We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome time” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Great E.A.R.T.H Expeditions

Great E.A.R.T.H Expeditions
Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada (Downtown Halifax)
902 223 2409
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 40 activities in Halifax
Type: Tours
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: Yes
Owner description: We invite you to join us for an eco-tourism adventure in Nova Scotia, Canada. Our eco-tourism and adventure tour company provides superior service and comfort from beginning to end. No need to waste your day planning, let Nova Scotia's #1 rated adventure travel operator do everything for you! Our small group tours ensure that your expedition with us will be the highlight of your vacation. All of our adventure travel tours include transportation, lunch and guiding services that will ensure you have a memorable expedition. We thank you for your interest in our company and we look forward to exploring Canada's Ocean Playground with you.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
sydney
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Awesome time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

We had 2 trips...the first was south shore at our door and the second day we did the Peggy's cove tour. Jesse was our guide both days. The first day there was just two of us...and even though there was technically a program for the day, Jesse was so accommodating to what we wanted to do. Lunenberg was lovely. And when Jesse pulled out the picnic made up of local produce...wow...what a surprise as we did not know lunch was included...and how refreshing...fresh garden vegetables, homemade dips, local deli meats and cheese....so good! Having had such a good day, we very much looked forward to the second tour. There were only 5 pax on day 2 and again Jesse was so accommodating. The weather let us down a bit but Jesse was very enterprising and negotiated under cover space for our picnic which was every bit as good as the previous day. Saw everything we wanted to and then some. Would absolutely recommend this company to those wanting to see Nova Scotia.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    8
    2
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Buford, Georgia
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
63 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“DO THIS TOUR”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Jesse was our guide. We watched mega buses fill up for a similar tour and were blessed that there were 5 people on ours. Jesse was very accommodating, polite and informative. We first visited a few Halifax sites, but honestly we had been to those the day before. We took a nice hike through the barrens before we got to Peggy's cove. We ate wild huckleberries and learned all sorts of interesting things from our guide. When we got to Peggy's cove, Jesse had brought a nourishing, satisfying lunch for us that we ate by the water. We had plenty of time to explore and take photos and somehow avoid the megabus people. We were not rushed. Look this company up and take the tour. We did a transCanada train trip and this was one of the best tours we took.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Tour with EARTH in Halifax”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We booked this excursion before we left on our cruise..Oct 2013. We had visited Halifax before but never got to Peggy's Cove...so we wanted to be sure to do it this time...and glad we did...
What a great time..Alec our guide was great and the scenery was fantastic...Trip included short tour of Halifax, then off to the hike portion...(THE BEST VIEWS EVER) before visit to Peggy's cove and a picnic lunch. Note: this hike though only 1 mile..is over rough terrain and some places uphill...and very narrow trail.. Had we only done Peggy's Cove ..we would have been disappointed...as the views on the hike were the highlight of our visit. Glad we did it..and recommend it !!!! Nice company to deal with...they really seem to care about their customers...

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A most excellent day!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We only had one day in Halifax (stopover off a cruise ship doing the Canada/New England itinerary) and I really wanted to get a feel for the town but yet still see the beautiful scenery the country has to offer. This tour really did it! We were able to walk off the ship and very quickly were picked up by a punctual tour guide (Jesse) in a very comfy van. It was just our family and we range in age from 46 to 75 and are fairly physically capable for our ages.
Jesse really knows his stuff! We got lots of interesting information about the country and city, geography, botany, history, commerce, shopping, cultural,....you name it. We started by going up to the Citadel with a great view of the city, then to the city park. There is a lovely coffee shop there and we just strolled the grounds and listened to Jesse and asked more questions. Then drove out of town and towards Peggy's Cove. Before Peggy's Cove, Jesse led us on an awesome hike onto the coastal barrens. We were worried it would be too much for the older among us, but we were careful and it was so worth it! Again, Jesse showed us local flora and fauna along the way and really made it interesting.
Then, we drove on to Peggy's Cove and viewed the lighthouse and shops there. Jesse prepared us a delightful and healthy lunch that we ate right there on the waterfront and just took in the ambience of the place! The drive back to the port was equally entertaining and informative. Jesse dropped us right where we wanted to be and we parted with hugs and best wishes. We all felt like we spent the day with a friend. Loved the tour and loved Halifax. Book a tour with these folks. It will be the highlight of your trip!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“an eco tour for all tastes.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We learned about GREAT earth from their great reviews on Trip Advisor and they did not disapoint.
Barry was very helpful in planning our trips and each of the 3 trips- to Lunenburg, Peggy's Cove and cape Breton was outstanding.
Tours feature hiking (and in Cape Breton kayaking birding and whale watching )as well as "seeing the sights". The guides are friendlyand knowledgeable but most of all fun. Groups are small - they never exceed 12.They are willing to change plans to meet the wishes of the group. As if this wasn't enough- they will actually cook for you!
We were able to enjoy sights that we would never have found on our own and we were given lots of time to enjoy all the places we visited.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Great E.A.R.T.H Expeditions also viewed

Halifax, Halifax Regional Municipality
Halifax, Halifax Regional Municipality
 
Halifax, Halifax Regional Municipality
Halifax, Halifax Regional Municipality
 

Been to Great E.A.R.T.H Expeditions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Great E.A.R.T.H Expeditions, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Great E.A.R.T.H Expeditions to your Saves list