We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wet day enlivened by hot chocolate!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Choco Cafe & Chocolates by Design

Choco Cafe & Chocolates by Design
1360 Lower Water Street, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3J 3X2, Canada
9024078844
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #144 of 615 Restaurants in Halifax
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night
Description: Specialties: Fair Trade and Organic-Brewed Coffees, speciality coffees and teas, gourmet chocolates and chocolate fondue using our own gourmet Belgian chocolate. 15% discount for students. Chocolate tasting parties (please call to reserve). Whether you are looking for a private espresso bar party, chocolate fondue get together, coffee catering, or a full service of pastries, drinks, and chocolate tasting parties, we will be more than happy to make it happen for you. Make your reservations by contacting us at 902-407-8844 for more information.
Milton Keynes
Top Contributor
196 reviews 196 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 112 cities Reviews in 112 cities
238 helpful votes 238 helpful votes
“Wet day enlivened by hot chocolate!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014 via mobile

The day was wet. We were cold. Any port in a storm, and I saw the chocolate in the window! Only us, but free wi fi, and we both had absolutely lovely hot chocolate which set us up for the rest of the day. The gifts of chocolate looked fab too!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    8
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Easter weekend visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Amazing varieties of chocolate selection. Every one of them are delicious. Nice atmosphere and open late for chocolate cravers.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelburne, Canada
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“The BEST Belgian Chocolate”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

We were in town with 4 frineds to see Eddie Izzard and dropped by for dessert before the theatre. Carrot cake moist and delicious, chocolate squares melt in the mouth yummy the service great and as ever bought a bag of the dark chocolate buttons to make home made milk chocolate drink and add to baking [ and sneak a nibble too ]. We ordered hot chocolate and the on;y thing that stopped the 5 stars was the girl on [ not the usual guys we see when go in late ] was a little light on the chocolates so not as rich as usual - but A DEFINATE MUST to visit

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“A find on a Sunday afternoon...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We were passing through on a cruise and had walked the harbourfront and up to the fort on a hot Sunday so were seeking a small cafe for a refreshing drink - finally we stumbled across this cafe/chocolate shop.

Iced coffee (with liquid sugar - first time I'd seen this, being British!) for me and an Americano with hot milk for my hubby. Just the job and wi-fi to boot!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Ouuuuu chocolate....need I say more”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

The chocolate corner is so much fun! The selection is great and I love the colorful wrap on each one. They usually have small bags made up for an easy grab and go with each bag holding a different assortment....and not expensive. I love the idea of filling a lovely gift box with the chocolates for a thoughtful gift for someone special.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omar K K, Owner at Choco Cafe & Chocolates by Design, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Hello Lynn: thank you for your review. We are glad you loved our chocolate selection.
Hope to see you again in the very near future.
Have a wonderful day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Choco Cafe & Chocolates by Design also viewed

Halifax, Halifax Regional Municipality
Halifax, Halifax Regional Municipality
 
Halifax, Halifax Regional Municipality
Halifax, Halifax Regional Municipality
 

Been to Choco Cafe & Chocolates by Design? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Choco Cafe & Chocolates by Design, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.