We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Exactly What I Expected” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Halifax Seaport Farmer's Market

Halifax Seaport Farmer's Market
1209 Marginal Road, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3H 4P8, Canada
+1 902-492-4043
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 118 things to do in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Halifax Farmers' Market was created by Royal Proclamation in June of 1750, a year after the founding of Halifax. The Governor and Council designated a site for the Market - the present day Bank of Montreal building. For 50 years this flesh, meat or cattle market, as it was known, sold produce as well as livestock delivered from Acadian farms in the Annapolis Valley and from local farm production. In 1848 the City of Halifax was incorporated and the original City Charter conveyed the Country Market property to the city "for the public and common benefit and use of the City of Halifax according to the true interest and meaning of the original grant." The Market has operated in several locations across the city since its inception in 1750, but moved to the Halifax Seaport in 2010 where it is now known as the Halifax Seaport Farmers' Market - the longest continuously running Market in North America and proudly hosting over 250 vendors! Halifax Seaport The Halifax Seaport is a vibrant arts and cultural district found at the south end of the Halifax waterfront. Extending from Piers 19 to 23, you will find artisans, retailers, cruise terminals, event facilities, cafes, galleries, offices, a museum, a university and the Halifax Seaport Farmers' Market. This district has been redeveloped to showcase local talent and is now a popular destination for locals and visitors alike.
Roanoke, Texas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Not Exactly What I Expected”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

I have been to several farmer's markets. This market was not quite what I expected. There were more merchants with crafts and 'food truck' types of places than an actual market place to buy fresh foods. There were a few places to buy fresh items -- like cheese. The chocolate place inside the farmer's market was very good -- well worth the money and a stop.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    61
    21
    8
    4
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Lovely Saturday morning”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

The market was bustling when we went. There was a huge variety of fresh, local produce, lots of homemade food and many, many artisans. Live music and sunshine streaming in added to the ambiance. Highly, highly recommend the cinnamon rolls at Mary's Bread Basket, and the gelato at Fox Hill. The piña colada may be the best I have ever had. Everyone was patient and kind with our browsing, and ready to offer details on how their wares are made. It was a perfect outing on a Saturday morning.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Top Contributor
357 reviews 357 reviews
173 attraction reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
166 helpful votes 166 helpful votes
“Nice way to spend an hour”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

It is really only open on Saturdays and Sundays, with Saturday being the busier of the 2 days. Only a couple merchants are there M-F. The Historic Farmer's Market just down the road at The Brewery Market is only open on Saturdays, so that's the day to pick if you want to visit both.

Take the elevator to the 3rd floor outdoor patio for a great view of George's Island.

If you enjoy organic food, or are just looking for something a little different than the big box grocery stores, take a trip here. There are also artisans with paintings, jewelry, cutting boards, etc. for a unique gift idea.

The merchants are friendly without doing any hard selling.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great place to visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

If you are in Halifax when the market is open, it is definitely worth a visit. There is wonderful local produce, crafts and great food to eat. You can wander along the boardwalk to see the Harbour after or see the Pier 21 museum. It was very busy with friendly people and good smells and sights to see.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York Harbor, Maine
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Halifax seaport”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

The harbor in Halifax is a beautiful place. I wish I had had more time to see and venture more of this fabulous city. There are plenty of places to eat, lots to see ie; maritime museums, breweries, the ships docked alongside the harbor. The farmer's market sells everything-- and has a really nice chocolate store. Everything from fish to art. So clean and refreshing is all I have to say. The friendliest people I have come across in my travels as well. I will be back.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Halifax Seaport Farmer's Market also viewed

Halifax, Halifax Region
 
Halifax, Halifax Region
 

Been to Halifax Seaport Farmer's Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Halifax Seaport Farmer's Market, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.