We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Hollis Halifax - a DoubleTree Suites by Hilton to your Saves list
The Hollis Halifax - a DoubleTree Suites by Hilton
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1649 Hollis Street, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3J 1V8, Canada (Formerly Radisson Suite Hotel Halifax)   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double HHonors Points
Ranked #2 of 29 Hotels in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Point Du Chene
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“DIRTY”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

We have stayed here several times and really enjoyed it. This last time was awful. It was so dirty. The toilet wasn't washed before we stayed (there were poop stained inside) the couch had sticky white gooey stuff on the pillows, there was a horrible stink. We complained, the manager told us that because there was going to be renevations starting soon, they weren't going out of their way to make it super clean. So disgusted! I will never stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erin P, Front Office Manager at The Hollis Halifax - a DoubleTree Suites by Hilton, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Hello ProudCanadian09
Thank you for sharing your review with us.
As you mentioned we are undergoing renovations that will see all areas of the hotel receive a fresh face. During this process,as always, the cleanliness of our hotel and the comfort of our guests are our top priorities. We have a great team here at the Radisson Suite Hotel Halifax who take great pride in their work. We pride ourselves on our high service standards when it comes to the cleanliness of our hotel, I am sorry to hear you feel you have experienced otherwise.
If you would like to discuss your concerns further I welcome you to contact me directly at the hotel at 902-494-7424.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

671 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    451
    144
    50
    13
    13
See reviews for
127
187
28
177
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

My son and I went on a business trip with my husband in early September. The Radisson Suites was perfect! The bedroom was a seperate room, it had sleep number beds, and there was plenty of room to set up a corner for my son to play with his toys.

Having the seperate room made it easier to put my son to bed at his regular time, and not either force him to stay up with us, or for us to go to bed when he did.

The Radisson Suites was right around the corner from many wonderful restaurants, and was within walking distance of many interesting sites.

If you are planning a trip to Halifax, this hotel is a great place to stop and rest between sightseeing adventures.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner harbor view room, your room will have more windows and the view is spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erin P, Front Office Manager at The Hollis Halifax - a DoubleTree Suites by Hilton, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Hello, too-tse-79!

Thank you so much for sharing your positive experience with us and other travellers!
I am so glad to hear you enjoyed our spacious suites! Having the separate bedroom and living room space certainly does make things easier when travelling with children.
I am happy to hear our great location made it easy for you and your family to enjoy Halifax's many attractions and restaurants!

We look forward to seeing you the next time you're in Halifax!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

The hotel is clean, staff friendly, location central to waterfront and downtown. Suite style rooms give plenty of space for family. I am never sure why hotels have sleep number beds, I personally find them highly overrated. Room decor is plain and dated. Some rooms have good views of the harbor. Be prepared for the valet parking as the hotel is street front. The best perk is the hotel room service and resturant is Ryan Duffy's. Great food, nice wine selection.
If you can get a deal online this hotel is good value for a visit to waterfront downtown Halifax.

Room Tip: Request higher floor on waterfront side away from Hollis St which is a busy traffic street, they are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erin P, Front Office Manager at The Hollis Halifax - a DoubleTree Suites by Hilton, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Hello Alikat1957
Thank you for sharing your experience with us and other travellers!
I am happy to hear you found our hotel to be comfortable and our team friendly and helpful!
I'm glad our great downtown location provided you with convenient access to our beautiful waterfront!
I will be sure to pass along your positive comments to the Ryan Duffy's team as well!
We look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

one of the best business hotels in town. good normal high standards of services. good choice in halifax. great location business district and fishing and nature. some top seafood restaurant recommendations available from the reception.

Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erin P, Front Office Manager at The Hollis Halifax - a DoubleTree Suites by Hilton, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience!
I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your time with us!
It is our goal to provide each and every guest with a great experience, simply because our guests deserve the very best. I am happy to hear you experienced exactly that!
Our great down town location certainly makes it easy to access some of our city's fantastic restaurants - which I am glad to hear our Guest Services team were able to make some great recommendations for you so you were able to enjoy our great city!

We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in Halifax!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amstelveen, The Netherlands
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

