We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good service and above average food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tempo Food + Drink

Tempo Food + Drink
1875 Barrington Street, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3J 3L6, Canada
902-428-3676
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #105 of 583 Restaurants in Halifax
Price range: $12 - $30
Cuisines: Bar, Coffee Shop, Contemporary, Vegan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Tempo Food + Drink is a contemporary, urban open kitchen eatery situated street side on the busiest corner in Halifax. Tempo offers locally inspired comfort food with a twist morning, noon, and night. The convenient Grab + Go section takes the guess work out of your brown bag lunch decisions and fills the morning emptiness with its made from scratch all natural products! Something fun, funky and fresh for everyone. Great wines by the glass and inspired cocktails are dished up by schooled mixologists in a hip and trendy lounge, making it a great place to end your day or start your night.
Grand Cayman
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Very good service and above average food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Not sure initially as I considered it to be a "hotel restaurant" attached to the Delta Barrington, but was pleasantly surprised, not an extensive menu but healthy eating options and the service was very good. They didn't have a "cheese plate " on the menu but within 15 minutes they produced a great selection and went over and beyond what I expected. Definitely be back again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarbourCityGrill, Manager at Tempo Food + Drink, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Thanks for the great feedback! Yup, we do have cheese, so we will make you a cheese plate if you so desire. "Our kitchen is your kitchen."
Come see us again if you're back in town. We're always trying new things, and you may wish to join us!
Jen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    27
    13
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Good but not great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

I have had lunch at Tempo twice since it opened and have yet to be wow-ed. The look and service is very good but the food needs to be a little more distinctive to get a higher rating. Presentation on the plate is fine but the food itself only average. It's a bit expensive for frequent dining unless it can be expensed. I'd like to see some more experimentation.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarbourCityGrill, Manager at Tempo Food + Drink, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Hello "Wanderingman" and thank you for your input.
While we are not trying to re-invent the wheel, we certainly don't wish to be seen as "average".
In the end though, we DO want all of our guests to leave happy and feeling like they received good value for their money. I think for the better part, we have accomplished this, but we take all guest commentary seriously and will put yours to use as we consider some new menu options.
:)
Jen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great as always ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

Since the opening, I have dined here many times. Mostly over lunch but on occasion in the evening and always find the service great and food most enjoyable. Somewhat limited menu but I have yet to be disappointed. Would recommend

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very impressed!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014 via mobile

Visited with friends and enjoyed the mussels and dips of the day, both were very delicious! The staff were also very friendly and welcoming!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“2 Thumbs WAY WAY up!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

I visited Tempo Food and Drink (Delta Barrington Hotel), this morning for breakfast. As a Chef I would like to say that this is hands down, the best place for breakfast in the city. The atmosphere looking out thru the windows on to Barrington St is awesome. My server was Tracy, she was very polite and pleasant and provided me with exceptional service. I had the Hot Tempo breakfast (eggs, sausage, ham, crispy hash browns toast and juice). All the ingredients are local. Vance was the man in the kitchen this morning and my over easy eggs were perfect, all my food was hot and the presentation rocked. It's a little more expensive than some of the other places downtown but for the quality of food, the service and the atmosphere ~ it's a great deal. Can't wait to come back to try the lunch and again for supper. Great job!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tempo Food + Drink also viewed

Halifax, Halifax Region
 
Halifax, Halifax Region
Halifax, Halifax Region
 

Been to Tempo Food + Drink? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tempo Food + Drink, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.