We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Radisson Hotel team goes above and beyond” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Suite Hotel Halifax

Save Saved
You added Radisson Suite Hotel Halifax to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Radisson Suite Hotel Halifax
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1649 Hollis Street, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3J 1V8, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Savings of 15%
Ranked #3 of 29 hotels in Halifax
Halifax, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Radisson Hotel team goes above and beyond”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

It has been several years since we stayed at this hotel and it has been renovated since that time.
The check in was great and we were given a room with a spectacular view and in a quiet area of the hotel as per street noise by Jessica. I had mentioned that my daughter had just turned 18 and much to our surprise, a complimentary gift basket was given to my daughter with a wonderful hand written card which she will keep. She and her friend were very impressed with the helpful and personable treatment by Jessica and the Front Desk staff at this hotel throughout our whole stay. The only small glitch was an error on the initial charge which was rectified and I would have been pleased if it had not been as it was in our favor as per our points status!
The renovations are very good, the pool and fitness areas much improved. The rooms, suites really are spacious and comfortable and an excellent comparable value.
I expect we will return as there is a great deal to be said for staying at the Radisson Hotel, Halifax! NS

Room Tip: I would suggest asking for a room on an upper floor facing the Halifax Harbor, though the other suit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie B, General Manager at Radisson Suite Hotel Halifax, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Good morning Jane22013,

I would like to thank you for your recent visit and great review. I hope your daughter had a great birthday and I am glad to hear our team, particularly Jessica, jumped to action in recognition of her special day. I will be sure to share your praise with her.

Thank you again and all the best in 2014.

Jamie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

431 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    283
    93
    37
    9
    9
See reviews for
74
121
24
100
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Port Hawkesbury, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

I love the look of this hotel, the interior is modern, comfortable and perfectly decorated. The rooms are spacious, comfortable and modern as well. When we arrived we were greeted by a the valet who was very friendly. He offered to park our car, for the extra fee however, we opted out. (I also feel the extra fee for parking, should be included in the price of your room).

I was disappointed in a number of ways with this hotel, but on the eve of my stay, I was simply too tired to voice my concerns or deal with the issues at hand. First, at check in we were greeted by a young girl who, for the quality of this hotel, was not appropriately dressed. Her hair was messy and her blazer was much too large for her; she simply looked unprofessional.

Once we arrived in our room, I was delighted with the view. When inspecting the bathroom however.. I found a rag that the maid must have dropped when cleaning, this rag was so dirty and full of cleaning products that it was completely stiff. The maid also seemed to not notice the fact that the shampoo she put back on the counter was 1/2 empty. Needless to say, I didn't use ANY of the products provided to us as I was unsure of which ones were used by previous guests and which were not.

Aside from these issues, I still enjoyed my stay here and will likely return to give this place a second chance.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie B, General Manager at Radisson Suite Hotel Halifax, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Good morning Krista L, and thank your for your visit and review.

I am glad to hear that you loved the hotel and apologize for problems you encountered. All of our associates are to be in full uniform at all times and although we do have a few new staff members awaiting proper uniforms, staff should always be professional and presentable when they they are, what we call 'on stage' and in front of the guest. In follow up to the dirty rag and bathroom amenities, I can assure you that this was a service oversight. I will be following up with our housekeeping department to ensure this 'attention to detail' is not missed in the future.

I appreciate your visit and comments and I look forward to seeing you again.

Have a Happy New Year!

Jamie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

Many aspects of the hotel were fine. Spacious room, modern lobby. Etcetera.

However, the friendly staff botched a very simple request for a quiet room. As such, the traffic on Hollis was a constant companion. A low floor facing a busy street is not a great combination.

Seemed like junior member of the team on the desk, as another staff member in street clothes also tried to help her with the reservation. Finding a quiet room perhaps got lost in the confusion over getting the correct corporate rate. Front desk was very insistent on having that sorted out correctly...

All other amenities are not real relevant when you can't sleep.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie B, General Manager at Radisson Suite Hotel Halifax, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Good morning seemac70,

I trust and hope you had a great Christmas! Thank you for your visit and review. It is great to hear that you were pleased with many aspects of the hotel; however, I am disappointed to hear that we failed you in your request for a quiet room. This request certainly sounds reasonable, so I do apologize. Please feel free in reaching out to me as I would welcome the opportunity to discuss your visit further.

Have a fabulous weekend!

Jamie
jamie.bolduc@radissonhalifax.com
902 429 4371 direct
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
1 review
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

Hello Radisson Halifax Team!
We were scheduled to check-in at your Halifax property on Saturday December 21st. In addition, we were also confirmed for a dinner theatre event at the Halifax Feast Company as a package deal with your hotel. Unfortunately we got our dates mixed up and arrived for check-in the following day on Sunday December 22nd.

