We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good reasonably priced pub food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Fickle Frog

The Fickle Frog
5675 Spring Garden Rd, Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada (Downtown Halifax)
(902) 429-9999
Improve this listing
Ranked #219 of 589 restaurants in Halifax
Cuisines: Canadian
Neighborhood: Downtown Halifax
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Downtown Halifax
Head Of Chezzetcook
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good reasonably priced pub food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

We were at the Fickle Frog on taco night and fortunately during happy hour (a winning combination). The pub also serves great burgers which were tested, as well. Overall, good value for money. Service was friendly and efficient. We would go back again.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

44% Recommend
    7
    5
    12
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ontario
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Fun People make Fun Pub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

2 steps from our Hotel, this place is great for breakfast and late night snacks. Have awesome selection of beer and drinks and a lovely setting. The staff is very nice and fast to please :)

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Top Contributor
421 reviews 421 reviews
239 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 98 cities Reviews in 98 cities
212 helpful votes 212 helpful votes
“Reasonably priced drinks”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

Went for a quick lunch. Both the food and the service were OK, but not outstanding. The drink prices were reasonable compared to other nearby eateries.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cottonwood
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good for a drink and a quick meal.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

Service was good and meal was adequate. Place could stand some clening, inside and out. Selections on menu and bar were better than expected. Easy to find on main street.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Too bad the waitress was so rude! Never again!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

Went there with my honey for their Tuesday night special: Steins and Sliders. The place was not crowded but was somewhat busy for late afternoon; the patrons there were mellow and pleasant.

When we ordered our food and drinks, I asked her what was in the sliders and she snapped back: "nothing special, they come standard". And she turned away and walked back inside, not letting me time to ask her what their "standard" is. For your information, standard is with mustard and pickled onions.

It also took her more than 15 minutes to bring our drinks - the table next to us arrived a good 10 minutes after us and she served them right away. As I said, very rude.....

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Fickle Frog also viewed

Halifax, Halifax Regional Municipality
Halifax, Halifax Regional Municipality
 
Halifax, Halifax Regional Municipality
Halifax, Halifax Regional Municipality
 

Been to The Fickle Frog? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fickle Frog, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.