We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Honeymoon” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1515 South Park Street, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3J 2L2, Canada (Downtown Halifax)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 29 Hotels in Halifax
Nova Scotia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Great Honeymoon”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2008

We stayed here for our honeymoon with the Romance & the City Package which we felt was a great deal. For $175 a night you get a studio suite , $75 gift certificate for Onyx or Gio restaurants and a bottle of wine. As we were there for our honeymoon they upgraded us to a large 2 room suite with a fireplace. We had cream puffs and chocolate covered strawberries waiting for us in our room which was a very nice surprise.

The service at this hotel is EXCELLENT and I would say the best in Halifax ( i think i have stayed at almost every hotel). Also the location of this hotel is great right of Spring Garden road with easy access to some great shopping , restaurants and pubs. The hotel rooms are average, the bathroom very small, but an AMAZING bed and linens. This is an old hotel and has character) Also the lobby is very impressive. We had room service which was a pleasant surprise and the breakfast in the pur area which has fresh fruits and a large variety of breads & cereals.

I would stay here again.

  • Liked — They treated us like royalty. Excellent service, best in area.
  • Disliked — small washroom
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

645 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    257
    243
    79
    38
    28
See reviews for
111
190
57
177
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2008

Although the service was excellent and the bed was very comfortable, I found the overall experience to be nothing spectacular yet was charged at a rate that seemed exorbinant compared to the size of the room. The restaurant was horrible as I ate there four times over the course of my stay and only once can I call a meal decent. They require at the very least a new kitchen staff or chef.

  • Liked — the bed
  • Disliked — food
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2007

Lovely old hotel with character, hotel parking, nice pub, great location in downtown Halifax. It was wonderful to be within walking distance of a beautiful park, the Citadel, some interesting historic graveyards, and nice restaurants. We definitely recommend it.

  • Liked — Hotel's character, location and service
  • Disliked — No breakfast included
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2007

We stayed here in August 2007 for three nights. Having booked a cheap-ish deal through Expedia, the friendly and helpful reception staff upgraded us to a suite, hurrah!

This was large, clean and comfortable with a luxurious feel, including Aveda toiletries, fluffy bathrobes, and the world's most comfortable bed! There was a kitchen area with a fridge, microwave, crockery/cutlery etc

The room was very quiet.

The underground complex has parking ($17/day) and a very useful convenience store. Internet access in the room was $10.

We ordered room service which was slightly pricey. On the whole we found the place to be great value and its location next to the citadel is excellent. We wouldn't consider staying else on our next trip to Halifax.

  • Liked — comfortable bed
  • Disliked — having to leave
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, ME
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2007

Having stayed in Halifax several times, usually at the very nice, reasonably priced Marriott, we opted for the Lord Nelson this time, in part due to it's proximity to the wonderful public gardens. Unforunately, it is also very close to the noise (drunken) of Spring St, which gets quite loud just after last call.
The reception staff are great, very friendly. They confirmed a Queen bed, non smoking room. Getting to the room to literally dump our bags before meeting friends for dinner, we did not pay much attention to the tiny bed. Upon a late return, ready for a good nights sleep, we realized it was a double bed! The tiny bed was uncomfortable, but at least the window A/C unit that alternated the room temp between warm/humid and cold, cold wind drowned the noise of the drunks on the street below when it was on.
The following morning and a couple of calls/trips to the front desk finally resulted in an upgrade to a king suite for the second night of the stay (mildly annoyed at the staff's insistence that the first bed was indeed a queen - just saying it does not make it so). This room overlooked the park, had enough room to actually open two bags at once, and a decent climate control.
The hotel is in mid renovation, and right now looks the part of the youth hostel mentioned in another review. While that was fine a decade or two ago, when I couldn't afford a real hotel, I am no longer really cool with it. The hallways are a particular treat....
My advice. Wait til the renovations are totally complete, be sure to confirm your room is what you asked/paid for when you check in, and if you can get the waterfront Marriott, the Citadel, or the Radisson for the same price (or better in my experience), go for it.

  • Liked — Location - close to public gardens and historic sites (i.e. the Citadel)
  • Disliked — Inconsistent quality of rooms.
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2007

A warm welcome awaits you at the Lord Nelson. We were thrilled with the service. We always ask for a quiet room when we are booking a room, and most of the time, this request is ignored. When we arrived the desk clerk informed us, that they had selected a room far from elevators, located on a top floor and away from traffic noise. We had a very comfortable, medium size, well decorated room. The staff is very pleasant and helpful. The hotel is conveniently located downtown. It is a little far away from the waterfront, but not impossible to walk. As a matter of fact the walk down the main street to the waterfront is interesting.

  • Liked — Location and friendly service
  • Disliked — No swimming pool
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, RI
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2007

We just returned from a trip to PEI and Nova Scotia, and this was one of the best properties we stayed in. The beds are divine, and the service was great. We were able to get a great rate at the last minute, and check in/out was a breeze. The Lord Nelson is perfectly situated in the city - across from the beautiful public gardens, and within walking distance of the waterfront/Argyle St. Would definitely recommend staying here, as opposed to the waterfront.

  • Liked — Rooms, beds, bathroom
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites

Address: 1515 South Park Street, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3J 2L2, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Halifax > Downtown Halifax , South End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Halifax
#8 Romantic Hotel in Halifax
#13 Business Hotel in Halifax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally built in October 1928, the Lord Nelson Hotel is a legendary landmark in downtown Halifax located at the corner of Spring Garden Road and South Park Street across from the beautiful Public Gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, TravelClick, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lord Nelson Hotel Halifax
The Lord Nelson Hotel And Suites
Lord Nelson Halifax
The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites Halifax, Nova Scotia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.