Jessica, who checked us in was very helpful and sympathetic to our cause! She made it her mission to get us confirmed at the dinner theatre at Halifax Feast Company. However, it was sold out; she also contacted her supervisor (off-duty) to obtain further recommendations. The supervisor suggested the Grafton Dinner theatre and we were subsequently reserved. All of this happened in the span of 45 minutes - tops!

As it was our error, we were all too willing (in our minds) to pay whatever was necessary! Jessica informed us that she was not sure what the financial adjustment would be for the absentee dinner theatre but would let us know very soon.

Prior to leaving for our dinner theatre, we decided to have a drink in the lobby bar at approx. 5:30 p.m. We chatted with the bartender and told him that it was my 50th birthday celebration!. I received a complimentary shooter. We then left at approx. 6:00 p.m. for the dinner theatre.

When we arrived back to our hotel room after the show; we were greeted by a birthday card from Jessica and a personal size bottle of red wine.

How amazing....the hotel really went out of its way to help us; we were very happy! It was so very special...that plus amazing facilities and décor! Perfect.

This was our second time there...and there will be many more visits (p.s...we live in Dartmouth!)

Diane

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie B, General Manager at Radisson Suite Hotel Halifax, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Good afternoon Diane S,

First off, Happy Belated Birthday!

I would like to thank you for your visit and great review. We understand and appreciate that mistakes happen and I am glad to hear we exceeded your expectations in handling the mix up. I hope and trust you enjoyed your birthday dinner at the dinner theatre. I will be sure to pass along your praise to Jessica.

We look forward to seeing you again!

Happy New Year and all the best in 2014!

Jamie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trenton, Canada
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

This hotel is the best in the city in every way. The rooms are immaculate, service is friendly, and the decor is breath taking. Location is wonderful also as it is near so much. I will definitely be returning for a R and R visit.A first class hotel from arrival to departure.

Room Tip: 5th floor over looking the city and the water. It was very quiet and the view was amazing with huge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie B, General Manager at Radisson Suite Hotel Halifax, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Good morning to you roakley!

Thank you for your visit and review. We appreciate your comparison and praise. You are welcome back any time and we look forward to having you.

Have a fabulous day!

Jamie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elmsdale, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

I just stayed at the best hotel ever!!! The Radisson in Halifax offers you a stay to remember. The modern decor is amazing but it's the staff and service that go above and beyond to make your stay complete. From the valet s warm greeting to the friendly staff at the desk, especially Jessica who cheerfully made sure our every need was met. The rooms were absolutely beautiful with a great view of the harbour. They were spotless and well equipped with the finest of furnishings. My only disappointment was that I couldn't stay longer. The service at this hotel is a great example of maritime hospitality.

Room Tip: Waterfront view was amazing. The suites are roomy and we'll equipped
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie B, General Manager at Radisson Suite Hotel Halifax, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Thank you Charlene M for your visit and review. I am appreciative of your comments and your rating. I will be sure to share your comments with Jessica and the team. We look forward to showing you more Maritime Hospitality the next time you are in Halifax.

Have a great weekend!

Jamie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartmouth, Canada
1 review
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

Wonderful renovated property in the heart of Halifax. Staff are very attentive, spacious rooms are well appointed. Highly recommend for Business or pleasure. On site bar and restaurant are top of the line.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie B, General Manager at Radisson Suite Hotel Halifax, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Good morning ggordon25,

Thank you for your recent visit and review. We appreciate your business and comments and look forward to having you stay with us again.

Have a fabulous weekend!

Jamie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Radisson Suite Hotel Halifax? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Suite Hotel Halifax

Address: 1649 Hollis Street, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3J 1V8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Regional Municipality > Halifax
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Halifax
#2 Family Hotel in Halifax
#2 Romantic Hotel in Halifax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Radisson Suite Hotel Halifax 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are very excited to announce our re-opening after a 7 million dollar extensive renovation. This premiere Halifax all-suite hotel is located in the heart of the business district of Halifax and overlooking the city's spectacular and historic harbour. The Radisson Suite Hotel Halifax has 120 uniquely designed one-bedroom and studio suites most with a separate living area and spectacular harbour views! Whether you are visiting us for business or pleasure, we know you will enjoy our facilities and service. We wish to extend a warm and cordial Maritime welcome from our team of hospitality professionals.We are proud to have a three Green Key E-commodation Rating. As a 3 Green Key rated property our hotel has taken significant steps to protect the environment. Strong environmental programs, best management practices, training programs, and engineering solutions have been implemented which have benefited the environment and the local community. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Radisson Suite Hotel Halifax reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Halifax
Halifax Radisson
Radisson Suite Hotel Halifax Nova Scotia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Suite Hotel Halifax, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.