We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding on the rooftop!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Halifax Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Halifax Downtown to your Saves list
Residence Inn Halifax Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1599 Grafton St., Halifax, Nova Scotia B3J 2C3 , Canada (Downtown Halifax)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #15 of 29 Hotels in Halifax
Dartmouth, Canada
1 review
“Wedding on the rooftop!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

On May 5th we were lucky enough to have our wedding on the rooftop of the Residence Inn by Mariott Halifax Downtown! It is a beautiful and private spot with ocean views and played a big part in making our day so special. The staff and service was exceptional, and the rooms are beautiful!!! The hotel is very clean and newly renovated. I would highly recommend this hotel for overnight accomadations, and a wedding venue. Thank you!!!!"

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    82
    24
    8
    10
See reviews for
53
72
14
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bloomsburg, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

This hotel had almost everything I needed for my business trip: great location, excellent staff, very clean, great high-speed internet, and a decent breakfast buffet. No serious complaints. Only thing I would change: no business center, but there's a computer in the lobby where you can print small jobs to the printer at the front desk (first 10 pages are free - not great, but enough to get your boarding pass or a small document).

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glace Bay, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

Yes, the room was nice, liked the breakfast . None of it mattered much because when we arrived at 1 a.m . and,after being assured we could park at the hotel, we had to find a parking lot in downtown Halifax on our own. That ruined our weekend. Had we been told we MAY not have parking available, we could have had at least a heads up on finding our own but we were assured........We had stayed at the Delta Halifax 2 weeks previously and we had our vehicle parked for us. We were told we WOULD have parking at the Residence Inn . We will be back to Halifax soon, but not staying at the Residence Inn. Do you know how stressful parking is in Halifax, let alone at 1 A.M.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, PEI
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

Excellent hotel.Quiet-roomy-very clean-friendly staff-great breakfast-secure and clean underground parking.Free wireless internet.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

Stayed for 1 night and found the hotel overall to be an adequate place to stay. I picked the Residence Inn as I was staying with my husband and tweenager so we wanted more space than just a standard room. I forgot to take photos, however, the photos on website and provided by management on TA are accurate.

I stayed in a one bed suite, king in bedroom, sofa bed in LR. Room was super clean, pleasant and inviting. I likes the fact that there was a desk AND a table in the living room. The bedroom was small but adequate, the washroom is accessible from the bedroom only and sink area is outside of the bathroom itself which is a pro for some but a con for others. (I wake early and have to disturb my sleeping husband to brush my teeth) There was a regular door between LR and BR.

The king bed is comfy enough- not like a regular Marroitt bed,but good enough.No super soft pillow top but good and firm. Triple sheets, no bedspread- I like that. My daughter reported that the sofa bed was not one of the best, but it was OK.

There was a small amount of street noise, but it wasn't too bad. The hotel is near the pubs, so I might be leery of staying on a week end night as I would assume it would be noisy.

The parking under the hotel was good, you have an assigned spot and need your key to open the door, so I felt it was really safe and secure. Spots were a bit snug.

I really liked the workout room. There was a lot of space for using a mat and exercise ball. Also, they have the 1,3, and 5 pound girly weights, which I appreciated. There were also treadmill, bike, eliptical, weight benches, and a full set of regular free weights. All of the cardio machines had their own TV which you could plug into with you headphones.

The breakfast was typical Residence Inn which I like. Waffle maker, continental stuff, as well as scrambled eggs and a breakfast meat and potato.

All of the staff were friendly and helpful, the small convenience food shop in the lobby was unusually well stocked, compared to what I have seen at other places.

Overall, its a good spot in the city if you want a larger space or kitchen facilities. Although we didn't use the kitchen, the dishes came in handy for snacks/drinks and the kitchen was well equipped for cooking.

I would stay again.

Tip: the icemaker was on in the freezer and dumped a tray of ice in the late evening. The noise made us all jump! I would suggest checking its in the off position before bed time!

Room Tip: I'm not sure if there are interior rooms, ours faces the harbor which was a nice view but there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

Booked hotel through Priceline for my birthday. Upon arrival at hotel, I asked if I could be upgraded because of it being my birthday, but they don't allow that. The front desk clerk did give me "free" parking, however. Then in the morning, the bill is under my door for the $25 parking fee and already been charged to my cc. Thanks Residence Inn.

Also, a friend of mine stopped by while we were out for dinner to drop off a gift to be left in the room. The gift was not in my room when I returned to the hotel, so clearly they put it in someone else's room. Thanks Residence Inn.

Location very central to downtown, but if that's not your scene, dont bother with this place.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

What a great hotel! Nestled in the heart of downtown Halifax on the corner of Grafton and Sackville St. equi-distant between the Citadel and the Waterfront and within a block or two of many fine restaurants, pubs and the Playhouse, this Marriott family hotel is the ideal choice for your stay in beautiful Halifax. The hotel is brightly colored, very clean, and the rooms are quite comfortable with the best beds you will ever find. Couple this with a full kitchen for those with families or singles on long term stays, and you have the best of all worlds. The staff is cordial, accommodating and very friendly, be they the front desk associates or the housekeeping personnel. The hotel offers a morning hot breakfast, and the attendants for that are just great. I was there for four weeks just recently and got to know practically everyone by name. And, if you don't find what you want, just call on Angela, the General Manager, and she will take care of it in a bright, cheerful way.
If you are looking for the best in Halifax, go to the best - the Residence Inn Halifax Downtown. Take it form me and 14 of my colleagues who spent four weeks there, you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: While all rooms have a full kitchen, most do not have an oven. Rooms with an oven are available on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Halifax Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Halifax Downtown

Address: 1599 Grafton St., Halifax, Nova Scotia B3J 2C3 , Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Halifax > Downtown Halifax , South End
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Halifax
#11 Romantic Hotel in Halifax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Halifax Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Residence Inn Halifax Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Halifax Downtown Hotel Halifax
Halifax Residence Inn
Residence Inn Halifax Downtown Nova Scotia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Halifax Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.