We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Atlantica Hotel Halifax

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Atlantica Hotel Halifax to your Saves list
Atlantica Hotel Halifax
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1980 Robie St at Quinpool, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3H 3G5, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 29 Hotels in Halifax
Halifax, Canada
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Great Place to Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

We stay at the Atlantica once or twice a year and it's always very good. The staff are very nice and helpful and the price is very good. We really enjoy the restaurant in the hotel. The food there is excellent and it has a great atmosphere for drinks or a meal. The pool and sun deck are nice too. We had one of the newly renovated rooms this year and it was very nice. The only thing I don't like about the Atlantica is the noisy ice machines. The ice machines are older and sound very noisy if you're in one of the rooms that's close. Overall it's consistently a great place to stay year after year.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the ice machines.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOSAtlantica, Director of Sales at Atlantica Hotel Halifax, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Thank you so much for posting your feedback on the Atlantica Hotel Halifax. We appreciate all our guests, but guests like you who loyally and regular return to the hotel are extra special to us. I am very sorry to hear that the ice machines were noisy and our maintenance team will definitely take a look to see how they might remedy that situation. Since you are regular guests, I do hope that you have signed up for our Atlantica Advantage Rewards program. It is our way of recognizing our loyal guests like you!
Thanks again for your ongoing support of the Atlantica Hotel Halifax.
We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Best Regards
Colleen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

564 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    212
    94
    31
    18
See reviews for
135
185
49
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

A very nice hotel and the staff were great. Close to the QE11. Who says you can't walk to your surgery. Great area to walk and our/my stay was excellent. I really enjoyed the lemon/lime/strawberry water in the lobby. Very nice touch.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOSAtlantica, Director of Sales at Atlantica Hotel Halifax, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Thanks Iraf53 for your sharing your comments. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. The lemon/lime/strawberry is one of our most popular waters but the cucumber water is also a hit with many of our guests. Glad the weather lent itself to walking to the QE11 but if you have to make a return trip and it happens to be raining or too chilly to walk, we do have complimentary limousine service available to areas in the downtown, including the hospital. The service is available Monday to Friday from 7:30am-9:30am and 5:30pm-7:30pm. Thanks again for your feedback. We do appreciate your business and hope to see you back with us again soon – but hopefully on a pleasure trip this time.
Best Regards
Colleen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Glasgow, Canada
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
467 helpful votes 467 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

It was necessary, for medical purposes, that we stay in the Halifax area for a minimum period of two days. We checked out a number of Hotels in the area but we were attracted to the newly renovated Atlantica Hotel for a number of reasons. Firstly it is located on the corner of Robie Street and Perrell Street which is located close to all hotel facilities in the area and easily accessible. Secondly it had a nice restaurant and finally were had read previous reviews by Trip Advisor that the hotel provided all the necessities one would expect in a mid range hotel and that the staff were very friendly. In view of what we had read we decided that this hotel would be our best choice as it met all of our expectations. The Atlantica has many out of town visitors that appreciate the fact that it is close to all hospitals in the area and reasonably priced for those that need suitable accommodations during their stay while undergoing medical/surgical treatments in the local hospitals. This hotel has an excellent restaurant, hot tub and pool along with a small work-out room. Also offered for medical check-in's free underground parking....this will be noted during your reservation request. The Atlantica has recently undergone many renovations and offers comfortable well appointed rooms with comfortable beds, up-to-date flat screen TVs and all the other necessities one would expect in a well run establishment. The restaurant was impressive. Food quality, selection and quantity was super. Our waitress, sorry missed the name, was very good. She was very helpful and knowledgeable which made us, in the first few moments, feel comfortable and at home.

We were fortunate to be able to stay for a two day/night period in the month of March. We were impressed in the very beginning with the pleasant, courteous and knowledgeable staff....Kathryn and DeMarco made sure that all of our requests were taken care of immediately. We also had the opportunity to meet some of the other staff and the overnight crew.....everyone is pleasant will go out of their way to make sure you have a most enjoyable visit. We had many obstacles to overcome due to unavoidable delays and changes of circumstances at the Victoria General Hospital . Each problem, however minor, was solved immediately by the reception staff. This in itself, under very trying circumstances, made our visit most enjoyable.

