We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean & functional, and great value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Suite Hotel Halifax

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Radisson Suite Hotel Halifax to your Saves list
Radisson Suite Hotel Halifax
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1649 Hollis Street, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3J 1V8, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Enjoy Savings of 15%
Ranked #2 of 29 Hotels in Halifax
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Clean & functional, and great value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2010

Was in Halifax for a conference for four days, and this met my needs perfectly, far better than the conference nominated hotel (the Delta) and at a better price. You actually get great space, i.e. a bedroom, a sitting room and a very basic kitchen. From a european perspective the hotel seems stuck in time (about 20 years ago), but I think that is a cultural thing and not a criticism. The staff are very helpful, the rooms are clean, the beds comfortable - but try not to get a room on the corner of the building. It is at a busy junction where all the buses and 18 wheeler container trucks go by and therefore can cause you a sleeopless night if you are not used to traffic noise - it is downtown Halifax, after all! The restaurant on the ground floor is best avoided. A real good breakfast was had on the first day, so we went back for dinner - bad mistake. Really expensive and, despite all the writing about dry aged steaks, not at all a pleasant place to be. Hygiene in the kitchen is a concern, using the same equipment to cook fish and meat. Don't let this put you off the hotel, though.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

621 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    416
    135
    45
    12
    13
See reviews for
118
171
27
160
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2010

Once again my stay at the Radisson outdid itself. We were late coming in after traveling all day, the guest service team made us feel welcome. Due to an last minute booking we were bumped up to the presidental suite. What a treat this was! The entire hotel and its staff are pleasant and the grounds in general very clean, our stay was a very quick stay but certainly a memorable one.

Thank you for the upgrade!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2010

I had called earlier to ensure we had a suite so that our daughter could sleep in a separate room so we could watch tv and night and visit. I requested a higher floor room as I felt that any ambient noise from the street would be muted the further up we were.

Spoke to a lovely gal who ensured me she would hide us away.......she also threw in free parking.....which at around $20 a day adds up. She did however suggest not to rent a car right away as most things were in walking distance.

Upon arrival we were met by the valets who helped with our luggage up to room 802, which is the top floor. Once the door was open we were in a narrow room that held a couch, couple of chairs, writing desk, LCD TV and a sitting area. Further along was a sink with the fridge and microwave and then the bathroom.........the bedroom had a full door that yielded a queen bed, TV vanity with three drawers and a closet with an ironing board and iron......we later added a crib from housekeeping and we were set for our 8 days.

Our first day we spent walking around the area.........and the gal was right everything is within a short walk from the hotel......spent a lot of time down at the boardwalk....maybe a 2 block walk.....downhill

The second day, our last as a family for three days as Christine had to go to her conference we rented a car and drove to Lunenburg via Chester and Mahone Bay.....a fantastic day where we wnet swimming in the ocean in Chester as well as in the little park with a salt water pool that was jsut right for kids......and warm.

We made subsequent trips to Peggys Cove and Dartmouth as well as exporing Halifax and having a quiet moment in the old cemetary....thanking Alexander Keith for his lovely collection of beers at his gravesite........easily found if you have a mind for it.....

Our last day was a godsend from a guy we shared a pint with in the bar of the hotel....when Christine asked directions to a beach he suggested we go to Rainbow Haven Beach across in Dartmouth.........what followed was a 5 minute discourse of how to get there including big trees,hills and oh yeah...after 6 lights you'll see the ocean again.........we didn't even use the garmen....instead wanting to see if we could find it.......well the guy must have been a city planner or something because we found it quite easily................what a day...........a beautiful long beach......soft sand similiar to Cuba's......lost of kids and parents enjoying a Friday in 27 degree clear day.....it was the best round up a trip ever.............

The front desk and in particular the valets were fantastic with asissting us and offering us the best places to go with our child.......the maid was rather hit and miss and didn't remove the dirty dishes left in the room.......I had to ask twice for them to pull the door close firmly as it would click shut unless you did......on two occassions I came back to the room and simply pushed on the door and it opened.....

There was a bar about a block away that maintained a thumping noise on the weekends that kept me awake until after 3 am......but it was only bad on weekends..

