We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, old-fashioned fun.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Emera Oval

Emera Oval
North Park Stree, Halifax North Common, Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
490-2347
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 60 Activities in Halifax
Type: Parks, Sports Complexes, Sports
Attraction details
Halifax, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great, old-fashioned fun.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Skating outdoors was something we did as kids on the frozen ponds around our house. This is not quite as good but brings back some great memories. We need more of these free facilities and activities to help combat the obesity epidemic!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    11
    1
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dartmouth, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Skater's dream”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

My son loves to go to the Oval to skate. I love to watch people skate each day and I think having the Oval was a wonderful idea and I hope it stays.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartmouth, Nova Scotia, Canada
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Nice to visit.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Well maintained and free to use, a good recreation option for Halifax. I like how skates are loaned for free but be aware that you might be out of luck if you have big feet. There are limited sets available in the larger sizes. The only other issue is that if you don't check the schedule first you could end up waiting for the ice maintenance for as much as an hour and a half, so look it up online http://www.halifax.ca/skatehrm/calendar/index.html or call (902) 490-2347 first.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“great surface and free skates”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

the oval is fantastic as it has a great surface, great facilities, free skates and free lessons on Saturday mornings.

the only complaint is that its in an open area so the wind can rip through and make your experience a cold one.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
36 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“great place to skate!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We've skated a few times this year and hope to get back out there before the ice is gone for the season. It's a beautiful ice surface, but make sure you go as soon as the ice is cleaned - if it says 1 pm, be there at 1 pm because the ice gets chopped after an hour of skating. Enjoy this piece of free fun in Halifax.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Emera Oval also viewed

Halifax, Halifax Regional Municipality
 
Halifax, Halifax Regional Municipality
Halifax, Halifax Regional Municipality
 

Been to Emera Oval? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Emera Oval, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.