All in all, we totally enjoyed our stay at the Atlantica Hotel and we would recommend it without question. To the Management and Staff....Thank you so much...keep up the good work and keep smiling.

Room Tip: Consider leaving your vehicle in the underground parking area and take a taxi to and from the hospit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOSAtlantica, Director of Sales at Atlantica Hotel Halifax, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Thanks so very much for taking the time to share your feedback Wally389. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay and found our staff to be friendly and welcoming. We really appreciate the special mention of Demarco and Kathryn. They, along with our entire team are committed to service excellence, so it is wonderful that you recognized them.
Also just wanted to mention that we do offer complimentary limousine service to the hospital and other downtown locations Monday to Friday from 7:30am to 9:30am and 5:30pm to 7:30pm. So if those hours coincide with your appointments, you don't even have to get a cab to get to the hospital.
Thanks again for sharing your experience. We do hope to have you with us in the near future...and hope it is just a pleasure trip.
Best Regards
Colleen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antigonish, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

Stayed here for for one night recently. I've traveled the world and stayed in anything from the Four Season's to ramshackle huts. For the price, this is a great hotel. Amazing location, good rooms, nice hot tub and a well-stocked bar. All this aside though, the staff were absolutely amazing, on par with service to be expected for rooms many times the cost of what was paid. We had a mess-up on our end making the reservation so that it didn't go through exactly the right way and the desk staff waited on us hand and foot until everything was exactly perfect and as we needed it. Particular thanks goes to the manager Cailin Higgins and her two associates DeMarco Downey and Melissa Mcculloch. You guys turned a potential nightmare into an enormous success.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOSAtlantica, Director of Sales at Atlantica Hotel Halifax, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Jjm_del, thank you so much for sharing your recent experience at the Atlantica Hotel Halifax with your fellow travelers. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that our team was able to assist in straightening out your reservations. Cailin, DeMarco and Melissa are wonderful team members and great ambassadors for the hotel, so we really appreciate you recognized them. We hope to see you again soon!
Best Regards
Colleen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint John, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

We stayed for just one night on the 8th floor in one of the gold star rooms which seemed to just be renovated to a sleek modern look. The beds were awesome and the rooms were clean. The pool area had a hot tub and a nice pool, the workout room was lacking and a little small. The front staff were extremely friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

This hotel is decent, and not far from the core/waterfront. We were disappointed that the cleaning staff didn't refresh our toiletries in-room on our second day. (They did have Aveda products, much nicer than most other stays on our trip). They also left all the floor's garbage in the halls on our third day.

The room's surfaces were clean, but the walls, carpet and bedskirts had staining. Not sure if it was food related or pet related (I think this is a pet-friendly hotel) but it just didn't live up to the self-proclaimed star rating.

The staff at the counter were friendly enough.

Room Tip: Street parking in this area is free. We didn't use hotel parking. That said, when we had a com...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

This was the best sleep we had during our vacation to the east coast.
Halifax was a great city and our hotel was just a short walk to the harbour - about 20 minutes.
The hotel was clean and staff were friendly.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Atlantica Hotel Halifax? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantica Hotel Halifax

Address: 1980 Robie St at Quinpool, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3H 3G5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Halifax
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Halifax
#10 Family Hotel in Halifax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Atlantica Hotel Halifax 3.5*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Atlantica Hotel Halifax offers our guests the perfect location close to everything you want to see in Halifax. In addition to warm East Coast hospitality, travellers enjoy premium amenities such as Starbucks coffee & Aveda bath products in all our spacious, comfortable guestrooms, dining in Seasons by Atlantica and use of our outstanding Leisure Club which features an indoor pool, whirlpool, sauna and fitness facilities. Free Wi-Fi access will keep you connected during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Atlantica Hotel Halifax reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Halifax
Halifax Holiday Inn
Atlantica Hotel Halifax Nova Scotia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Atlantica Hotel Halifax, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.