All in all, I would return to this hotel as it offered us everything we needed as a travelling family, close to my wifes conference (2blocks) washer and dryers to do our own clothes and lots to see in walking distance

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2010

We stayed here 3 nights, and only took the car out of parking once, to go to Peggy's Cove!Within walking distance of everything, from the wharf to the gardens, and many of the best restaurants. We did not add the breakfast feature, as we wanted to try other places. We were lucky to have a room on the water side of the hotel, and by 10 pm, all was quiet. Reception and bell staff were friendly, helpful and courteous. Sleep number beds comfy.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2010

My husband and I were in Halifax for the long Natal Day weekend. We looked at several hotels in the area adn chose the Radisson since it was closest to the waterfront. We originally booked at the Marriott but discovered that the Radisson offered a bed and breakfast package which included breakfast for 2 and was $50 less.
The good stuff:
- the front desk service was polite
- the doorman was very friendly and helpful
- the valet parking was fast and efficient
- they honoured our request fro a non-smoking room
- they offered coffee and tea 24 hours in the front lobby with To Go cups
- there were lots of tv channels
- there was a sizeable living room area, a decent sized bathroom, a microwave and a big King bed with a tv in the bedroom and the living room
- there was free high speed internet which worked fine, the front desk asked if we had a laptop and gave us the code when we checked in
- the check out time was 1 pm which was great
- it is within a block of the waterfront area
- the water pressure was good but it was difficult to get cold water on the eigth floor
- the two breakfast coupons (for $23 CDN each) allowed us to have free breakfast for two days. My Standard breakfast of tea, 2 eggs, bacon, toast and awesome hash browns was only $9. Both times the food was well prepared and served with a smile. Far and away the breakfast was the very best part of the hotel experience. It was served until 10:30 and you could even get fajitas, burger or fish and chips as part of their brunch menu.

The not-so-good stuff:
- there were hairs in the bathub two days in a row (eeeewwwww!!!!) and the desk chair had sticky stuff all over the seat cushion
- you could easily hear the people in rooms on both sides of us (fortunately for us they were relatively quiet occupants)
- there was a hole in the ceiling right over the little bench for your luggage so consequently my husband had damp clothes for a couple of days. We didn't figure out what is was until the second day when we realized it wasn't a coincidence. When I told the front desk clerk, there was no offer of dry cleaning or a discount - just a lame 'sorry'.
- someone was definitely smoking on the floor (we think it was the housekeeper)
- when sitting on the coach, my husband was sure a bug was biting his leg. Granted we looked and couldn't find it but after seeing the condition of the bathroom, we were kind of suspicious of the whole room.
- the whole decor was very eighties/ninties so it's in desperate need of a reno. The bathroom floor was a unspeakably horrid tile of dark pink and jade green streaks. Very hard on the eyes-particularly first thing in the morning :-)

All in all, we won't be going there again and wouldn't recommend it. Next time, it's the Delta or Marriott for us.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2010

Good value hotel considering Halifax is expensive. Good location, huge rooms, bright and clean. Good sized bathroom with pretty toiletries. good facilities in room making it almost possible to be self-catering. Lovely, helpful reception staff.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peabody
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2010

The Rooms are a good size,but worn. Not bad though. We had a mouse in our first room and they quickly changed us.You are on the waterfront remember. Staff was excellent and location was great.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Radisson Suite Hotel Halifax? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Suite Hotel Halifax

Address: 1649 Hollis Street, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3J 1V8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Regional Municipality > Halifax
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Halifax
#2 Business Hotel in Halifax
#2 Romantic Hotel in Halifax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Radisson Suite Hotel Halifax 3.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are very excited to announce our re-opening after a 7 million dollar extensive renovation. This premiere Halifax all-suite hotel is located in the heart of the business district of Halifax and overlooking the city's spectacular and historic harbour. The Radisson Suite Hotel Halifax has 120 uniquely designed one-bedroom and studio suites most with a separate living area and spectacular harbour views! Whether you are visiting us for business or pleasure, we know you will enjoy our facilities and service. We wish to extend a warm and cordial Maritime welcome from our team of hospitality professionals.We are proud to have a three Green Key E-commodation Rating. As a 3 Green Key rated property our hotel has taken significant steps to protect the environment. Strong environmental programs, best management practices, training programs, and engineering solutions have been implemented which have benefited the environment and the local community. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Radisson Suite Hotel Halifax reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Halifax
Halifax Radisson
Radisson Suite Hotel Halifax Nova Scotia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Suite Hotel Halifax, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.