We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of my favourite hotels” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1515 South Park Street, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3J 2L2, Canada (Downtown Halifax)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 29 Hotels in Halifax
Markham, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“One of my favourite hotels”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Having stayed at the Lord Nelson on business a few times, I took my husband and daughter for a few nights on our summer holiday August 2013. Once again, the staff, the room and food were fabulous. The bar tender went out of his way to make us feel special -- the concierge & front desk staff went above & beyond to satisfy every request, and the room was clean and lovely. This is just a special hotel. Love it. Keep up the good work!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darren M, Guest Relations Manager at The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Grateful for your loyalty and pleased to know you are fully satisfied with value received. We are very proud of product and staff and always so rewarding to receive such positive comments from a raving fan. Thank you for opportunity to make you feel special and valued. Hope you will continue to make us your home away from home for many years to come.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

600 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    227
    78
    34
    27
See reviews for
104
182
52
161
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Top Contributor
204 reviews 204 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
150 helpful votes 150 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

Overall my experience at this hotel was great! The staff was friendly and helpful while the hotel had an awesome classic feel and decor. I would definitely recommend this hotel and stay here again. The one issue I had was during the only meal I ate in the restaurant which was breakfast on Sunday Sept 8th, 2013. After sitting for awhile we had to get our own menus, then go find someone to bring us coffee and once we were ready to order we had to find our server in order to place our order. It was frustrating and some of the slowest/worst service I have ever received in a restaurant. Other then that experience I highly recommend the hotel, just wouldn't recommend the restaurant for anything other then a drink at the bar.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darren M, Guest Relations Manager at The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Sincere thank you for staying with us and taking the time to share your comments. Pleased to know you enjoyed our product and service. We are proud of our historical property which pleased you appreciated. My apologies for the poor breakfast you experienced. The weekend you stayed is often one of busiest all year so should have been prepared prepared to avoid such delays. I shared your comments with our Food & Beverage Manager which confident will learn from this example. Hope you were able to enjoy our central location and relax a little during your visit to Nova Scotia. Hope you enjoy a pleasant return home.... Go Jets :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakelands, NS
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

This hotel is very, very nice. Fabulous Art Deco interior, period features, pleasant staff, well equipped comfortable rooms. We enjoyed our stay here a lot. The only criticism I can make is that there is no fine dining fare offered. The pub is very nice, great ambiance, but unfortunately does not offer something for a slightly special dinner. Very pleasant hotel though, and would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: The classic rooms are very well equipped and comfortable, but maybe not needed if you are only stayi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darren M, Guest Relations Manager at The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and for your positive and excellent description of our charming, historical and elegant property. Pleased to know you were satisfied with value received and would stay with us again. I can appreciate your comments regarding lack of fine dining options in the pub. We believe most people would appreciate the casual options we provide. Hopefully we were able to suggestion one of our many fine dining local options for you to enjoy your special occasion. Thanks again for recent visit and for sharing such positive comments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Wonderful hotel right on Spring Garden Road, and across the road from the Public Gardens. Rooms were cleaned every day, and fresh towels supplied. Location was terrific. Within walking distance to downtown Halifax, the Citadel, and the waterfront. Breakfast was excellent at the hotel, and the cafe Victory Arms was terrific.

Room Tip: Excellent location. Beautiful hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darren M, Guest Relations Manager at The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Sincere thank you for coming to visit us from Denver and grateful for the postive comments regarding your experience. We pride ourselves on our product, service and central location so grateful knowing satisfied with value received. We beleive we offer a great combination of elegance and charm like no one else in Halifax. Hope you enjoyed your visit to Nova Scotia and hope you enjoy a pleasant return home!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Niguel, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed for a night in the hotel. It looked beautiful, classic & clean. The location is perfect- next to the Public Gardens & in the city center.
With the rate we paid, it's
quite high after tax and parking ($25) overnight. I was expecting for breakfast but it wasn't. Overall, it was nice.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darren M, Guest Relations Manager at The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you for coming to stay with us and sharing your comments. Pleased you enjoyed our product, service and central location. The Public Garden across the street is a must see and great place to enjoy a pleasant afternoon. Our rates are often less than the other downtown Halifax hotels since we want our guests to be satisfied with value received. Unfortunately there is very limited parking available in Halifax and rates our partner offers in comparable or less than most of the other hotels. Next time hope you can stay for several nights. Hope you enjoyed the remainder of your visit to Nova Scotai and wishes for pleasant return home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, CA
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I needed a hotel in Halifax before and after taking a Trafalgar bus tour of the Canadian Maritimes. First night of the tour used this hotel, so I checked rates and found I could get a smaller and less expensive room thru Expedia than thru Trafalgar. I booked a Petite Suite. When I checked in, the lady who checked me in put me in the Trafalgar size room so I wouldn't have to move. Nice touches were robe and slippers and bottled water and windows that open. Free WiFi much appreciated & room very roomy. At the end of the trip I had reserved the same Petite Suite. This time the gentleman upgraded me to a Parlor Suite which was way bigger than I needed and a corner room so lots of light. Food in the pub there was very good.

Room Tip: Check several sites for best price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darren M, Guest Relations Manager at The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you for staying with us during your tour of the maritimes. Pleased you enjoyed our product and service and always nice to receive an unexpected upgrade. Grateful for sharing the comfort and satisfaction you experienced. We also encourage anyone to call the hotel directly since happy to match any rate noticed on any other website. This would also allow you to share your personal preferences to help us make your stay more comfortable. Thank you again for staying with us at beginning and end of your tour and hope you enjoyed your other experiences as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DENVER
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

I had read in the Lonely Planet guide book that this is where the Rolling Stones stayed,so I was expecting more luxury. This is a nice hotel. Our room was small but plenty comfy and quiet...there was a wedding reception the night we stayed so I was worried it would get loud late but it never happened. The neighborhood is terrific -lovely park across the street and plenty of restaurants and shops in walking distance. We are staying there again next weekend and will recommend it to friends headed to Halifax.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darren M, Guest Relations Manager at The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thanks Karen for staying with us and sharing such great comments. Yes we were excited to have the Rolling Stones stay with us as well as many other high profile celebrities. We are very proud of our historical property and will continue to do our upmost to maintain our clean and classic product. We are also very proud of our service professionals which we believe make the difference. We look forward to your return visit and hope you are enjoying your time elsewhere in our beautiful Province. Thanks again for your positive comments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites

Address: 1515 South Park Street, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3J 2L2, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Regional Municipality > Halifax > Downtown Halifax , South End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Halifax
#10 Romantic Hotel in Halifax
#14 Business Hotel in Halifax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally built in October 1928, the Lord Nelson Hotel is a legendary landmark in downtown Halifax located at the corner of Spring Garden Road and South Park Street across from the beautiful Public Gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Expedia, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lord Nelson Hotel Halifax
The Lord Nelson Hotel And Suites
Lord Nelson Halifax
The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites Halifax, Nova Scotia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.