We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coastal Inn Halifax

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Coastal Inn Halifax to your Saves list
Coastal Inn Halifax
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   98 Chain Lake Drive, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3S1A2, Canada (Formerly Lakeview Inn & Suites Halifax (Bayers Lake / Exhibition Park Partner))   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 29 Hotels in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Lovely”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2015

I wrote many reviews of this site when it was Lakeview Inn, and I'll write the same type of review now its Coastal Inn. The name has changed, but the staff, food and rooms are the same! Friendly staff, great room prices, delicious continental breakfast and clean rooms, pool and grounds. Will be back soon. Always feel very comfortable and at home here. Thanks to Tara and staff for a great weekend away!

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    3
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
5
7
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fort Saint John, British Columbia, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2015

Spent the night here before catching a flight early in the morning. Wasn't too bad of a stay but not spectacular or anything. Although we had an early flight and breakfast was not exactly suppose to start yet the front desk staff began to put things together so we were able to eat something; very nice of them.
I happened to purchase a book and accidentally left it on the bed side table. Staff found the book however they could not mail it out to me (with me paying of course) I was kind of disappointed, but oh well these things happen.
Over all pretty good! worth your money!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoastalHalifaxGM, General Manager at Coastal Inn Halifax, responded to this review, January 14, 2015
Hi Karly Raek,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor with regards to your stay with us. We appreciate all comments our guests may have and pleased our staff was starting to get our breakfast out so you could eat something before heading out to the airport.

We are glad you were pleased with your stay and hope to see you if you ever visit our beautiful city again in the future.

Kimberly Clarke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belleville, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2014

We stayed down there in Aug for a week and we could not believe how much the staff care about us. Ever morning there was always a great smile and hello. Breakfast was great, always hot. The waffles were my favorite. Kimberley the Manager went out of her way one day for me in true down east fashion.So thanks again Kimberley. The girls that work for Coastal Inn should be very proud of themselves as every day our room was always clean and tidy and one girl was extremely nice and even sent time with our dogs and play with them and gave them a treat and even offered to take them out on her break time She will be in our hearts always. Front desk people were always there to talk too and help anytime of day or night. We are planning to come very shortly again This Hotel will always will give you the True meaning off down east friendliness Thanks Everyone.

Room Tip: There all nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoastalHalifaxGM, General Manager at Coastal Inn Halifax, responded to this review, December 18, 2014
Hi Susan A.

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor with regards to your stay with us in August. We appreciate all feedback from our guests and very glad to see you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for mentioning how clean your room was each day and how attentive our staff was at making sure you had everything you required. It truly was our pleasure!

It’s true, we like our “four-legged” guests just as much and so happy to see one of our team members spent time to play with your dogs and offer to take them for a walk on their break.

We are very pleased you enjoyed our “Authentic Maritime Hospitality” and I will definitely be sharing your comments with all our team.

Again Susan, thank you for all your kind words We look forward to seeing you again in the future if you ever visit our beautiful city again.

Kimberly Clarke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2014

Just because the name changed doesn't mean anything changed. Tara & staff are still the friendly, accommodating and polite people they always have been for years here. New owners should be happy with the gems they inherited with buying this place. Can't wait to visit Halifax and stay there again!

Thx for a great stay!!!

  • Stayed November 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoastalHalifaxGM, General Manager at Coastal Inn Halifax, responded to this review, November 14, 2014
Hi Fiteflybug,

Thank you for your taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor with regards to your recent stay with us. We appreciate your comments on the friendliness of our staff and especially that you find our hotel to be your home away from home. We are glad you haven’t found any changes except that of our name and happy you had another great stay with us!

We will make sure to share your comments with Tara and the rest of our team and we look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Halifax.

Thank you

Kimberly Clarke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Colborne, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2014

Loved the hotel. One of the Top stays on our east coast trip. It was clean, modern, and spacious. If ever back again will automatically choose this hotel again. We would have stayed in one of their other locations but discovered them too late in our trip.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoastalHalifaxGM, General Manager at Coastal Inn Halifax, responded to this review, September 22, 2014
Hi Mike C,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor with regards to your stay with us in July. We appreciate you mentioning your stay with us was one of the top ones throughout your travels here on the east coast. That means a lot to us and we are so glad we met your expectations and certainly hope to see you again on your next trip to the East!

We will be sure to share your comments with our team and hope you have a wonderful remainder of the year!

Kimberly Clarke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2014

I liked the place and the beds were nice and the sleep was restful, when we checked in the first night. There was great service and people were friendly.

However, we checked out and checked in again. The second night we got the same room, however, I found my partner's hair on the sheets, the bathmat was still wet from the night before, and the water glass was cracked. I question their hygienic standards, I would just check ed the sheets over a second time. It was apart from that a very restful stay close to the highway and on the way to many other destinations around the HRM.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoastalHalifaxGM, General Manager at Coastal Inn Halifax, responded to this review, September 8, 2014
Hi aserendipitygal,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor with regards to your recent stay with us!

We are pleased you had a restful stay with us and found our staff to be friendly with great service. We are also please you found our location to be ideal when visiting the areas of interest.

I do apologize for the second night with the items you found upon re-check in and have brought this to the attention of our housekeeping staff as this is not a normal practice for us so thank you for bringing this to our attention.

Again, thank you for your comments and hope to see you again in the near future.

Kimberly Clarke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Brunswick
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

Like i said in the title, the place was clean, beds were nice and comfy. large LCD tv on the wall but the cable was not HD so kind of a let down, but not there to watch TV anyways. Can watch HD at home.

Friendly staff.

Ask for a room on the back side of the property away from the highway as it can get noisy with truck traffic.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool are quieter than those facing the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoastalHalifaxGM, General Manager at Coastal Inn Halifax, responded to this review, September 8, 2014
Hi Freddybeach 313

Thank you for your reviews on Trip Advisor with regards to your recent stay with us. Your kind comments with regards to the cleanliness of the rooms, friendly staff and the 42” Flat screen are much appreciated. We will be sure to share them with our team.

Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you the next time you visit Halifax.

Kimberly Clarke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Coastal Inn Halifax? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coastal Inn Halifax

Address: 98 Chain Lake Drive, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3S1A2, Canada (Formerly Lakeview Inn & Suites Halifax (Bayers Lake / Exhibition Park Partner))
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Halifax
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 29 Hotels in Halifax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Coastal Inn Halifax 2*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traveling on business or with family, we offer the perfect blend of casual charm and the comforts of home. Guests love the blend of comfort and convenience of our spacious guest rooms and two room suites, free Coastal Plus breakfast, free wireless internet service, free movies, free local calls and morning newspapers, indoor pool, exercise room and outdoor patio provide all you need to make your stay exceptional, and at a price you can appreciate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Coastal Inn Halifax reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakeview Inn & Suites Halifax (Bayers Lake / Exhibition Park Partner) Hotel
Lakeview Inn And Suites Halifax (Bayers Lake / Exhibition Park Partner)
Lakeview Hotel Halifax
Coastal Inn Halifax Nova Scotia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coastal Inn Halifax, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.