We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Healthy Outdoor Exercise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Emera Oval

Emera Oval
North Park Stree, Halifax North Common, Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
490-2347
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 60 Activities in Halifax
Type: Parks, Sports Complexes, Sports
Attraction details
Halifax, Nova Scotia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Healthy Outdoor Exercise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

What a wonderful place to go for outdoor ice skating. Very friendly atmosphere. You can rent skates and helmets free! If hungry, try the Beaver Tails they are delicious!

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    11
    1
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Really Fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

The oval is very fun and has a awesome Beavertail stand.

WARNING watch out for the fat starling that lives under the fish and chips truck.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
“Nice free activity in Halifax for the family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

We've been to the Oval a few times with our kids and enjoy skating there. It's nice to be able to skate for free and the kids enjoy it. We also have them in skating lessons which are also free. It tends to get very busy on Saturday and Sunday afternoon and parking can be tricky. If you can suggest going during the week which should be much less busy. We live a bit outside the city but if we lived closer (within walking distance) would definitely take advantage of the facilities more often.

They have skate rentals available on site. If you have your own skates and plan to get them sharpened before going suggest dropping them off the day before at any of the retailers that sharpen skates. I went to Sportchek a few times and they were backed up with many pairs of skates to do. Good chance you'd have to wait an hour or two at least if not more.

It can get pretty cold with the wind chill on some days. It would be nice if they planted some trees to give some relief from the wind. Dress accordingly and bring mittens, hat, etc...

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great place to spend time with your friends!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

Emera Oval is located at the corner of North Park Street and Cogswell Street. It is an outdoor skating ring, skating is free for everybody!
It is open for public skate seven days a week. However, there are maintenance and school skating breaks. The skating schedule is available on their website http://www.halifax.ca/skatehrm/calendar/index.html
Skates are available for borrowing (free) (You will need to show a single piece of ID when borrowing). Hokey style skates and figure skating skates are both available. You can also borrow the helmet for your children (helmets for adults were not available at the time of our visit).
There are outdoor food courts located near the skating arena (e.g. "Fish and Chips"). They offer different kinds of fast food and hot drinks.
Those who can not skate, or would like to improve their skating skills can take skating lessons. Lessors are free of change (registration is required).

We really enjoyed our time at the Oval! It is a great place for a date, fun and interactive!

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Emera Oval also viewed

Halifax, Halifax Regional Municipality
 
Halifax, Halifax Regional Municipality
Halifax, Halifax Regional Municipality
 

Been to Emera Oval? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Emera Oval, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.