We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice New Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 2 Doors Down

2 Doors Down
1533 Barrington Street, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3J 1Z4, Canada
+(1)902-422-4224
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 628 Restaurants in Halifax
Cuisines: Canadian
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dartmouth, Canada
Top Contributor
211 reviews 211 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Nice New Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Halifax has LOTS of nice restaurants, so when someplace new opens I like to try it out. This place has it all. It is in an excellent location right on Barrington Street in the main section of the city. The decor is lovely, modern and very clean looking and bright with lots of windows. The food is excellent, with unique tastes and interesting mixes. Service was excellent with an attentive and knowledgeable server. I ordered the Haddock Fillet sandwich. It was served with bacon and lettuce, and an interesting relish. At first I felt it needed some mayo or tartar sauce, but the more I ate, the more I enjoyed the combination.

The restaurant is sort of a wine bar, and has an excellent selection of delicious sounding drinks. My wife tried the featured drink and enjoyed it very much. We look forward to going back and trying some more drinks and some other interesting food.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    55
    16
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good food, expensive wine”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

My friend and I checked out this place a week or so ago. The food was good; we shared the mussels (very good) to start, and then I had the mushroom burger (okay) and my friend had the buttermilk chicken (excellent). My major complaint was the pricing and size of the wine glasses. First off, the sizing is bizarre; one has a choice between a 4 oz or 8oz glass. I doubt they will sell many 4 oz, as that is way too small. A 4 0z glass ranged between $6-8, with the 8 oz double that! My 8 oz glass of wine cost more just $1 less than my entree!! In most local restaurants, glass sizing is 6 oz or 9 oz, with the 6 oz ranging from $$7-9 and 9 oz ranging from $9-11. It's a shame, because I feel that their over-priced drinks will deter potential customers. Otherwise, I feel that the service is still a little clumsy, with too many different people coming to the table interrupting the meal; yes, it's better than not enough, but they need to find the right balance there.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nova Scotia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Halifax's newest hot spot to dine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

It's easy to tell 2 Doors Down is owned by Chef Flinn of Chives, one of the best restaurants in Halifax. There's a wide selection of locally sourced items on the menu, attentive staff, and imaginative decor. We stopped in on a whim as we'd heard it was open. We were able to snag a table for two before it totally filled up. Seating is first come, first served. I started with a very nice spinach salad with candied pecans and apple. K had the mushrooms with smoked ricotta bruschetta. Great mix of flavours and textures. For our mains, K had the special which was an Irish pot pie (pie in the sky) with braised lamb shank. Very tender and served piping hot as the pot pies are made to order. I had the pork chop with asparagus and mac & cheese. The mac & cheese is breaded and flash fried, so it looks almost like a small loaf of polenta on the plate. This dish is worth it just for the mac & cheese, but the whole dish is excellent.
If you check in on Foursquare or Facebook while there and tell them, you get a very tasty chocolate chip cookie as a small reward when you finish dinner.
We truly enjoyed 2 Doors Down and will be back soon.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corner Brook, Canada
2 reviews
“Good!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Visited 2 Doors Down with 4 friends this past weekend. Service seemed pretty good, drinks were served fairly quickly, even though it was very busy there. My meal was very tasty. I had the vegetarian pasta with the smoked tofu - delicious! A friend ordered the halibut and really enjoyed that as well. The Caesar salad was also very popular at my table and thoroughly enjoyed. The only complaint was that the mussels were under-cooked in a friend's meal, but other than that, excellent experience! Overall, classy, quality food at a decent price.. nice atmosphere as well. I would definitely recommend and would take my friends there!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 2 Doors Down also viewed

Halifax, Halifax Region
Halifax, Halifax Region
 
Halifax, Halifax Region
Halifax, Halifax Region
 

Been to 2 Doors Down? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 2 Doors Down, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.