We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Virginia Kinfolks Bed & Breakfast

Virginia Kinfolks Bed & Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Halifax
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Virginia Kinfolks Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added Virginia Kinfolks Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
1722 Robie Street, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3H 3E8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 27 Halifax B&B and Inns
san francisco
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Avoid”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2007

Walking into this B&B we were greeted with somewhat musty environs. After being booked into our overstuffed (too many trinkets) room and settling in we decided to take a look around town. Upon our return and upon opening the door to our room we found two of the owners within our room contimplating moving our belongings... As it turned out they had put us in the wrong room and now we had to move everything, quickly. - Breakfasts consisted of oatmeal, watery eggs, and undercooked bacon, and this never changed. Portions were small, but that was ok I suppose as the quality was of such concern. Overall perhaps the poorist B&B I have been to in Canada and although quoted $127/night we were charged $139 plus taxes - terribly expensive for what was offered. The first and I hope last bad B&B experience we have had in Canada. We recomend looking elsewhere when coming to Halifax.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    2
    0
    2
    17
See reviews for
5
7
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
CT
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2007

Upon reading the review in the "doers and dreamers guide" for Nova Scotia and seeing the 4+ stars I was convinced (the book NEVER led me wrong before) that this place was too good to be true! As soon as I walked onto the front porch I had a VERY BAD VIBE! The indoor/outdoor carpet in the porch was growing moss and small mushrooms and hadn't seen a broom in months. Walking in the front door I walked into what I felt was the feeling of walking into an unkept funeral parlour. The furnishing were old and ragged and not to mention dirty. A glass coffee table was covered in crumbs and weeks of sticky film from soda or something. The breakfast room hadn't seen a vaccuum in months. The breakfast bar where the toaster sat was filthy with toast and cereal crumbs. The room we booked....ugh. A kingsided round bed with a ripped dust ruffle, musty sheets and 2 robes (unmatching and extremely worn 1984 perhaps) where laid out. The room was completely over-crowded with decor. The bath was on the other side of the hall and filthy the shower nozzle was broken (the host had to leave to get a part to fix it).
The overall smell was musty and the atmosphere dark and dank. I REALLY hope that the Canadian Health board will visit here and the Doers and Dreamers guide will re-rate this B&B. After the whole ordeal....we paid and NEVER stayed.!!!!!

  • Liked — leaving it
  • Disliked — arriving and paying for it
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montréal
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2007

This B&B was rated 4* in the Doers and Dreamers guide book of Nova Scotia. It certainly does not meet those standards! The room was dirty, and completely overcrowed with all sorts of decorations. The bathroom did not even have a proper door (a closet door with slats). The owner just sold the B&B but was still managing the property; she kept making negative comments about the incoming owners. It was quite a terrible experience sitting at the breakfast table and listening to this woman ramble on about the woes of moving and the incompetence of the new owners. Not a very friendly environment.

Stayed May 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new-Brunswick
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2007

Being rated 4.5*, however priced raisonably compared to others around, I did not expect luxury but I did expect to stay in a well kept, clean place with a decent breakfast, full country breakfast they advertize...it did change owners a week before we came, I must say.
The room was very dirty, the beds themselves were clean, the rest was extremely run down: the jaccuzi bath was very dirty, the accomodation basket used, curtains in ruin and the balcony very shaky, we decided it was safer to abstain...
Breakfast was equally deceiving, microwave eggs, a bit of bacon and we had to make our toast from noname bread in plastic bag...and by the way, Tang does not qualify as orange juice...
It is too bad as the house itself got lots of potential, all it would need is a good cleanup and a minimum of attention from the keepers, one presented himself then disapeared to his 2nd job, the other one never even bothered to present himself, I assume he was in charge since he was in the kitchen...

  • Liked — location, structure of building
  • Disliked — dirty, no interaction!
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AUSTIN
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2006

This B&B was disappointing--room was very dark and crowded. There was so much stuff--knik knaks, pictures, mirrors, pillows on all surfaces--no place to put them when using the bed & no place for luggage. Room was dark--only window was door to balcony. Bathroom had dusty trunk and old towels in it; dusty basket with dusty shampoo bottles; need some housekeeping--hard to clean with SO much stuff. Breakfasts were mediocre at best--reused fruit and cakes for two days we were there--not fresh; fruit was starting to turn. I would not recommend.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2006

I was very pleased.

Food at breakfasts. lots. filling. i enjoyed the big selection and variety. I stayed for a week!

Quiet at night and slept well. Would return. Nice hostess.

  • Stayed February 2004
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2005

Why are B&Bs so much more interesting than hotels? In this case it's about excellent accommodation, really warm and friendly 'folks' who couldn't have been more helpful! Thanks Lucy for sharing your beautiful home and making Beck and myself so welcome! Ron

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Virginia Kinfolks Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Virginia Kinfolks Bed & Breakfast

Address: 1722 Robie Street, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3H 3E8, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Halifax
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Halifax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Virginia Kinfolks Bed & Breakfast Halifax, Nova Scotia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Virginia Kinfolks Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.