 which was good. Service was very good, they go out of their way to help you with many things.
I didnt see the pool but I also wasn't here for a vacation, but to visit a nearby college for my daughter. All in all a good choice if traveling with family/friends.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MONTREAL, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Above average service with below average prices. The staff both in person or on the phone, weither for réservations or reward programs are very helpfull. Breakfasts are excellent and Best Western provides worldwide accomodations and great locations. I've been a customer for many years while travelling on business and now even more since my wife and I are retired.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

I felt very comfortable in my clean room. The free breakfast and free parking made the $175 worth it. The staff were friendly. I ate my breakfast in the back deck over looking the lake. It felt peaceful and as if I wasn't in a city.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We stayed two nights at this hotel and were very pleased. The rooms were nice and clean. The staff were very accommodating. We used the pool and the steam room. We were especially surprised and pleased by the restaurant. It shone for dinner and breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Top Contributor
184 reviews 184 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Because of family connections I have stayed in several Halifax hotels but this is without a doubt the best. The place was fully renovated and upgraded recently. The rooms are large modern and very clean. The inroom fridge is a handy place to cool your drinks. Downtown Halifax is only 10 minutes away. Here there is unlimited free parking, free wireless inroom internet and a very good free breakfast with ham, eggs and hashbrowns in addition to the carbs. This is somewhat of a destination resort, right on Chocolate Lake and some guests laid out towels on the rear lawn/beach area and were sunning and swimming. Some guests swam across the small lake to a sandy beach area, There is a nice indoor pool too, with quite a few kids but they have adult only swimming from 9:30 to 11:00. We got a great night's sleep in the nicely decorated room and recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Many rooms are up or down a few steps so be sure to tell them if you need a directly accessible room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

From the outside this hotel looks awesome. Great view of the Chocolate Lake, nice reception and lobby area etc. Our room was supposedly non-smoking, but had such a terrible odour of cigarette smoke. The bed was comfy and the room was spacious and neat. It had a little fridge as well. The breakfast is included, but the service at the breakfast area is poor. The food gets empty and no one cares to refill. People are waiting in long lines for coffee or food. If there is coffee, the are no mugs, if there is bread ere is no butter, such was the management. They did have a good spread though, scrambled eggs, French toast, potatoes, muffins, pastries,fruits, yogurt, cereals, oats, juice etc. also this hotel is conveniently located, downtown is close and so are all attractions. Parking is also available.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Chocolate Lake Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Chocolate Lake Hotel

Address: 20 St. Margaret's Bay Road, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3N 1J4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Regional Municipality > Halifax
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Halifax
#5 Business Hotel in Halifax
#6 Romantic Hotel in Halifax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Chocolate Lake Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN PLUS Chocolate Lake hotel in Halifax, Nova Scotia is newly redesigned, offering you exceptional comfort in a gorgeous, convenient location. Visiting Halifax for business or pleasure? BEST WESTERN PLUS Chocolate Lake is the ideal hotel for you. We have everything you need and more, all in a tranquil lakeside setting. So trust the brand that makes travellers feel comfortable worldwide. This Four Star Canada Select property offers Free Hot Breakfast Buffet, Free Parking, Free Wireless and Hardwired internet, Games Room, Saltwater Pool, Hot Tub, Exercise Facilities, Conference Facilities and the Lakeside Grill. We complete the experience with a resident Chocolate Lab named Cocoa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Chocolate Lake Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Halifax
Halifax Best Western
BEST WESTERN PLUS Chocolate Lake Hotel Halifax, Nova Scotia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Chocolate Lake Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.