We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Far MORE Than We Expected” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Halifax Downtown

Save Saved
You added Courtyard Halifax Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard Halifax Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5120 Salter Street, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3J 0A1, Canada (Downtown Halifax)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #6 of 29 hotels in Halifax
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Far MORE Than We Expected”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

This hotel just about has it all.

PROS: First: LOCATION! Practically sits centrally on the boardwalk. Staff is friendly and accommodating. Safe neighborhood. Wonderful views. Rooms are large, clean and have a new feel. Our front corner room on the third floor had a huge window. Beds comfortable with choice of pillow firmness. Towels thicker than average. Water pressure great and hot. Free coffee all day and night. Free baked goods starting in the afternoon. Breakfast served in the hotel (not free, but choice of menu ((fairly priced)) or buffet). Offers all the amenities. Has a bar. Enough elevators so you rarely have to wait. Look-out deck accessed on third floor and a GREAT rooftop deck with chairs. Parking not free, but there is no hassle in you finding a safe place to park somewhere in a city. A young fellow whisks it away and returns it to you with little to no wait. (You can request your car repeatedly throughout the day with no extra charges.) Children's playground on the boardwalk right across the street. Many restaurants and shopping within short walking distance. High rated dinner restaurant on site and right next door. Citadel is three or four streets straight up the hill. Tourist information center two blocks away. Sits on low-traffic, low-noise street.

SEMI-CONS: You can easily miss the narrow/short/tunnel-like entrance/drive on Salter Street. It sort of is "just there" before you know it. (One car length and you have passed it.) Because of the many one-way streets, you will have to circle around through the city again since you cannot make a right turn at the end of Salter and enter the courtyard from the other angle. (Tip: Once on Salter, turn on righthand turning signal and REALLY start slowing halfway down. Hotel entrance sits on the right.)

CONS: TV worked fine, but is dated.

All of that said, we would definitely stay at this hotel again. It is a wonderful in-city hotel that has accessibility to practically everything.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have a scenic view and they face a quiet street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    199
    95
    24
    4
    6
See reviews for
76
106
26
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

The hotel is across the street from the harbour, next to Alexander Keith's Brewery with a great pub, Red Stag, and near Bishops Landing! The hotel is nice, has great beds, and all the amenities of home!

Room Tip: Third floor has some rooms with balconies that are a very nice addition!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Stayed for 4 nights during a recent business trip. Room was very good, nicely laid out, clean and comfortable. Staff were excellent, and extremely helpful in sorting out a booking snafu that had two colleagues booked into the Marriott Waterfront.

Location is ideal for restaurants, the waterfront, and many downtown business addresses. Very pleased with my stay and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westwood, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

One of the best Courtyards I've stayed at overall. Great location and a real bonus is the 8th floor terrace. The staff was very friendly and our car was always waiting for us when we called. Rooms are standard Courtyards.

Room Tip: Ask for a room closer to the Harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

The location can't be beat - right across from the waterfront in Halifax. The hotel itself is modern and spotless, the rooms are not huge but the beds were comfortable. The lounge was great for a late night snack. The front desk staff was very helpful with restaurant recommendations and they even have a laundry room for guests to use. I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traverse City, Michigan
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The Marriott Courtyard is conveniently located just a block from the waterfront, in a fairly quiet setting in the middle of the harborfront activities. Although the Courtyard is not a full-service hotel like the Marriott Harborfront Hotel down the street, there is a small restaurant off the lobby. There is no breakfast automatically included with the room. This latter fact makes the Marriott Residence Inn more attractive in that regard, especially if you have a family to feed (BUT, the Marriott Residence Inn has noise issues on the weekends because of the surrounding bistros). The nicely-decorated lobby of the Courtyard has artifacts from archeological digs from early Halifax in glass cases, which are instructive and are nice to show the kids. My only issue with the Courtyard is the size of the laundry room: It is too small to fit two people comfortably, and has only one washer and one dryer, which are too few for the number of guest rooms.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We stayed at the Harbourfront on a previous trip and we thought we'd give the Courtyard a try. Whilst we were not disappointed, there were a few 'niggles' with the hotel. Firstly the staff - they ranged from the absolutely outstanding (Rose) to staff members who passed insults whilst travelling the lift (we did fed back to management at the time which we hope will be acted upon). The rooms themselves were very comfortable, clean and just what was needed after a long journey however they are prone to the occasional road noise. Food on the whole was good however we felt the public areas were a little confused (just our opinion). It is an EXCELLENT location and central to everything - a definite plus.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave P, Manager at Courtyard Halifax Downtown, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Hello J&LSwindon, thank you for taking the time to provide us with this feedback. Rose is truly a delight to have around. She brings a great energy to the team. I will be sure to pass along these wonderful comments on her.

In regards to the staff with the inappropriate elevator behaviour. I am a bit shocked and surprised you were a witness to this. It's not the Marriott way or how we act in the Maritimes. I know the Management is aware and this has been addressed. We are truly sorry for this experience.

Overall I am happy to see you enjoyed your time here. I do hope you continue to choose Marriott as your home away from home while on the road!

Cheers
Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Courtyard Halifax Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Halifax Downtown

Address: 5120 Salter Street, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3J 0A1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Regional Municipality > Halifax > Downtown Halifax , South End
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Halifax
#5 Romantic Hotel in Halifax
#5 Business Hotel in Halifax
#5 Family Hotel in Halifax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Halifax Downtown 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether your visit to Halifax is all business or just for fun, your stay at the Courtyard Halifax Downtown hotel puts you in the midst of all that Halifax has to offer. Located at The Brewery Square the hotel offers a view of the gorgeous Halifax harbour. The hotel is located within minutes of business, meeting and conference facilities and is within steps of popular Halifax attractions, shopping, restaurants, museums, theatre and more.As Halifax bustles along outside, through our hotel doors you are welcomed with first-class hotel services and amenities. Our spacious guest rooms feature complimentary wireless high-speed Internet. Our fireside lounge, incredible restaurants, 24-hour fitness centre and indoor heated pool add to your enjoyment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Marriott, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Courtyard Halifax Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Halifax Downtown Hotel Halifax
Halifax Courtyard
Courtyard Halifax Downtown Nova Scotia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard Halifax Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.