We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Four Points by Sheraton Halifax

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Four Points by Sheraton Halifax to your Saves list
Four Points by Sheraton Halifax
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1496 Hollis Street, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3J 3Z1, Canada (Downtown Halifax)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #22 of 29 Hotels in Halifax
Montreal
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Tired”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

I've stayed at 4Points in other towns, and they've been fine. This place is looking a bit tired. I don't know if it was the depressing decor (brown painted doors, sickly yellow walls, dull carpet) or what, but it really needs brightening up.
Their "restaurant" is not easy to find, because it's in an adjacent mall on level 2.
Staff were pleasant.
I'll be looking for an alternative next time I'm in Halifax .... this place was just too dreary, really.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jodysampsonRDM, Front Office Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Halifax, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you for the taking the time to share your feedback with us. Having just completed renovations to update the property to the new Starwood approved design, it was unfortunate to hear that your expectations were not met.
We have just completed full guest room renovations and are currently putting the finishing touches on our rooms with new furniture and window coverings. The renovations have brought natural tones of color to the rooms, new Four Comfort beds and newly renovated washrooms.
We hope to have a chance to welcome you back to Halifax.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    183
    86
    21
    12
See reviews for
78
136
32
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Maplewood, New Jersey
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

It was actually kind of depressing to be in such a lovely place like Halifax and have to stay in such a mediocre cookie cutter hotel like this. Unfortunately this is where my team booked. The hotel was overall subpar and I can't think of any area where they met expectations. While at the same time the only place they were below expectations was in the customer service. Given the opportunity I would try not to stay there again on my next trip.

SPG Gold Member

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jodysampsonRDM, Front Office Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Halifax, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you for the taking the time to share your feedback with us. It was unfortunate to read that you did not have a memorable stay with us in Halifax.
We have just completed full guest room renovations and are currently putting the finishing touches on our rooms with new furniture and window coverings. The renovations have brought natural tones of color to the rooms, new Four Comfort beds and newly renovated washrooms.
We hope to have a chance to welcome you back to Halifax.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

I recently stayed at the Four Point in Halifax as the Westin was full and I was pleasantly surprise to find a nice and modern hotel that may lack the charm of the Westin but more than compensated for it with comfort.

I ended up getting an upgraded room which was more like a suite with a large whirlpool tub in the living room area (that I did not use). The room was very well sound proofed and I didn't hear anything coming from either adjoining rooms or the corridor during my stay. The bed was comfortable as well and although for the size of the room, the furnishing was bare and basic, it was fine for my purposes.

There is no hotel restaurant but the hotel is part of some sort of shopping center where you will find a restaurant that has nice 5-7 specials. I didn't do breakfast in the hotel but I think you can have it there as well.

The location is great being a short walking distance from the waterfront but also from most of the restaurants and bars in downtown Halifax.

Overall pleasantly surprised and will go back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jodysampsonRDM, Front Office Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Halifax, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Hi N8Fire

It was great to read about your recent stay with and the positive experience you had with our associates and hotel.
We have just completed renovations, which included remodeled washrooms, new beds, art work, flooring, wall coverings and bedding. We are excited for our guests to experience the new look and feel of the Four Points Halifax.
We are just in the process of placing all new furniture in our guest rooms as well!
We look forward to welcoming you back to Halifax!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moncton, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

This is the second time we have stayed at this hotel in three months and they have been "working on the hot tub". In November it was having new decking placed around it and now it's almost February and its still being done? As well the parking structure is now being worked on (limiting the parking) and the codes we were given to park our car didn't work for the 2 days we were there, we had to ring the front desk every time. The rooms and service however were no problems at all, they were clean and serviced though they tend to get a little loud in the later hours when a lot of the weekend traveling bar crowd get back as the walls are rather thin.

Room Tip: See if you can get a room on the inside courtyard side for the quietness.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Canada
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Having a conference in the Maritime Centre made the Four Points an easy choice since they are attached via hotel 2nd floor. With the unknown and ever-changing weather in Halifax, it was great to be able to walk indoors for a few minutes and be ready to go in the conference room. The location in town was key. Even if you don't know Halifax, if you walk in any direction you can find great restaurants. There is a 24/7 Gym, as well as a pool that closes at 11PM. The rooms are pretty standard as far as hotels go. I would recommend it for the location and the helpfulness of the staff. At the time when I stayed there was a lot of construction on Floor 2, but there was no ill effect on my stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the higher floors to avoid construction noise. Also, if the 2nd floor is available...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moncton, New Brunswick, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We love Halifax and are always looking for a good place to stay while visiting the city. We stayed there for 2 nights during Easter weekend so it wasn't very busy. We found the hotel to be very nice with friendly staff. We had a quiet comfortable sleep and everything was clean. We would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jodysampsonRDM, Front Office Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Halifax, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Hi Tanya V,

It was great to read about your recent stay with and the positive experience you had with our hotel.
We have just completed renovations, which included remodeled washrooms, new beds, art work, flooring, wall coverings and bedding. We are excited for our guests to experience the new look and feel of the Four Points Halifax.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Halifax!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
89 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

The hotel is located in downtown Halifax close by to restaurants and the waterfront. The rooms were clean and simple but a little bit dated. The beds were comfy so no complaints there. The free wi-fi worked well. From the airport I had taken the public bus ($3.25) which takes about an hour to get into town. It's about a 7-10 minute walk from where the bus drops you off to get to the hotel but it's a very straightforward walk. Overall, not a bad choice to stay in if you are in Halifax on vacation or for business.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jodysampsonRDM, Front Office Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Halifax, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Hi Gord_Mtl,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us.
We have just completed renovations which include: Newly renovated washrooms, new beds, soft seating, window treatments, flooring, and artwork. The pictures you have posted are the look of our old washrooms, we have made big changes!
We hope to see you back at the Four Points Halifax again to experience our new look!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Four Points by Sheraton Halifax? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Points by Sheraton Halifax

Address: 1496 Hollis Street, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3J 3Z1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Regional Municipality > Halifax > Downtown Halifax , South End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 29 Hotels in Halifax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Four Points by Sheraton Halifax 3.5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Four Points by Sheraton Halifax is near the Nova Scotia Sports Hall of Fame, offers over 12,000 sq ft of event space, and offers award winning catering services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Four Points by Sheraton Halifax reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Points By Sheraton Halifax
Four Points By Sheraton Halifax Hotel Halifax
Sheraton Halifax
Four Points Halifax
Halifax Sheraton
Halifax Four Points
Four Points By Sheraton Halifax Nova Scotia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Points by Sheraton Halifax, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.