We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed our stay at Lord Nelson” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1515 South Park Street, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3J 2L2, Canada (Downtown Halifax)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 29 Hotels in Halifax
Canada
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our stay at Lord Nelson”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2009

We stayed here for 2 nights and had a great stay. Our room was on the 9th floor and very clean and spacious. Staff were friendly and helpful. The location is great as all the restaurants, stores, coffee shops, etc are just around the corner. It's also close to downtown. The elevators are small and there's a fee for parking. Everything else was good. I would return for a visit here.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

600 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    227
    78
    34
    27
See reviews for
104
182
52
161
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Breton Island, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2009

My boyfriend and I were passing through Halifax while moving me to Cape Breton, and we stayed at the Lord Nelson for one night. It was a bit expensive ($183 incl tax for the room, parking and breakfast), but it's a local business and is in a good location, so we thought we'd splurge after camping. The room was a bit small after experiencing the bigger hotel chains, but it was all we needed. The place was clean, with Aveda products in the bathroom. There was no fridge in the room, so we hunted down an ice machine to chill the wine we had picked up in New Brunswick.

I'd heard that there are some noise issues from various reviews, so I requested a quieter room. We were assigned a room on the top floor (9th) facing the street and public gardens - there was some traffic noise, but nothing bothersome. They don't appear to have AC in the lobby or hallways, so it was a bit sticky given the heat wave at the time, but the units in the rooms were quite effective and drowned out any residual street noise.

Downtown was a 7-minute walk downhill, with most major banks and some useful stores along the way - Running Room, Shopper's Drug Mart, Subway, McDonald's, Booster Juice, an Aveda salon and some pubs/clothing shops. Citadel Hill is just around the corner, on the other side of the public gardens.

The continental breakfast was standard fare, if a little fancier - various-grained baguettes, fresh-cut fruits, individual jam jars (from California for some reason), deli ham, a variety of cheeses including some I'd never heard of, cereals and yogurts. Underground parking was spacious and easily accessible. The staff was friendly and courteous. I'd come back, when I have a steadier job!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2009

I had to write in and tell you about an amazing hotel I experienced last month in Halifax . I went to school in Halifax years ago and remembered staying at the Lord Nelson back then. Wow what a change . The whole hotel has been transformed and it is in such a great location. Paul McCartney had just stayed in their presidential suite so the buzz was still in the air. I just had to write in because I usually stay at a chain hotel that I find on line and because of points but had never thought of staying at the Lord Nelson. I am really glad I did. It reminds me of The Royal York in Toronto.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
massachusetts
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2009

My family stayed for 2 nights at the Lord Nelson and enjoyed our stay immensely. We could walk to all the major attractions and were given excellent advice by the staff for restaurants. The beds were so comfortable and the room beautifully appointed. My children loved seeing the stylish mezzanine and loved people-watching down below in the elegant lobby.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kayakattack
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2009

i checked in for a weekend away. The front desk agents were awesome. Its a hip crowd and the upgraded design is so fantastic!! the rooms are fresh and comfortable and the cleanliness was amazing. Recommend it to anyone !

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2009

This hotel was centrally located...Close to the shops along Spring Garden Road, the Public Gardens, the famous "Pizza Corner", the Citadel, Dalhousie University. It's a bit of a walk to the waterfront but still feasible. I stayed in a room on the top floor and made use of the free wireless internet. My stay also included complimentary breakfast buffet, which is located on the mezannine level. The breakfast offered a wide assortment of baked goods, fresh fruit, toasts/bagels, cheese plate and endless supply ofjuice/coffee/tea. (I believe the breakfast normally costs $12). I also dined in the Victory Arms pub one evening and the food was pretty good. The gym is tiny. You're better off going to the YMCA, which is located next door. I have a YMCA membership anyway but I think guests can ask for passes at the front desk.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga,ON
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2009

Went for a weekend wedding and needed something near the venue. What a great location!!!!! My spouse and I were able to walk to all the tourist attractions. We walk at a reasonable pace and it only took us about 10-15 minutes max to reach the harbourfront. Strolling along the harbourfront is really nice and ,without getting tired, we strolled from Pier 21 down to the Casino stopping along the way at all the various historical points of interest (my hubbie likes to read any plaque that's around). No worries either about choice of restaurants & coffee shops- all again literally around the corner from the hotel.
Room was on the small side (who stays in their rooms on vacation anyway?), clean, and the staff were friendly & helpful.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites

Address: 1515 South Park Street, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3J 2L2, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Regional Municipality > Halifax > Downtown Halifax , South End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Halifax
#10 Romantic Hotel in Halifax
#14 Business Hotel in Halifax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally built in October 1928, the Lord Nelson Hotel is a legendary landmark in downtown Halifax located at the corner of Spring Garden Road and South Park Street across from the beautiful Public Gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lord Nelson Hotel Halifax
The Lord Nelson Hotel And Suites
Lord Nelson Halifax
The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites Halifax, Nova Scotia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.