We stayed in that hotel for one night and we had to change room two times. First time because the room was very warm and the airconditioning did not work. Second time we had to change because there was a terrible noise coming from the top floor.
The third room was OK.
Staff was very friendly, tried to help us. They said that the hotel needs a big change in the near future.
Rooms are big, every room is a suite with two rooms. But chairs and beds are very old. Both beds in our room are giving a lot of noise during the night.
Wifi is good without extra cost.
Our conclusion: too much money for this quality; we were in several Radisson hotels in the world and we expected more quality.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erin P, Front Office Manager at The Hollis Halifax - a DoubleTree Suites by Hilton, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Hello cees706
Thank you for sharing your experience with us.
It is our goal to ensure each guest has an exceptional experience with us. I regret to hear we did not live up to your, or our, expectations on this occasion.
I am sorry to hear of the difficulties you encountered with our heating and air conditioning systems. I have passed your concerns along to our maintenance team so we may ensure all our units are functioning as they should.
As our team mentioned to you we have begun an extensive renovation process. This will see all areas of the hotel, top to bottom inside and out, receive a fresh face. As part of this process we will also be transitioning from the current Sleep Number beds to traditional style mattresses. I am confident you will be pleasantly surprised once our renovations are completed!
I am happy to hear you found our team to be friendly and helpful. We have a great team at the hotel who take great pride in their work, and make it their mission to ensure our guests are well taken care of.
Once again, thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. Our guests satisfaction is very important to us. Hearing from our guests allows us to fine tune our daily operations. I do hope you would consider staying with us again the next time you visit Halifax.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nunavut, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Will never stay there again. Parking is an issue. The photo that is on top of the page is all the parking they have. 2 spaces that's it. Valet parking is all they have and you are forced to use it. Made our long drive even worse. If you have young kids its stressful just trying to get checked in. I recommend staying outside downtown. Parking is the worst I see in any city I have been in the world.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erin P, Front Office Manager at The Hollis Halifax - a DoubleTree Suites by Hilton, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Hello, perfect_strangers-
Thank you for sharing the details of your experience with us. We truly value your feedback as the satisfaction of our guests is extremely important to us.
It is our goal to not only meet but exceed our guests' expectations. I regret to hear we did not live up to your expectations on this occasion.
As you mentioned our hotel features a valet service for our guests. I am sorry to hear of your frustrations surrounding the parking. Our valet team members are always available and happy to help our guests unload and safely park their vehicles upon their arrival to make checking in a quick and smooth process. Once you're settled in your suite if there is something you have forgotten in your vehicle we are more than happy to retreive it for you. Because we want your stay to be as relaxing as possible our team will do all within our power to ensure that is provided to you.

Once again, thank you for sharing your experience with us. I do hope you would consider staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

The location is perfect, the staff was very helpful and you might even say entertaining, couldnt do enough. The room was nice and big, the bathroom couldn't be faulted ( it was all a bit dated but no biggie).The problems were two: though the whole hotel is non smoking our room had obviously been smoked in, and more than once. It had that stale stink one used to associate with bars and a cigarette burn on the easy chair. Also, the beds were 'sleep number' beds which I found completely baffling. I lowered the number thinking to get a softer bed only to find myself having to climb out to get to the other side of the mattress. Quite funny if I wasn't trying to sleep after a long flight and time change. The hotel did give us free breakfasts after we complained about the smokie smell, which was a nice gesture. I'd rather have had a restful night though.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erin P, Front Office Manager at The Hollis Halifax - a DoubleTree Suites by Hilton, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and other travelers! It is always great to hear from our guests.

I regret to hear of the frustrations you encountered during your stay with us. You are correct, our hotel is a 100% smoke free environment. I am disappointed you found one of our suites had been smoked in. I have passed this concern on to our housekeeping team, so we may work to ensure a similar situation does not occur in the future.

I am also sorry to hear of the frustration you encountered with the bed in your suite. I am pleased to announce we have begun an extensive renovation process that will see all areas of the hotel receive a fresh face. Also as part of the renovation process we will be transitioning from the Sleep Number beds to traditional style mattresses. We certainly understand how important a restful, comfortable night's sleep is. I regret we were not able to provide that to you on this occasion. I am confident once our renovations are complete you will be pleasantly surprised!

I do hope we are able to welcome you back on your next visit to Halifax!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Hollis Halifax - a DoubleTree Suites by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hollis Halifax - a DoubleTree Suites by Hilton

Address: 1649 Hollis Street, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3J 1V8, Canada (Formerly Radisson Suite Hotel Halifax)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Halifax
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Halifax
#2 Family Hotel in Halifax
#3 Business Hotel in Halifax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Hollis Halifax - a DoubleTree Suites by Hilton 3.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are very excited to announce our re-opening after a 7 million dollar extensive renovation. This premiere boutique all-suite hotel is located in the heart of the business district of Halifax and overlooking the city's spectacular and historic harbour. The Hollis Halifax - a DoubleTree Suites by Hilton has 120 uniquely designed one-bedroom and studio suites most with a separate living area and spectacular harbour views! Whether you are visiting us for business or pleasure, we know you will enjoy our facilities and service. We wish to extend a warm and cordial Maritime welcome from our team of hospitality professionals.We are proud to have a 4 Green Key E-commodation Rating. As a 4 Green Key rated property our hotel has taken significant steps to protect the environment. Strong environmental programs, best management practices, training programs, and engineering solutions have been implemented which have benefited the environment and the local community. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your The Hollis Halifax - a DoubleTree Suites by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Halifax
Halifax Radisson
The Hollis Halifax - a DoubleTree Suites By Hilton Nova Scotia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hollis Halifax - a DoubleTree Suites by Hilton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.